Dancing and my family life

28 51
Avatar for jasglaybam
3 years ago

September 10, 2021

If there was something that bound my family: it's dancing.

I grew up in a dysfunctional family. My papa loved drinking and gambling with his friends while my mama was searching for the means of our survival. There were physical and verbal fights most of the time.

But I could clearly recall that moment when my family was the happiest. It was all of us in a disco with my teenage sisters. My parents were monitoring their dates. My papa was dancing with my mama while the flashlight was on in his pocket. We were all having fun. The only person who cannot dance gracefully was my Ate G, our eldest sister. That night was a bittersweet memory that never happened again.

My mama and I went for a dancing adventure

I'm not sure if I was 8. There was a barrio fiesta coronation night for a beauty pageant. The townsfolk flocked to witness that grand event and we didn't wanna miss it for the world so Mama and I went.

We started walking on a dark road on the way up a hill called "Matoug", which means "foggy". There was no single lamp post in that area, yup, we walked through the moonlight. I could feel the dust in my feet while I was slowly getting tired of walking. I only see a glimpse of those trees, my shadow shied away. It felt like forever.

I was scared at first because a "wakwak/aswang/monster" might grab me but it disappeared because everyone's walking and talking. Some had "sulo" or a torch from either dried coconut leaves or bamboo poles to clearly see the pathway. Creative, eh?

We finally arrived in a small place was surrounded by disco lights. I didn't care who was crowned because I wanted to dance in that dance floor fenced by woven coconut leaves. "Ayaw sandigi ang koral kay mahugno!". It means, "Don't lean on the fence so it won't collapse!", in English.

We loved "bayle". It's derived from a Spanish word "bailar" which means "to dance".

"Mamayle ta" or "Mangdisco ta"is a Visayan translation for "Let's go to a dance/disco". "Mamaylihay" is a person who loves to go to a dance. I was an 8-year-old "mamaylihay".

I was so immersed in the music. Who wouldn't be when they were playing the best disco music of the 80s and the 90s! There was a "SaturdayNight", "Wanna be my lover", "Please don't go", etc. I performed all the dance steps that I could possibly remember when "Ooops undang sa ta kay magtubil sa ta!". I froze because everything went dark and the music stopped. What the?! The announcer said that we had to stop our enjoyment because they had to refuel. They were only using a generator. I've never been so disappointed in my life. And it happened several times in the entire evening.

The party has ended. We started walking our way home on the same dark, rugged road. I was starting to imagine horrid creatures lurking everywhere. And I hated the fact that a "kabaong" or a coffin could appear flying any minute. Suddenly, I heard clip-clop..."Ay, okay ra ka bai?" It means "Are you okay mate?". The two men fell from their horses. How can the poor horse see through the night without any light on?

I was so relieved when we finally made it home. I slept my tiredness and frustration away. I told myself that I didn't wanna go to that kind of place again. But I really did it again with my elder sister when I was 12.

"Mamayle ta", she said.

I was tired after cleaning the bedroom yesterday so I had to rest. I hope I made you smile in this little adventure of mine. How about you? Did you have a wonderful or memorable experience with dancing? Share it below and let's talk.

Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty

If you haven't done so, kindly visit these wonderful people's pages. I'm pretty sure there's something for you to learn. I appreciate your time and your upvotes as well.

TO MY LOVELY SPONSORS: THANK YOU, AS ALWAYS!

 

**All images were from Unsplash and the rest of the content is mine.

Cheers!

11
$ 4.71
$ 4.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @ewyr
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 7
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
3 years ago

Comments

That means I am talking to a dancer? Wow!! That's great.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not a pro though :I

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can imagine how disappointing it was that the lights went out and the music ended. I also like to dance and enjoy it very much.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes it was disappointing my friend but it was one hell of an adventure heheeh

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have no doubts it should be one hell of an adventure. 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And I miss that kind of adventure :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I lived part of my childhood in a town where you had to walk a long way to go to a dance, I never went because I was too young. But in the city they had parties every weekend, there I would go to dance to any kind of music. I have walked on unlit trails, but it is incredible that horses and donkeys walk without stumbling.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I think the horses and donkeys already knew their way unlike my experience hehee..Aww you should have gone with an adult, it's fun..Kidding..I was just lucky I went with my mom

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can't dance🤣🤣🤣, I am still learning rhythm,

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Learning is fun :) So dance more!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nasayaw lang ako pag komportable sa kasama pero pag hindi. Hahah nganga. 😆 sing tigas pa naman ng bakal yung katawan ko😂

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Haahah grabe naman yang bakal sis :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No dancing for me hehe. I remembered attending a debut for I had to proxy someone. It's my first time to attend such an event. I am one of the roses and I had to dance with the celebrant. I don't know what to do. I am so embarrassed I feel all eyes were on me. I can feel my whole body getting warm and face turning red. It was the worst 5 minutes of my life.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Aww I could only imagine..Nagsurvive ka naman po at sana di nangyari uli sa yo yun..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Umaattend din ako sa mga sayawan dati sis sa probinsya namin.. Pero never ako nagsayaw.. Hahaha.. Taga nood lang.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Ako naman ang kitikiti sa sayawan hehe ayoko nang nanonood lang

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahahhaa.. Ikaw na sis.. Sumasayaw ka din ng sweet?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hindeeee :P

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahahaha...okies

$ 0.00
3 years ago

May mga nanghihipo kasi sis

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i know right..ahahaha....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

:D daming manyak sis lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sabi mo pa

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe I can only imagine the disappointment when the music and lights stopped while you were dancing with glee. And imagining flying coffins is quite wild :D

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Hehee nakakadisappoint talaga sis. Malayo yung pinuntahan talaga namin tapos andilim pa. Ewan ko ba kung bakit pinatulan namin ng mama ko yung disco na yun hehehe..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha sayang noh, pero at least ng bonding kyo :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo sis, minsan lang kami naggaganun ni mama ko :) Di nya rin naranasan magbayle dati kaya bumawi hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Such a great memory with your mom sis

$ 0.00
3 years ago