Thankfulness and gratefulness...Ways to be less toxic!

19 24
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

How are you, my dear read friends? It is now the 6th of January and I am gonna share with you some tips on how to be thankful.

I saw some posts about being grateful and thankful hence the inspiration of today's topic.

We are all toxic people at some point, yes or yes? The question now lies on how toxic we are and what we do about it. Are you the kind of person who complains rather than compliments? Do you appreciate peoples' effort or do you ask for more?

I have been a toxic person, my ex-bf said so. He said I always complain about everything. Maybe he was right. The issue is I wasn't able to determine the proper channel to vent and he was the one available. But you know, those who cared about you, the right people will listen until they tell you, you have an attitude problem. I learned from his statement and I tried to control my angst, anger, frustrations, and focus them on somewhere else like I write in my journal, going out for a "me" time, meditating, and jog.

One way to be less toxic is to learn how to appreciate. A habit can be stopped or formed in 21 days, that's how the brain is programmed. So since it's New Year, start being grateful or thankful, and here are 6 ways on how to do it (6 since it is the 6th of Jan). My ex-colleague gave me the cards named: Dare to be grateful by Viviamo! All the credits to them:

  • Do you dwell too much on the past?

-Living on the past won't change your present and it will negatively affect your future. You see, you are the captain of your life. You have been given the choice to either live happily or live in regrets, grudge, or peace of mind. What would you choose?

Here's what you can do:

Enuremate the reasons why living well in the present and focusing on yourself are for the best (Viviamo!).

  • "Happiness can exist only in acceptance" by George Orwell

    -If you don't accept that you are not perfect, that you commit mistakes, you will never be happy. Happiness is not living with perfection but living with imperfections and being okay with it.

Here's what you can do:

Face your fears little by little. It's scary, yes, but do it scared anyway! (Viviamo!)

  • How often do you expect and how often do you appreciate?

-I used to expect a lot before, it only lead me to heartbreaks and frustrations. I expected people to do the same things I do to them. It won't work. It made me a toxic person because I became blind, I didn't appreciate whatever it is that was in front of me because I was always looking for something more, something I can only give to myself. It wasn't unfair to the other person.

Here's what you can do:

Write down all the times in your life when you are more expectant and less appreciative. If you have too many expectations from the people in your life, then it's time to return some favors. Start with a simple thank-you text. It's enough to brighten someone's day. (Viviamo!)

  • In order to carry a positive action, we must develop here a positive vision by Dalai Lama

-One of my goals in life is to leave a legacy to my family by helping my nephews and nieces to finish schooling. I also try my best to become a positive influence on them. I am open for them to talk about their emotions, dreams, aspirations.

Here's what you can do:

Help your family members create a family handbook. Work with each other to bring out the best in one another! (Viviamo!)

  • Do you thrive on drama?

-I used to, but I learned the mistake from my ancestors. I was lucky enough to be "awakened" at such an early age and I did break the cycle. When I went here to Manila I became more open-minded about everything. Would you believe that my family's issues were still the same after 10 years? I kept on hearing them over and over again, I told them to get it over with and move on.

Here's what you can do:

Love, conflict, and drama make the world go round. But if you're constantly looking for these negative energies to engage in, you'll eventually burn out. Go on a digital detox and seek solace in solitude. (Viviamo!)

  • "Let us be grateful to people who make us happy; they are the charming gardeners who make our soul blossom" by Marcel Proust

    -I do appreciate my friends, especially those who have been with me through the worst times of my life. I either send them messages via Facebook and have a little chat with them or email them. During special occasions, I reach out and just tell them how thankful I am for everything they've done for me.

Here's what you can do:

Go old school: call up friends on their landline numbers. Tell them how much they mean to you. Reminisce about the good old days without emojis and apps. (Viviamo!)

There you go, my friends. I hope this helps! If we want to change our future, let us change our attitude, our perception of everyone and everything around us.

What are you thankful for? How do you show your appreciation towards someone? Do share and let's chat!

I want to say "THANK YOU" very much to my ever-supportive sponsors and my 116 strong subscribers. You are all amazing. I also want to say that I appreciate the comments and upvotes that you've done, been doing, and will do.

With much gratitude,

Glessa

The lead image was from Unsplash.com
The tips and What you can do sections were from Viviamo!
The rest of the content is mine unless stated otherwise.
January 6, 2021

11
$ 3.38
$ 3.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 7
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

To those who gave us always good advices will lead us to do something better 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice 👍 write up dear 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, dear!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right dear! Always be grateful to those who help you and give you an advice and respect them or even when we have to show positive response then also other people be thankful for us

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes dear, that is correct! Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should be grateful to every person who has influenced our lives in some way... He has either brought us joy and happiness... or simply made us wiser... P/S: A little poem about your ex-boyfriend: Not sitting like this That's not how I look That's not how I hold my bread in my hands That's not how I sing That's not how I stand That's not how I serve That's not how I talk That's not how I joke That's not how I roll my ball in my hands That's not how I breathe That's not how I write That's not how I walk down the street sometimes I have doubts maybe you're not the right one !!!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks my dear friend, he wasn't the right one :) And you are right, the people we meet either are blessings or lessons, either way, a win-win situation :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good advice! Being grateful not only makes us less toxic, it creates a great mindset and peace within the heart. Happy new year my friend!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Happy New Year my friend. How are you doing?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not too good, but still alive and kicking here! Hope you stay safe and blessed over there my friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You will be in a lot better position soon, my friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

and I'm grateful for you, sis jas!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same here sis, you don't know how thankful I am to meet you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If we aim towards positivity then we must develop a positive mindset.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen, dear brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learn from the animals and only live in the now. What is done is done, today is what counts, and by the way you are amazing Glessa

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I like how you learn from the animals po sir Ed :) Thank you for the compliment, you are amazing too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the article. Feeling much better after reading it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My pleasure, my dear cousin!

$ 0.00
2 years ago