Pamamanhikan... The Wedding is so soon....

16 71
Avatar for jiroshin
2 years ago

Hey yo! Wazzup~

Kinda busy again, you know preparing for my brother's wedding so soon. This September of this year actually.

And~ today, my topic will be the Word "Pamamanhikan."

What is 'Pamamanhikan'?

I can't seems to find the exact english word of this 'Pamamanhikan'

Pamanhikan is the Filipino tradition of a man and his family visiting his future brideโ€™s family in order to ask for her hand in marriage.

The word literally means to climb the stairs of the house (of the fiancee). It traditionally happens in the evening, right after the boyโ€™s family has eaten. The girlโ€™s relatives are waiting, having been told beforehand.

Source: google

Actually, both of the families are already looking forward for this wedding. I guess, this is not Pamamanhikan anymore hahaha.

September 1, Wednesday, the day we went to our soon sister-in-law. It was also the day of her birthday. So, I guess, we made it 2-in-1 celebration lol.

So, yeah, we woke up early to get ready and to go to their house. Their house is actually far. 2-hours from ours to them and still depends on the traffic specially in our place.

We actually have met and known their family long time ago. My brother's relationship with her reaches to 9 years.

Their wedding is actually already prepared since long time ago. They were supposed to get married already last year, but then because of the covid and start of lockdown, it was cancelled. Then again, last April this year but again another lockdown. Lol covid, it feels like you don't want them to get married anymore.

So... they decided to do it this September 17, was their wedding day. That supposed to be on December 17 before my brother's birthday. I was also surprised last 10, that they were going to get married this September and I thought on December. But I really know that they will really going to get married. They were like rushing it. Why? Because Janine, our soon sister-in-law's father is going back on cruise to work. They said, he'll probably come back after 1 year or less than a year again. And they told them that they can't do the wedding next year anymore. Because her sister, Janine's sister is also going to get married next year that supposed this year too.

They can't go wedding on the same year, the same siblings. I don't know why but this is what you call 'pamahiin' or Omen, what they call. It might something bad happen to one of them. That's what we avoid to happen, or what we don't want to happen in the future. So, they just have to marry different year.

And that...

We left the home at 11:00 and yet still traffic and we're hungry. We didn't expect to be that super traffic. We only expect 3 hours but we have arrived there at almost 3pm. We even ordered Jollibee drive tru on the way, since the celebration will be at early dinner.

We have arrived there, and my brother who is already living at bride's family house. Same goes to Janine, also living at our house every weekend. We got there and my brother is still cooking.

The one standing wearing white shirt is the birthday celebrant, the bride, our soon sister in law.

Jose, he's a chef after all, he's the one preparing all the dishes. He prepared chicken wings, Carbonara, Shanghai, adobo chicken. Oh we also had unli Thai Milk tea with the pearl. He also prepared unli Tacos for the appetizer, 'pulutan inuman'. Of course us, we can't just go there empty hands. We bought, pancit malabon/palabok, then a cake for the birthday celebrant.

Tadaaaa~

Oh, I almost forgot we also have fruit salad prepared by Janine's mother and Ice cream for the kids, there were a lot of kids there actually. Her nieces and nephews.

Later on, the father of Janine came and he was so funny. He keeps reminding it's been 5 years since we last met, why now hahaha and now blaming for the covid hahaha.

5pm or past, we sung her birthday song then we dig in.

A little later after eating, they start drinking beer. I don't drink anymore. I told them maybe on the day of the wedding. Since, uncle, Janine's father keep insisting me to drink hahaha and he keeps telling me to wear a man shirt and side on the groom not on the bride's hahaha. I was actually happy that supports me whoever I am. He and Janine's mother wants me to be on the groom. Its just only my other relatives, my mother's siblings who doesn't too much support me and still want me to wear gown lol.

But yeah, I will be my brother's groom's man.

This is what uncle Roel, Janine's father said. Don't listen to them, don't just follow what everyone told you. You're not a robot. You should follow what's on your mind and what's on your heart. You should follow what you think is comfortable to me. 'Naks naman'.

We don't know if he's already tipsy or drunk but they said that that's how he talk or confronting someone or like giving advice. That is how they loved him.

Just as he said, I should follow and do my own path. If they scold me, fine but I still want and be who I am. Brave~ haha.

Anyway that, we keep talking and suddenly talk about music. Janine's family are Music Family. I mean, they are what you called that, like good in singing and they are good in music instruments. Janine, her mother and her 2 sisters are really good singer. Janine is the same voice of Sarah Geronimo (not really the same but, she can compare to her) They are really good.

Then one time, uncle told them to switch to karaoke and going to sing.

The marron shirt is uncle Rowel, the funny guy. And the one on the right side, singing was my father.

They were surprised after hearing my father sing. My father is also really a good singer. Marc said, Janine's sister's wife, he sing like a professional, hands up to him, the way he sing is clear and like completely whole word. He's also good in playing guitar like strumming. And I told them, I'm playing drums and bass. Yeah, we still talk about music, while the girls are busy talking about the wedding. Hahaha.

And decided to bring our music instruments to play on the wedding day, on the spot. Whaaaaat?

Hahaha. I guess, I'll just have to prepare and practice. They are professional, I'm just in the middle one haha. Well, let's see what I can do for that.

Then... At 9pm night, we didn't expect it was already late and past curfew times. And at the same time, it suddenly rain hard as soon as we go home.

I let Mau, my youngest sister to drive. Since I don't have my eyeglasses with me and I can't drive at night, specially when its raining. We have arrived 11 past, we take a shower then we take a rest.

We are just waiting for the big day and oh, still busy buying for what I'm going to wear, and I have to find a salon to cut my hair before the big day. My hair is so long, my hair is like a 90's hair long. Haha.

Anyway, that's it for now. Thank you for you time time read my articles...

End...

Joshua14/jiroshin

10
$ 6.55
$ 6.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @Mr_Trenzs
+ 5
Sponsors of jiroshin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jiroshin
2 years ago

Comments

Best wishes!

Naku, matagal tagal pa makakaranas ng ganyan parents namin, puro pa kami mga walang isip isip sa mga jowa jowa na yan. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Kaya ayoko magkajowa dami gastos dami iniisip hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa true lang! ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Best wishes po. Saya naman po ng family niyo. Hehe. ๐Ÿ˜Šโค

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehehe thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Best wishes to them po. And it is nice that even if you have relatives who are not supportive of you, you still have family members who love and accept you as you are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes that is one most important that they support whoever we are. and they don't judge us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy family ah. Best wishes sa brother mo and soon to be sister-in-law! โค

$ 0.00
2 years ago

happy family sila, lalo na si tito roel comedian hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha need mo nga mag pa salon update nalang sa tg charr. Congrats sa kapatid mo โค๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mabilis kasi humaba hair ko 1 month palang more than 1inch na hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAHA mabilis talaga humaba buhok niyo e kaysa saming mga babae. ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

eh kaso... babae genes ko, lalaki labas ko hahahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations to your brother and to your soon to be sister in law's wedding ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ’š ayiieee. Sana all sakanila 9 years. ๐Ÿ˜Š Wishing them a Happy wedding.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sana all my jowa HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all nga talaga hanap kana din kuyang Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago