Online Shoppers Do Your Part in Saving The Planet!

22 45
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
2 years ago

β€œShopee-holics and Lazada-holics this is your time to shine!”

Welcome back to me, I guess hahaha. It’s been a while, again, since I last published here. I won’t share the exact reasons why and I will just share them in my next articles. For today, I will take part in the protest of raising awareness about the ongoing climate emergency.Β 

Yesterday, the hashtag #LetEarthBreathe trends on Twitter after several NASA scientists got arrested for protesting and blocking the entrance to a JP Morgan-Chase building in LA. Peter Kalmus and his colleagues said that in 3-4 years if we don’t do something about the current situation on our planet, we may face catastrophic results from nature. Kalmus said and I quote, β€œWe’re going to lose everything and we’re not joking, we’re not lying, we’re not exaggerating.”

The scientists got the sympathy of the world, sparking lots of discussions and support. Many people, particularly the youth, participate in the protests that raise awareness about the necessity of taking action and responsibility in our world climate.

Since the heat of this topic is not yet dissipating, I will use this opportunity to call all the attention of online shoppers to keep all your plastic packages from your parcels from now on. This is because instead of throwing it away and letting it fill the landfills (then eventually the oceans), you can donate it to an organization that collects plastics and transforms them into eco-lumber.

The Plastic Flamingo, also known as The Plaf, is a for-profit social enterprise that tackles marine plastic pollution by collecting plastic waste and up-cycling them into recycled & recyclable products.

Basically, with the help of The Plaf, you can turn your plastic waste into another product. Instead of letting those garbages pollute the land and ocean, they are converted into other useful material. For instance, instead of using wood to produce lumber, they can use plastic which is far more durable.Β 

Asides from eco-lumber, they also offer other products. I am interested in their outdoor bench. If you're also interested you can check their website here.

Anyway, if you're curious about how you can donate all your plastic waste from your online orders, you can bring it to the following drop-off locations (which can be seen at the end of this article.)

Apart from online shopping for plastics, you can also donate plastic containers from your empty skincare products, empty bottled shampoo, plastic spoons and cups, broken monoblock chairs, your plastic neighbor, etc. (Just kidding with the neighbor part. Don't kill πŸ˜†) They accept almost anything type of plastic waste.

To be honest, I am so happy that I read about this because since I started earning here, I often treat myself with different products I order online. As a result, my plastic waste also increased. I feel guilty when I am just throwing them in the garbage without any option.

The Plaf have a great initiative and I hope the government will partner with them.


One of the things we can do to help our planet (and so far the simplest) is to delete our unnecessary or junk emails. These junk emails consumed 75 kilobytes of server storage. Imagine if millions of people have thousands of junk emails, it requires big and lots of storage. To adapt to the demand, companies buy and upgrade their servers. More powerful servers mean more electricity demand. More electricity demand means more carbon footprint.

I already deleted almost 8 000 emails yesterday. The majority of them are just promotional and just notifications from my social media accounts. I left the important ones, of course. It's relieving that I can help in my own way. I challenge you to do the same! My one action won't really make a change but if all of us will do it, it will be a big deal.

You can also use Ecosia. Ecosia is a search engine that donates 80% of its profit to non-profit organizations that focuses on reforestation. Simply change your search engine by going to your browser's settings > search engine > then click Ecosia.

For every 45 web searches, you're contributing one tree. Isn't that awesome? By just surfing the web you can help our planet.


Final remarks:

Climate change is serious. This is not a hoax and is not just made to scare people. It is real and happening. If we won't do any action, we are looking forward to human extinction.

If you think that your small action can't do anything, then imagine if all the people think the same way.


[DROP-OFF POINTS FOR CLEANED PLASTICS]

πŸ“The Plaf Warehouse:

πŸ—‘ Block 6 – Building 2, National Road, 1 Tepaurel Compound, Putatan, Muntinlupa City (Landmark: Starking St. Muntinlupa)

πŸ“† 24/7

πŸ“ž Raven (09451557825) / Flora (09982123024)

πŸ“Decathlon Branches:

πŸ—‘ Pasig - Tiendesitas, Ortigas Avenue corner E. Rodriguez Avenue (C5)

πŸ—‘ Alabang - Festival Mall Corporate Avenue Alabang, Muntinlupa⁣

πŸ—‘ Masinag - 1870 Marikina-Infanta Hwy, Antipolo

*Bins are found by the entrance

πŸ“Ayala UP Town Center:

πŸ—‘ Concierge Booth Phase 1A

πŸ“† Daily, 11 AM to 5 PM

πŸ“ž fb/ig: @iloveuptowncenter

πŸ“ Jollibee WSK (selected branches)

πŸ—‘ Fairview Center Mall, QC

πŸ“ž Ma'am Lily (09175078976 / 09289375978)

πŸ—‘ Metro Plaza Quirino, Caloocan

πŸ“ž Sir Matt Espina (09279560857/09282471241)

πŸ—‘ Zabarte Town Center, Caloocan

πŸ“ž Marivic Murillo (09289621868)

πŸ—‘ Susano Complex, QC

πŸ“ž Rowena Bigta (09282776353)

πŸ“ Eco-lution

πŸ—‘ Real Street. Municipal Hall, Magbangon, Cabucgayan, Biliran Province

πŸ“ž Marjorie Noquera (09686573219)

πŸ“ Eco Folk PH

πŸ—‘ Lot 7 Block 12, C.L. Montelibano Drive Capitol Heights, Barangay Villamonte, Bacolod City, Negros Occidental and Burgos Freedom East Construction Supply, Brgy. Villamonte, Bacolod City, Negros Occidental

πŸ“ž FB/IG: @ecofolkph

I MESSAGED THEM FOR ADDITIONAL DROP-OFF LOCATIONS AND I WILL UPDATE THE LIST IF THEY RESPOND.

Source: https://web.facebook.com/theplaf/posts/2935337096737533


You can read my recent articles....

Reach me on:

14
$ 6.95
$ 6.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @WanderingMedStudent
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
+ 8
Sponsors of kli4d
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I constantly delete junk emails if I have my free time because it really annoys me. Plastics have a lot of use, be it as we use it for the first time and when we are about to throw it. Actually natutunan ko sa ojt na, recycling and upcycling almost all plastics are possible if only cooperation will be there. Like sa mismong household dapat sana na sesegregate na and also pag kinollect ks segregated pa rin. Kasi yung ibang type ng plastics is di na pwede i upcycle pag super dumi na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also deleted a thousand emails from my Google accounts last day. Since I often received emails from my social media applications such as Facebook and Pinterest, I decided also to turn off the notification emails that came from them for me to save storage space. I think we should practice deleting unnecessary emails from now on even if it's just a small contribution. It's best for us if our city mayors or leaders will conduct a project like this, transforming plastic wastes into something useful and beneficial for our community. Although they proposed and conducted recycling before, I think it's not yet enough. We should focus more on environmental health.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed! Government must be the one who leads in promoting awareness about the ongoing climate crisis. People often disregard the ongoing issue because they thought this isn't serious. More comprehensive program should be implemented

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am currently back in using ecosia again because of this climate crisis that I've heard. I think one of the biggest step to fight this is to call out capitalist businesses that heavily contribute in destroying our planet.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I read some posts that though what we are doing is correct, it's still the big companies who greatly contribute in destroying the planet. I hope the next leaders will penalize these businesses.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kung hindi pa nagsi ano yung mga scientists hindi kikibo mga tao sa mundo. Jusko ako din natatakot sa posibleng mangyari kasi hindi naman na talaga healthy yung mundo natin. Bukod sa Covid, gyera, at kung ano ano pang nangyayari imposible na walang epekto iyon sa mundo.

Ako, yung mga lagayan ng mga shampoo, mga plastic bottles, mga skin cares nakaipon talaga sila sa lagayan. Kapag may mga mambobote na bumibili ng mga ganyan, binebenta ko. Sometimes, nirerecycle ko nalang kapag need ko ng mapag lalagyanan. Anyways, buti nalang at nakiki cooperate na ang mga tao ngayon tsaka pagi may mga branches pa ng fastfood chains.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sabi nga nila, for every disasters, there's a scientist ignored. Di talaga makikinig yung iba hanggat walang nangyayaring masama

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I personally keep the bubble wrap from my parcels and recycle it to stuff my bags or whenever I need it to secure a fragile item. It this way, I am recycling and reducing the possible wastes that I can add to the environment.

There has have been many companies that aims to eliminate plastic wastes but it is still not enough --- they cannot do it by themselves. I just hope that the government will support their causes. Also, I would love if the companies and subdivisions would team up and put bins outside their vicinity for the people to put their plastic wastes that can be recycled.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really like the idea of putting bins around the subdivision πŸ’―. I hope the new leaders of our HOA will do this. Suggest ko din sa kanila later

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been using Ecosia for a few years now and I definitely can not recommend it enough. It is amazing how searching can help the planet too. I alsp just finished deleting around 15,000 emails. I will make sure to check out the plastic donation thay you mentioned since I have been gathering the plastics from my packages without any idea where to use them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sayang yung mga nakolekta kong platic package at naitapon ko nalang kasi wala ng space dito sa kwarto

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the web browser Ecosia. I have been using this since 2018 I think, then I switched laptops I forgot to install it. For now, I will be deleting unwanted emails that cause more energy to load.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the best thing we can do by saving our earth. I also deleting my emails and also leave the important one. Let us help one each other as this matter by saving our earth. Let us unite to make this happen. We need to protect our mother earth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed! πŸ’―πŸ’―

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dito sa bahay, ginagawa namin ang 3R, and kapag namamalengke ako eh nagdadala ako ng ecobag para malessen ang paggamit ng plastic. Doon man lang eh makatulong sa nature.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala ate ang galing at nagagawa nyo yung 3R. Samin kasi kahit gawin namin, pagdating naman ng collection ng basura pinaghahalo pa rin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di nyo ba binibenta? Ako kasi binibenta ko, mga plastic at lata.. Then un basura namin eh di kinokolek kapag halo halo, at dapat eh nakasako talaga..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome back bro. Haha. I have not seen you for several days I guess. It seem you are quite busy in school, eh? I hope we have a better and better solution for this problem. It's a world crisis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat hahaha. Napahaba lang ng pahinga dahil naging unmotivated sa pagsusulat

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awiee. Pero mahalaga motivated ka nya. Haha. Time to grind na bro.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's build together to save our earth kli4d. We shouldn't think we can't help. Even in a small steps in helping it's already a big help. I hope and pray for everyone that we will start to save our earth. Do the things that can save and protect our mother earth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed πŸ’―

$ 0.00
2 years ago