Covid 19 Invaded Our Home

21 43
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Health, Work, Experience

In my last article One Great Heartbreak, I talked about how devastated I am to be away from my children. That was the saddest news I received in my whole life and I couldn't accept it.

How it started.

My first day going back to work was awesome. I had a great start. I feel so energized and grateful for having a productive work and was able to serve as many clients that come for my assistance.

Everything was fine until on Thursday night, May 6, the weather was so bad. It was cold and rainy. I felt my nose has become stuffed and runny after a long ride on a motorcycle. That night we went home to see the kids who were temporarily left in my parents' care.

I stayed in my room and only came out to eat dinner after they have all eaten. I was very cautious not to touch my kids or anyone because I was already paranoid for two weeks about being infected. My family is confident since the doctor already declared me as infectious free from two weeks ago. But I still tried to avoid people.

The next day, I went back to the city with my husband to work. We celebrated mother's day with my boss and co-workers. I was trying to keep away from gatherings but my boss kept on hugging me. I know she's giving me assurance that I am fine. Still I tried to stay away from people. I chose to stay in my cubicle until the day ended.

Then on that Friday night my husband felt tired so we decided to stay in our apartment. He developed 38.5 C fever later that night. I was worried and anxious. I can already sense something bad is happening.

My Sense of Smell

The next day, my stuffy nose was still there. It felt like ocean waves splashed in it. I didn't have fever but I experienced chills at around 2:00 a.m. to 4:00 a.m. where we normally feel the cold atmosphere because of the bad weather. My husband's fever was also gone but he is already slightly coughing. We spent the weekend at the apartment just to keep the kids safe.

Sunday morning, I realized I couldn't smell the scents inside the bathroom. I tried to smell the soap close to my nose and I smell nothing!! 😱😱😱 Tried the shampoo, hand soap, nothing worked.

I was so worried that after taking a shower I went straight to the kitchen and tried everything there that has strong aroma like coffee, garlic, ginger and lemongrass. I don't smell anything as if I forgot how they actually smell.

I Was Sent Home

Early Monday, I was getting ready for work when my husband told me he is feeling hot again. And I noticed the cough is getting louder each time. So I decided to send him to the laboratory and get a doctor's appointment.

He sent me to work and he headed to the laboratory right away. While I was at work, a co worker kept on complaining about other officemates getting sick. Some were obviously showing symptoms.

My husband came back and stayed with me inside my cubicle while he was waiting for his lab results.

Same day, the management had a special meeting. It was never part of the agenda but someone stood and talked aloud about the sick employees. I was included in the list and even my husband.

Hubby got his test results and I was happy that his chest X-ray is normal. I sent it to the doctor to set an appointment. Unfortunately, infection was detected on his blood test. He was advised to get a Rapid Antigen Test (RAT).

That same day, the HR called and asked for my medical certificate on the first two weeks of absence which I already submitted. She insisted that I have not submitted it and I got pissed off. Now she wanted me to send the PCR result which my doctor did not even require me during my check up. I explained to her that my doctor already gave me assurance that I am fit to work.

Then she told me that I have a cough and told me to go home and that I should only come back with a Negative PCR result. I was really pissed off that day. I told them that I will not submit if they will not shoulder the expenses since getting the test is way too expensive. There's nothing wrong with getting the test anyway.

My DOUBTS

My only point in this situation is that I have been very cautious while working. I kept away from people and I tried to manage myself with great caution. I still have the courage to believe that I am only experiencing seasonal flu. This season is a flu season and many have become sick with the same symptoms. I am totally fine and doesn't feel anything except my stuffy nose. I really didn't have any cough but my husband does.

In the first place I was really afraid to get tested because some nurses already said runny nose can make your result come out positive. In so many cases I heard from friends that's what they tell me and I have some speculations that there could be some manipulation in the laboratories.. We'll never know.. No offense to health workers but I don't believe all of these tests were accurate.. That's from my own opinion.


However, the possibility of a positive result is high since I have the symptoms. And also my husband is coughing so hard that I wanted to send him to the hospital. He also doesn't want a RAT.

I called my mom to ask how they were doing and she said my father had fever last Friday and still have it on and off. That confirmed my doubts of getting infected.. I know I'll test positive.

Husband's fever is also going on and off. We bought over the counter medicines to ease his coughing.

The next day contact tracers called each of those employees who got sick and they included me in the list. Two of my co-workers went to the testing center and one of them tested positive of Covid 19 via RAT. One tested negative

The next day all employees were required to get a PCR including the one who tested negative. We all submitted and waited for days.

My anxiety attacks are stronger everyday. I was so scared of what might happen. I accepted the possible result but the fact that I will be put in isolation for two weeks... I felt so scared about it. Everyday my heart would raise getting calls from unknown numbers.

Within the days of waiting my body is fine except my husand who still has fever. I gave him an anti asthma tablet which calmed down his cough and the fever stopped. He was able to take it twice and thankfully the fever is gone. And the coughing didn't come too frequently.

We also took herbal medicines and did the steam inhalation twice a day.

We're Doomed.

Sixth day of being paranoid. I felt weak because of my anxiety attacks. It's pulling me down. 😔

Then by 10:30 in the morning, an unknown number called and I said "I know, should you allow me to stay home?" with teary eyes. I can't go to the facility with my anxiety kept on coming.

The co worker who tested negative on RAT, turned out to be positive in PCR test by the way. So if you feel the symptoms, get the RT-PCR instead of Rapid Antigen since it can give false negative results.

I packed my things sobbing and with my face bathing in tears. I expected this to happen but why am I hurting inside? 😭

Hey I was just joking around with my friends on messenger on the past days. They thought I was so optimistic because I was making them laugh with my jokes about going on isolation but why can't I laugh at this very hour??

My husband hugged me tight and helped me pack my things.

On my way to the isolation facility.

The most stressful moments with IATF

The representatives of Inter Agency Task Force on Covid 19 in our area came to fetch and send me to their isolation facility.

I asked them if I could just stay on my apartment since I am in a separate door. Besides my husband had already been exposed for a long period of time. We have all we need inside, food and water. At first they said it's okay but when the result came out, as if they couldn't hear me begging.

They offered a room but no food. I told th em how I can eat when my husband is also isolated and couldn't come out to send me something to eat?! They only told me to tell some friends. 🙄 How ridiculous! What will happen to me if a friend wouldn't come to bring me food? I will starve to death! Now I'm really worried. 😓 This whole process is more worst than my symptoms.

I was brought to an elementary school. They prepared the classrooms as quarantine facility for covid patients and individuals returning home from different places.

First thing I saw was a dirty wet and stinky classroom. My sense of smell is back, by the way 😉. They sprayed it with disinfectants, they say, but all I see is dirty water around the floor and in furnitures. Patients who will occupy the room will have to clean and wipe it all by themselves.

Imagine you were tired and anxious. You wanted to rest but you will have to clean the classroom to feel comfortable. It will surely worsen your symptoms. The dust and dirt will make you worst.

Then I thought to myself, is this what they do to covid patients here? Are they trying to kill us?? Now, I really wanted to escape from that hell.


I was not able to sleep on the first night. My father was sent to the hospital 'coz his cough is worsening. My mom got isolated and she sent the kids to her sisters. Now we're all separated. The whole night I was too anxious and I kept on praying until I fell asleep at 3 a.m.

I woke up at 7 a.m. with a whooping cough.. 😳😳😳

.... Read more...

5
$ 15.47
$ 15.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.03 from @bbyblacksheep
Sponsors of kat2x
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Health, Work, Experience

Comments

Pero pinagtataka ko bakit hindi ka pinagtest nung doctor nung first time na naquarantine ka. Or kahit hindi niya sinabi ay maganda sana kung kahit hindi niya sinabi ay ikaw na lang nagpaRT-PCR. Kasi yung kakilala ko sa government office siya tapos basta kahit anong symptoms, required pa RT-PCR agad. Hindi nga lang covered ng office yung bayad pero ganun na nangyayari ngayon. Tapos pati mga kasama sa household kailangan kasama sa pagpasa na nagnegative sa test. Kaya para talagang maiwasan, isa lang ang lumalabas na sa kanila ng bahay yung pumapasok lang sa office lalo siya lang naman may work. Masakit nga daw sa bulsa yung pagpapatest pero mas maganda na daw yung ganun kesa yung iisipin lang daw na simpleng ubo or sipon pero virus na pala.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tinest nia kasi yung blood ko, makikita din daw kasi sa dugo kung may viral at bacterial infection. Normal lang lahat, same with my x-ray. Nag advise din sya ng rapid test kaso mahal nga at sobrang dami ng tao kaya mas lalong ayokong mag risk dahil walang social distancing ang testing centers dito. Nagsimula naman symptoms ko 2 weeks after nung nagpacheck up ako, timing sa first week of duty ko after quarantine.. so malamang sa trabaho ko nakuha yun. Nung bumalik na ako hiningan ako ng RT-PCR kaya nagdemand ako na gawan ng paraan ng office namin dahil empleyado nila kami at hindi lang naman pala ako ang nagkaron ng symptoms. During the time na wala pala ako dun isa isa na umabsent yung iba tapos mas malala pa symptoms nila. Nung bumalik ako may mga nakaduty pa din na nagkakaroon na ng symptoms pero hindi sila nagsasabi kasi takot ma quarantine. Nag ingat ako ng 2 weeks para sure ako na wala akong mahawaan o di rin ako mahawa pero pagbalik ko instant hawaan sa office.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey I just read this today. How you doin'? I hope you'll be fine as soon as possible. That is really frustrating when you are already sick and the place where you are taken makes it worse :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank u.. I'm getting better each day.. i'm finally reunited with my family. I have very tiny bit of post covid symptoms but I'm fine 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero ang di ko matanggap na ang environment ng isolation facility is supposed to be a comfortable place not like that urgh...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe ang experience.. nagkasakit ka na nga maiistress kapa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naaawa ako sa sitwasyon mo... I'm glad I conquered covid in my part.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ikaw din ba? Ok lang sana eh kung allowed ang home treatment.. Actually, allowed naman talaga pero sa barangay namin hindi nila sinunud yung EO ng province.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats sad... Stigma strikes again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jusko. Mas makadugang og stress ang isolation facility. Unsaon man tawon pag recover ana oy. Kmusta naka ron? Nakauli naka? Hala ba, imong tibuok family ba, na buwag buwag. Lisoda kaayo oy 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes grabe ko ka stress kaau ky huna2x nako akong mga anak. Akong mama kay gafever sya and cough murag flu lang na natural pero wala sya gipatest gipastay lang sa balay and monitor sa mga igsuon. Kami ang naa sa layo plus akong papa sa hospital wala pod lain makaduol except iyang isa ka watcher. Bothered ko kaayo plus hugaw ang place nigrabe ang ubo nako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naa paka diha ron? Lisod kaayo jud oy. Sukdon jud ang mental toughness 😣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala na sis.. Reunited na mi sako family.. Nagrecover pako sa post covid symptoms dugay mawala. Nagpabukid ky para kasagap og fresh air..

Grabe ang akong anxiety attacks.. Narealize nako unsa kalisod mapriso tapos hugaw pa ang place makaingon kag murag palataon lang ka didto, wala silay gihatag na food mygani kay girlscout ko.. Hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uuuy maayo kay nakauli naka. Nindot jud sa bukid, fresh air way samok. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry you had to experience all of that. What a terrible experience! Sorry. Hope you're feeling better now!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the reason why I was away again for so long.. I wanted to write when I was isolated but my brain just couldn't work properly.

I'm getting better everyday. It's been weeks but still there are symptoms that's keeping me uncomfortable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand. I'm praying for your speedy recovery. That's tough 😔🙏🏾

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe sis. Ang hirap din ng pinagdaanan mo.. na isolate ka pa pla. Kami naman dito hindi naasikaso. Kung di pa kami ng report sa barangay, hindi kmi lalagyan ng house lockdown. Tapos walang binigay na gamot. Hays. Kaloka din tlg. Ang hirap..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dito walang gustong mkkuha ng yellow ribbon.. Pero ako ayoko talaga lumabas.. Pati husband ko pinagsasabihan ko na wag lumabas. Nasa loob lang kami ng apartment peri pinull out ako dun at dinala sa isolation. Dun ako mas nahirapan dahil walang pagkain at gamot na binigay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kmusta ka nmn na ngayon sis? San ka na? Kami buti hindi pinull out kasi walang mas aalaga ng aso namin.. kawawa naman sya.. hays.. at buti nlng may mga kaibigan din ako na tumulong sakin dito since lockdown kmi.. nkikisuyo ako sa knya mgpabili.. nkakahiya nga eh pero no choice..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga nakakahiya talaga khit friend mo pa yan. Sobrang nainis ako sa iatf dito parang hindi marunong mag isip. Sorry to say pero nastress ako sa policy nila na ganun. Ok na ako pero minsan may hingal pa talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago