The "dancerous" me when I was still a shudent (student)

15 32
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago
September 15, 2021

I wasn't feeling well during the past few days. I figured out I lacked enough sleep. I am trying to rest as much as I can now and I am feeling a lot better. Please don't imitate me, health is wealth.

What I will share with you has nothing to do with my introduction above, alrighty?

I'm a dancer since I was conceived. Dancing is my freedom, my ultimate form of expression, my passion, my soul. I usually dance like there is no tomorrow lol.

When I was like 6 or 7, my first dance was "Lambada". Are you familiar with the dance? My cousins and I would line up and they would follow my dance steps.

My first school dance performance

I remember practicing an Ethnic dance when I was in Grade 1. There was a time when the main dancer was stubborn. My teacher said, "Glessa will replace you if you won't listen to me". I wasn't aware that I could dance that well to be considered as the replacement. But I almost missed the "big day" because my parents fought and my mother went elsewhere.

"Don't dance anymore", my Manang told me. I didn't wanna break my teacher's heart so I attended. I didn't have make-up, a flower, and an accessory for the dance because we didn't have money. My sister's friends pitied my situation and sponsored me.

I didn't join dance competitions during my elementary years because I got so chubby. My chubbiness took my confidence away haha.

"As long as you love me"

I was a freshie in high school when my group entered a dance competition. Our entry was Backstreeboys' "As long as you love me". We would practice every after class and every weekend. Our uniform was a yellow T-shirt and black pants. We never won but we had fun.

"Maayo mosayaw nang tambok", a senior student told his classmate. He meant, "That fat one can dance" and he was referring to me. I was surprised when he said it.

And that contest paved way for my membership in an elite group- it was a dance group of top students in our class.

We then participated in another dance contest. We'd dance in front of a mirror in our church's dance studio and I was loving every minute of it. The dance title was "Lollypop" by Aqua. It was one of the most memorable moments of my dancing life because my mother and grandma witnessed the event.

My first dance heartbreak

When I was a freshman in Uni I wanted to join the "Kalimulan" Dance Troupe. It offers scholarships, dance workshops, and free travel locally and abroad. And I knew that our PE teacher might be the ticket for it. So I thoroughly practiced my entry for our final exam- the application of our exercises in a dance.

My heart was rapidly beating when I was called in front of the stage. "Let's get loud" by JLO was my dance piece. And I did it with all my heart. I couldn't forget how my teacher smiled and encouraged me to go on. I wanna get loud, so loud by dancing! I wanna own the stage! It was my happiest experience at the uni.

I told my pastor that I wanted to become a dancer but I got declined. She said it is a "worldly" desire. I asked God, "You gave me this talent, why can't I show this to the world? This is what I love, I am happy dancing!". My dream died. My aspiration went to the grave. My heart sank. Then I stopped studying at the university.

Nothing could stop me from dancing!

When I transferred to another school, my potential was discovered by my Humanities instructor. Working students were not supposed to participate in any competitions but she became my backer and I was a dancer once again. Yes, I joined the cheer dance and the pop dance groups.

The practices were tiring but enjoyable. It was difficult for me because I was an officer, a working student, and a dancer.

And the very first dance contest that I joined in college was "Bebot" by Blackeyed Peas. I still dance to it whenever I hear the music. I got recognized and received an "Award for Dance" when I was in second-year college.

My dance award

There were several dance competitions after it. I enjoyed the cheer dance despite not having a pair of white shoes. I wasn't sure why I was so broke that I couldn't afford to buy them or maybe there was no time. Despite showing my "bilbil" or baby fats in the cheer dance competition, the judges weren't disheartened. They were kind enough to score us based on our overall performance. Yes, we won in both cheer and pop dances.

My academic life became colorful and memorable because of dancing.

I wish I fought for my dream of becoming a dancer. The stage could have been my paradise and my world.

How about you? Have you given up a dream because you were told "No"? 
Did you become what you really wanted to be? Share it by commenting below 
and let's have a chat!
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty

These are my dear sponsors. Please do visit their pages and be inspired by their write-ups.

Thank you as always, my awesome sponsors!

To my visitors and co-authors, thank you very much!

**The last image is mine, the other pics were from Unsplash

**The rest of the content is mine

7
$ 2.68
$ 2.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 4
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

I believe that it is never too late to fulfill a dream. And you can still dance;) I like to dance, but just for fun. But when I was younger, I took for a couple of years Flamenco classes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had no formal dance education, my friend, wish I had. Thank you for the encouragement :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are people in charge of truncating the dreams of others. You made it back to your dream of being a dancer, keep on dancing, life is pure music, have a lot of fun. I read in an answer that you are a whale, well whales also dance, have you seen them jump out of the water? What matters is how you feel every time you dance.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for that one :D Haven't seen whales in real life yet :) Maybe I will try again soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all nakakasayaw huhu. 😢 pag may pasayaw na project teacher ko nung elem. Laging nakatakip muka ko. 😅😌

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehehe nakakahiya talaga at first mars, sanayan lang yan :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nice...trying hard dancer din ako noon sis (sa bahay lang)..hehehe..pag sa school naman, kapag may mga fiesta fiesta lang ako nakakasali sumayaw kasi buong klase yun eh required kaya hindi ka makakatanggi...tapos same same kayo ng steps..naalala ko pa nung grade 3 sinayaw namin yung "Always"..nakasalamin pa kaming lahat ahahahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha ako nung grade 4 sumali din sa field demo :) ala talaga tayong takas pag fiesta..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

korek sis....kahit ayaw natin walang choice

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now it would be interesting to see you dance :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahah I am as huge as a whale now :D You wanna see a dancing whale?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your Pastor was traditional to see dancing as "worldly." I think you can still dance today when given the opportunity.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think so sis. Hehe para na akong balyena sis at kulang na sa exercise :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. Keep on dancing, sis and it's not too late to start over. Do what makes your soul happy!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe thanks sis. I wish I can dance uli pero balyena nako eh :( Siguro pag malaki na si Saoirse magtitiktok kami.

$ 0.00
2 years ago