A Productive Day in a Coffee Shop

3 42
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago

When I was still in Cebu, I made sure to go to a coffee shop since the condominium my housemates and I rented in Mandaue City didn't have a PLDT nor a strong Globe connection for mobile data. At that time, I had work in the morning and a review class to attend in the evening. Unfortunately, I can only afford the morning expenses, and that left me not to miss my review class for two months.

Because of that, Antoni suggested transferring to Cavite. I was hesitant to travel at first. Later on, said yes because my work and review were at stake. I can't go home to Lanao del Norte either because of my grandmother, plus I don't have my own room where I can work and study peacefully.

Just like in Cebu, coffee shops are everywhere. I rarely went out to the coffee shops, but when I did, I made sure to tick off what was on my checklist. My set-up before was to work at my apartment and then study in a coffee shop during weekends.

However, this week Tuesday, I was forced by Antoni to come along with him to BGC. He resigned from his work at General Trias, and the new company he's working with is located at BGC. He had a contract signing and meet and greet with the CEO and his colleagues. Since it was Tuesday, I had to wrap some of the tasks before noon, then we started traveling and arrived in BGC at past 3:00 PM. I planned to be online during the travel period, but my eyes shut, and slept for the whole travel.

Both of us were in a hurry. Antoni needed to buy a polo shirt so he can have something formal to wear and I needed to go to a coffee shop with an outlet, so I can work and charge my laptop. Luckily, Starbucks at Market Market has an outlet. I was able to sit down and start working. When I opened the company's messaging app, the CEO left a message mentioning me regarding the documentation page. I freaked out a bit because the message was sent at 3:00 PM, and I replied an hour late.

I'm a singer now. hahaha

Because I was out for four hours, I decided to extend until evening while waiting for Antoni to finish their company dinner. I stayed in Starbucks from 4:00 PM to 9:30 PM. I ordered Java Chip, a Matcha donut, and an egg-ham crepe. For 5.5 hours, I finished all my workload and read documents and other related stuff. I even explored other topics. Surprisingly, I had grasped the context even though some are new to me - Docker and DevOps. I suddenly remembered Antoni and our thesis adviser had mentioned docker, and my previous team leader mentioned to me he's studying DevOps.

I'm quite surprised how my brain is pretty active in a coffee shop. I am unsure if it's the ambiance or the people surrounding me. Or, maybe both. It's costly, but I'm considering going to a coffee shop twice a month. I'm in a work-from-home setup, so it's time for me to consider working outside the four corners of my apartment. Also, Antoni has the same setup as me. He will only go to their office if he wants or needs to, so this coffee shop plan will be highly likely to be pushed through.


Previous articles:


Bisaya • Books • Art • Poem • Anime • Travel • Food • Dogs

Connect wit me: Noise • Hive • Goodreads • Twitter • Instagram

4
$ 0.03
$ 0.02 from @BCH_LOVER
$ 0.01 from @Sylv_Sylv
Sponsors of keeneek
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for keeneek
1 year ago

Comments

Ang sarap naman. Gusto ko din talaga ang Starbucks sis. Di pa ako nakapunta ng BGC sis. Sa tagal ko sa Manila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Try mo magvisit pagmay time sis. Feeling nasa ibang bansa yung peg sa BGC. hehe. Pero mas maganda siya sa gabi, dapat nga lang hindi umulan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis. Sobrang ganda dun. Parang nasa labas ka ng bansa. Sana soon makapunta dun sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago