I Wish We Are Brave as a Raindrop

17 53
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
2 years ago

Author's note: This is a work of fiction. Any similarity to actual persons, living or dead, or actual events, is purely coincidental.

This is inspired by @Jane 's article titled If You Are Afraid To Fall, Be Brave Like A Raindrop­.


-@Jane

I met this person several months ago during a time where I feel everything seems worthless. My savior when the world is pushing me down. The person who hangs on me when everyone left.

It all started with a simple click of sent request then a message of ‘Hello’.  She replied later that day, with a question, ‘Did I know you?’. I explained that I just saw her on the list of my suggested friends, and because of boredom, I thought of messaging her.

That simple ‘Hello’ continued for months. A simple greeting that leads to an unexpected bond; sharing life stories, secrets, stupid images of us, etcetera.

The communication was constant but not overwhelming. We are not talking during the day, however during the night, before we sleep, we always try to incorporate interesting topics into our conversation. We always sleep late; 2 -3 am to be exact.

Everything was going smoothly until she started to talk rarely. I know that there’s an underlying reason behind that but I just keep my mouth shut because I think I also feel the same way.  

The school year started and we become busy with our goals and career. Our persistent conversation becomes seldom to no messages at all. Our ‘friendship’ was sustained in that setup till one day, a notification popped on my phone screen. A message from her.

“Let’s meet.”

On the day of our meet-up, I woke up early to prepare myself. I dig to my cabinet to find some comfy but neat-looking clothes. I still don’t know the reason why she asked me to meet her. She just gave an exact location and then she disconnected.

It was 3 hours ride from my home. Still trying to reach her but no answer. Upon looking at the place I’m currently at, it is an open space covered with grass with a great overlooking of the sky. In the distance, I can see several establishments like a coffee shop.

Minutes passed by and the bright skies were suddenly covered by dark clouds. The winds progressively strengthening and birds are seeking shelter. People are also rushing to the distant establishment to avoid getting soaked by the rain. I don’t have an umbrella with me, and I just hope it will not continue.

The raindrops are now starting to hit my face. I am on the point of deciding on running away from the place she said. I stood up from the bench I am sitting on, but an individual suddenly moves toward me and shared her umbrella.

“Sorry for keeping you waiting.”, she said while looking at me.

We just stayed there, while the raindrops keep on striking her canopy. Though the sound of the rain is heavy and loud, the silence between us is deafening; both of us are waiting for who will initiate a conversation.

I asked her what happened; why everything has changed instantly, without a warning. She took a while to answer. I asked again. She looked at me with a teary eye and then replied,

“I am sorry.”, she said.

After that, her tears flowed to her eyes the same as the pouring rain. I still don’t understand.

She stood up and uttered again, “I am sorry because I am scared.”, then started to walk away.

I just sat there, letting the rain drench my clothes while watching her leave. With every step she took, a connection is being forgotten. I wish I had the courage to run after her, but I can’t. Now I understand what she meant. I already knew it in the first place.

We tend to remove ourselves from those with whom we have an emotional connection. We're terrified of creating the most fantastic sensation we'll ever have. We are concerned that it will result in the creation of a fake love story. We all know that not every fairy tale has a happy ending. As a result, we choose for the solace of isolation.

In our story, she detached herself from me not because she is afraid to create the most wonderful thing she will ever felt, but because she’s scared to be judged by society; she's not a woman. She is a he, and her is a him.

I wish I had the courage to tell him that I also felt the same way. I wish I had the courage to tell him that he’s not alone. How I wish. How I wish we are brave as a raindrop who are not afraid to fall.


Author's note: I guess this is also the response to ate @Ruffa's request to create a sad and tear-jerker story. I don't know if my storytelling is effective and the actual story is good but I hope you appreciate the time and effort I invest in it. This is my first time creating a story that I really like and proud of. Thank you for having the time :))

PS: I just took a screenshot and paraphrased some of Ate @Jane 's article to avoid being marked plagiarized by the bot. I also apologized for unpublishing these for a while as I noticed there's no EXEC mark on my article.


You can read my other articles...

14
$ 14.70
$ 14.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Ruffa
$ 0.15 from @dziefem
+ 6
Sponsors of kli4d
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Ang ganda naman ng story lods, kala ko may sakit sya, yung pala he sya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat po :)). Isinilang sila sa maling mundo at pagkakataon haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha oo. Pero unique ang story. Dugtungan mo, ha?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kala ko pa naman ay totoo. Nashock pa naman ako sa last.. Yung she na he.. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dami nagsasabi na mukhang totoo 😂 hmmmm 🤔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Simple but very nice story. I like reading stories kasi. Same experience to my friend when high School pa kami naging sila nung katext niya Yung uso pa clan sa mga jejemon dati. Nakikipag text ka sa mga High school students near lang sa barangay nyo. Scary kasi baka mapano ka binabalaan ko nga siya noon e na wag makipag meet kasi nakacodename lang kayo ganon. Baka pala di siya high school student ganon, nagpasama siya sakin makipag meet noong boyfriend niya kunno pero nung nasa meet up na babae yung andon. 🤦🏻‍♀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awit kung ganunn. Anong ginawa nyo nung tropa mo nung nalaman nyong babae?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woww cool story, but wait what happened next?😅

It can settle down by talking, mas maganda sana kung nakapag usap kayo kahit sandali mn lang.☹️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala fiction lang po yan hahaha. Tanging imahinasyon lamang ang kwento 😆. Pero salamat po sa pagbabasa ❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganun bah😅😂 kala kopa namn karanasan mo yan😅😅😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🥺 It's always the conversation between two night owls. I somehow experience the same thing. From time goes by, my moots and I have detached from each other. 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why naman? Sharee, jk hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Long story sksksksksks 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhhhh, I love it 🤩🤩. But wait, a simple talk can resolve all of the problems ypu know, if only two talk maybe something good will happen? Or nah? Hahaha pero I love the ending yes. It's not that masakit pero ang saya pa rin ng ending.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ate everything can be resolve by good communication. Pero sa case kasi nila, its society vs. them. Alam mo naman marami pa ring masama ang tingin sa same sex relationship haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you really want each other, you won't give a damn about those good foe nothing people na kala moy perfect. Kahit na maraming tutol sa same sex relationship, marami din naman ang tanggap na sila. Makikitid lang talaga ang utak nong uba. Saka don't mind them, go with the gold.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana nababasa nila tong advice mo ❤️. Thank you ate

$ 0.00
2 years ago