My favorite Computer Science subjects in college!

29 37
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

November 4, 2021

G'day, mate!

We all have favorites on almost anything: from our favorite quote to a favorite color or part of the day, favorite pet, etc. It makes us feel warm, excited, happy, giddy, ecstatic, and any other positive emotions. It pushes us to go for milestones, to become the best version of ourselves.

Today am gonna talk about my favorite subjects in my college course: Computer Science. They were difficult subjects but I enjoyed learning them because I had great and supportive instructors.

Here they are:

Logic Circuit and Digital Electronics

This is a subject that uses Boolean Algebra which means each result no matter how complex a problem is can either only be true or false or 1 or 0.Β  And the computation can only be confirmed as correct or wrong through the use of logic circuits. If the computation is right, the logic circuit's light is on, otherwise, off.

It was so fun solving problems using 2-3 pages of paper, back to back just to come up with an either 1 or 0 as answer lol...

It sounds complicated but to make it simple, all computer systems need to go through logic gates to make sure it's correct otherwise it won't be properly implemented and might sabotage the digital system.

The logic gates are just like the typical logic we know: and, or, not, nand, nor, exor, and exnor gates.


System Analysis and Design

I didn't fall in love with the subject because of the instructor (but he did try to flirt with me). I just love improving systems because I saw a number of systems that needed enhancement on the campus.
My background in investigatory projects in high school helped me a lot in this subject.

The steps in SAD are:

  1. Determine an existing system

  2. What are its lapses, challenges (gather data by interviewing people using the system and the people affected by it)

  3. Analyze if there is a need to create a new system or just enhance the existing one

  4. Propose changes in the system by using use-case diagrams

I know there were more steps but I am just making it simple here. SAD is just the first part of system design and we had this class in my second year. The second part is coding which I had during my fourth year.

Knowing my system by heart helped me defend my project successfully during the finals.



HTML

How I love designing a website by coding using a notepad with HTML as a language.

I remember the day of class, it made me so excited to know that we will be making our own website. What I did was made a research about the language and did self-study. I was ahead of my classmates. Our instructor was teaching them where to put the text, while my texts were already running because of the marquee.

Every day was always an adventure for me, and it made me so happy whenever I see my website successfully run after every coding. The issue is, our projects were saved on the computers in the Internet room. During the finals, one of my classmates failed or almost failed and she or he was so bitter that all our projects were deleted. I was so devastated because I didn't have a copy of it and I might fail because there was no time to create my 4-page website. Good thing my instructor already saw it and he knew what kind of website I had and how I was as a student.

I realized I miss designing a website using HTML. Programming nowadays seems to be so complicated, or maybe it's just my perception.

C++

This was my first programming major subject in my first year of college.

I remember the black screen where we put our codes. And the first thing to do was to know the syntax of the language. Then we declare a variable on what it is. Not putting the semi-colon after each declaration or command messes up the whole program because the computer thinks that the command is still open. It was so challenging to create the formulas and see whether or not the program was correctly executed.

There was a time where our instructor who was resigning, gave us a project. It was about arrays so it was difficult, I was the only one who figured it out but she didn't read my email that contained the solution to our project. I was so pissed off because she all gave us the same grades: 2.5. I mean, what the nerve! I was able to run my program without any mistakes at all! If she has seen my email, I could have gotten 1.0 for the midterm!

Anyways, she was replaced with a better instructor. And he was one of the most amazing ones. He made us feel like creating a program is like a play or a game. He made the subject enjoyable. I did get a good grade from him.

I do have other favorite subjects but these 4 were my most favorites. I loved Networking, Logic circuits in Digital Electronics, and Data Structures and Algorithm.

Computer Science is a difficult course and I am happy and proud that I was a top student despite being a student assistant from 1st to 3rd-year college. If I could only work in the IT industry, it would be a dream come true for me.

What were your favorite subjects in college? Did you get a job that is related to your course? Please let me know!

I hope you will have a good night or day wherever you are in the world. And may the stock market or crypto-verse be in your favor.

To my sponsors old and new: thank you very much, I owe you one! πŸ™πŸ™

Please visit my sponsors' profiles as well.

And all your likes, subscriptions, and upvotes are greatly appreciated ❀️❀️❀️

Cheers!

Β©Ngotngot, the fyrfinex πŸ”₯🐦

The lead image was from Unsplash.com

9
$ 3.59
$ 3.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Vibration101
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
+ 8
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

I never learnt all these in school. I remember a corper taught us the basics in ss2

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What good subjects, they are challenging. The little I know about html I learned it in google, one day my son was strange seeing me working in html and he told me you know more than my classmates who were studying system engineering. Then he taught me other things that I didn't know.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow, and I hope you like HTML. Glad that your son taught you a lot of stuff my friend :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, I liked it a lot, but I don't use it as much anymore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, same here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay wow, ComSci. Took a sem of that and decided to shift hahaha. Not my cup of tea but it's good to see others who enjoy the subjects. I think the only one I enjoyed back then was plain Logic. πŸ˜‚

Can't remember what my favourite subject in college was when I shifted... πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe I understand ComSci is kind of overwhelming at first :) What was your course after you shifted?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Arts related. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A legend is found. I remember how days passed away. Those classes and non stop lecture bouncing over my head.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You were a com sci student too???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, no wonder!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang gustoko lang na subject before is science pero nakalimutan kona pinag aralankohehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehehe basta di naaapply sis di ba makakalimutan talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't remember learning these in comp science. I may have forgotten it haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha I feel you sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm an industrial engineer and I worked for a time as a project controller and then, I specialized in finance. I know some HTML, but I'm not an expert at all, hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow, your profession is so cool Eliana, my friend. Did you like HTML?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep, I liked it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagtry ako ng programming sa tesda,ang naaalalankongumawa kami ng stop light and good thing gumana naman.. Ang hirrap kaya ng encoder grabeπŸ˜…πŸ˜… favorite subject ko TLE nung highschool kaya nung nagcollege ako TLE major kinuha ko. Yun nga lang hindi natapos,guato ko din ng bussiness pero nganga hindi rin natapos.πŸ˜…

Talino mo zis naku pagdating sa encode alag tayo diyan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Heheh tama lang sis..Ano ang naging work mo na?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku sis Hindi ako nakapagwork, pero nakapagtrabaho ako nung nagaaral pa ko. Sa jollibee after nun wala ng kasunod.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis, meron din kaming Logic Circuit and Digital Electronics na subject nung college. Comsci ka pala? at marunong ka mag html? wow!..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Di ba sis ang saya ng Logic Circuit? Hehehe.. Yup marunong akong mag HTML wala nga lang practice2..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ako sis pag kailangan nag-gogoogle lang din eh..ahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a clever lady! I love HTML and leant Python during lockdown. My degree is Chemical Engineering and I didn't like it lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you po sir Ed! Chemical Engineering?? Mygosh that is soo difficult!! And I am glad you loved HTML. I haven't learned Python..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is always good to learn new things, don't you think!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree, I also studied Google Analytics and I was already on the complicated part lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago