From a CSR to a VA/Customer Service Lead

22 25
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

October 17, 2021

Working in the BPO for a decade made me what I am today. Also, its world-class culture and product training gave me skills that helped me a lot when I started working from home.

But finding an online job wasn't easy: the competition is stiff. You could find a job but some wages were below the minimum. I tried going back to Upwork but I just felt I wasn't fit for it. I also tried applying to other VA companies or onlinejobs.ph but the salary or offer was too low.

Last 2017, I saw a post on Fb about eCommerce University so I applied for a scholarship and luckily got chosen. I chose to study eContent Writing. eCommerce University was an amazing platform and was being moderated by Filipino VAs. eContent Writing was a self-paced course and I finished it a year after enrolling. When I finally got my certificate, I was endorsed to the eCommerce Graduate platform. eCommerce University was already making its name hence it wasn't so difficult for clients to find their VAs.

After a few months of waiting, I got my first VA or Virtual Assistance job with Amrita, a New York-based mortar and pestle store but decided to open its online shop. I started working on April 24, 2018, not as a content writer but as a Customer Service Lead because of my previous experience.

I was the only one working for the business at that time and we were in the process of migration. The store transferred from Woocommerce to Shopify and I didn't have any idea about online business tools. I had to study and learn while working with no training at all. It was a good thing that I was a Computer Science graduate because I was able to adapt to my new environment, my technical skills saved me.

When I formally started as CS Lead, I never thought that there were a lot of challenges I needed to face: we got a number of angry customers because of double orders and charges, monthly subscription issues, delayed orders, marketing issues, and email management problems.

The first thing that I did was, I checked our ordering system at the back end and figured out the double order issues. I was able to stop the shipment of pending double orders in the system. My boss Ar said it was okay if the customers won't pay for the second order but I was grateful that some of them either paid in full, paid half the price on the second order, returned the second order. I was happy that the company prevented further losses.

Then I scrutinized the subscription issues. Some customers didn't receive their monthly order because of the system migration so I called them one by one. I processed manual orders for the others while the rest was willing to wait until we were settled. Then we ordered an app for the subscription. I think it was called Orderify if I am not mistaken.

I also checked all the orders for the month and determined the reasons for the delay. I even talked to the owner of the shipping company and coordinated with our project manager if the delayed orders could be sent out ASAP once the stocks are available. I then called the affected customers, apologized, and updated them with the status of their orders. I gave them a discount code as compensation for our shortcomings.

Some of our customers tagged us as spam due to the frequency of the marketing emails they received from the shop so I unsubscribed them as per their request. My boss didn't want to do so, so I explained to him that a company with good customer service empowers its consumers. So I changed the frequency preferences of the customers who still wanted to hear from us based on their choice.

I then took care of our store inbox and answered each complaint and inquiry until all problems were resolved. After it, I then supervised the orders in Amazon and contacted the customers who had issues with their orders. I also addressed customer concerns in Amazon by responding to the cases they opened against us and closed most of them.

I was happy that I helped the business grow. Its Google reviews increased with great feedback on Customer Service. I learned to manage orders via Shopify, editing its product details and descriptions using Wix, fixed the website, while handling the phone, chat, and email, and even got new high-paying clients.

Since everything was already fixed, my boss then hired a Social Media Manager and a Shopify manager. I was so happy because I wasn't bored anymore. I then created the store's SOPs as a training guide for the future Customer Service Lead and as a reference if a backup is needed when the CS Lead isn't around.

Amrita was my first online business job experience and I did love it. But I had to leave because of my health. Two years after, my boss told me I could go back if I wished to. He wanted me to become a project manager before and I wonder if that offer still stands.

By the way, my probationary salary was $4/hr and increased to $5/hr after a month. For me, it's pretty decent already.

Do you love your current job, my friend? What were the challenges you faced in your role? Do you have a great working relationship with your boss? Comment below and let's chat!

Thanks for your time and I hope you won't get tired of reading my articles.

To my sponsors old and new: thank you very much, I owe you one! 🙏🙏

All your likes, subscriptions, and upvotes are greatly appreciated ❤️❤️❤️

©Ngotngot, the fyrfinex 🔥🐦

Lead image from Unsplash.com

4
$ 3.12
$ 2.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.02 from @TengoLoTodo
+ 2
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

Go for it! That's already a great start.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Medyo maliit pa po si baby..Di sya kaya alagaan ng partner ko magisa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko ngapong mag va pero parang natatakot ako hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wag ka matakot sis :) Figure out what your niche is and go from there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Natatakot ako sa mga employer sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maraming scam online sis kaya dapat magingat at maging observant and cautious ka talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Would you still go back, sounds like you really enjoyed it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I will po, my boss is just waiting for me but I got a 1 year old so the job has to wait.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A job not so easy to do, you went through many tests, but all successful. 5$ an hour, that's excellent, I would like to earn 5$ a day, for now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I earn like $40 a day when I was still a VA and it could have increased if I was promoted but I stopped.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sad to tell you that a professional with a master's degree earns approximately $20/month, that's why I say to earn $5/day, it would be a great achievement.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry about that, is it what is happening in your country, my friend?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The government has finished with the country, they have already removed 15 zeros from our currency, inflation is increasing every day, all prices are in dollars and are also devalued. The minimum wage is 7.0 Bs, and one dollar is worth 4.2 Bs. Any item with an international price of 1$ is worth 2$ here. The worst thing, the articles do not maintain their prices in dollars, if today it is worth 4$, it is possible that tomorrow you will find it at 6 or 7$, it is unsustainable. I sold my Volskwagen for 200$ to be able to invest in scalpin or games to win, my other vehicle is 4 years old with a damaged engine, I have not been able to repair it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry about that my friend. Let's pray for some changes in your country.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope so, although it won't be very easy, thanks for your interest. 💞

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow.. Ang galing mo sis.. Ang laki pala ng contribution mo dyan sa work mo.. Kudos to you.. Sana suklian nila yang dedication mo sa work.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ahe salamat sis :) I loved my first online job talaga, sayang lang and I had to stop. Siguro pag malaki laki na si Saoirse if the door is still open :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sayang nga sis.. Super okay na yung $5 per hr ha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah kung naging project manager ako, 7 na sana sya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag mag apply ka ulit dun sis back to zero ka?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi sis :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago