Workaholic Who?

23 39
Avatar for itsmeCguro
2 years ago

Is being workaholic a negative adjective to describe someone? Or it has a positive connotation? Do you consider yourself one of those workaholics, those who choose to work on a holiday instead of going out with friends?

Am I workaholic?

There is nothing wrong with being workaholic because there are a lot of advantages if you are one, such as earning a huge amount of money (but this one depends on the nature of your work, if you're workaholic but your hard work is not being compensated enough then it's another story) and it allows you a wide array of opportunities (maybe promotions or better salary grade, but then again, it depends).

ME? WORKAHOLIC? Hmmm, I can't really say that I am one. Yes, I do overtime from time to time and most of the time, those overtimes are not being compensated. From the nature of my work, which is one of the most demanding work, I'd say most of those who enter and practice my profession are workaholic. We spend a lot of time planning on every lesson, every quiz, every assessment, every time we give grades the students deserve. That's also the reason why most of my teachers back then tried to persuade me to take a different path, a different course to take, because they knew that this kind of work really demands a lot of time. It would take the time you'd spend on yourself, for your loved ones, and other stuff.

I can say that I'm into details that makes me work for a long period of time. I can't just settle into what's average, I always want the output of my work to be really good. I don't do 'okay' performance when it comes to teaching, I want what's best for my students.

I am most productive when..

When I was in high school, I discovered I was most productive when I do my tasks early in the morning. I used to wake up as early as 6am, read a devotional book, contemplate about life, then do my assignments. My class was scheduled in the afternoon back then but I wake up early to have my alone time and to be productive.

When I was in college, since we didn't have control in our own schedules, classes were scheduled sometimes early, sometimes late. I used to go to school before 7 and come home as late as 11pm. Hassle! My productivity time depends on when it is most convenient. I was a working student back then, so every Saturday and Sunday, I work in the market as early as 6am. The only time I had to make the necessary tasks on weekends was Friday night and Saturday afternoon. On Sundays, I voluntarily teach in our Kids Church and lead the Music Ministry in the afternoon.

Now that I'm working, I find it easy to concentrate early in the morning, 5-7am, when no one's awake yet, though my parents wake up early. Same goes when I spend my alone time at night, around 9-12 midnight. It's quiet and it feels like I can process my thoughts better. But when it comes to physical activities, I tend to be productive in the morning.

Generally speaking, I am productive when I feel like it hahaha. To be honest, there's no specific time of the day when I am productive. When I feel like being productive in the morning, I'd move. If not, then it'll definitely strike in the evening. One thing is for sure, it's not in the afternoon! Who gets productive in the afternoon anyway? All I do is yawn hahaha.

How about you? Are you a workaholic? When do you feel most productive, in the morning? In the afternoon? Or in the evening? Let me know.


March 6, 2022 | 11:33AM

How thoughtful and generous of @Talecharm to renew her sponsorship 🖤 Bless you!

12
$ 2.30
$ 2.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 6
Sponsors of itsmeCguro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itsmeCguro
2 years ago

Comments

I was workaholic back then, when I was still a researcher. Wala kaming overtime pay kasi contractual lang eh. But yung salary namin is malaki. Sa first year ko, di ako nagoovertime, kasi maliit pa sahod, like legit. Pagkastrike ng 5:00 PM, off agad ng PC. hahaha. May parttime job pa kasi ako then blogging. Doon ko binabawi kasi super liit ng sahod. After a year, nagapply ako for a higher position, dun na nagstart. Nagoovertime ako lage tapos nagoovernight sa office. Lalo na sa last 6 months ng project, grabe yung overnight and overtime. Kaya nastop ako sa blogging dahil sa work. Tapos kinukuha pa kami sa fieldwork para mapabilis ang work ng kabilang team. Keri parin. But ngayon, kung kelan need magovertime, dun lang nagoovertime. If urgent ang task, kahit gabie na or weekend, gagawin parin. But I still don't refer myself ngayon as workaholic. Iba kasi talaga yung level ng workaholic ko from 2017 to 2019.

As for kelan productive, if not work related, 9 PM - 2 AM, diyan ako super productive. But noong nagrereview ako, narealize ko productive rin pala ako mga 4 AM - 8 AM, sometimes 12mn to 6:00 AM. Depende talaga. Pero pag work, productive ako sa afternoon. hehe not a morning person kasi so sa umaga ako antok na antok.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I feel u sa pagpatak ng time, out agad haha actually nahawa lang din ako sa mga coworkers ko. Makikita rin kasi natin ung routine nila and different perspectives.

How to be productive sa afternoon? Di ko talaga keri kaya pagpatak ng 1pm hanggang mag out na, antok na antok ako haha

I guess if worth it naman ang pagoovertime, why not diba.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hm..... feeling ko there are days na workaholic ako. Pero pag alam kong deserve ko ng pahinga, nagiging over spender naman ako.. Agghh welll I think kaya naman i balance ung ganun.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Depende talaga sa mood ano? Kayang kaya naman yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm more productive in the evening since I have sleep disorder, I manage to do my task well in the evening. Most of my friends jokingly said I should be a lady guard who never sleeps. Thanks for giving the best for the students🥰.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Uy, di rin biro ang di makatulog sa gabi. Ang hirap kaya. Ako, hirap akong magstay nang late. Lagi ako inaantok agad haha depende sa kung ano talaga ung naging habit natin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo yan. Kasi ako since bata talagang hirap, though hindi diagnosed pero parang chronic insomnia na ung akin. Plus ang restless leg syndrome pag gabi kaya ang hirap tlga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not sure if I am workaholic. The nature of my work can sometimes be toxic especially during my first few years but then tasks became less and less but there are still days that we are swamped. I do like working early hours as well for I find it more peaceful and less distractions.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I knew you're an early bird 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It depends sis, kapag inatake ako ng sipag ang dami kong nagagawa, pero kapag tinamad ako wala talaga.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Same ate. Minsan talaga sasaniban tayo ng kasipagan, minsan katamaran haha weather weather lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If being workaholic makes you happy then go for it. It is nice to know that you are into details and not just settle for less. We need teachers like you. I mean the students need teachers like you. I am most productive too when I'm alone and there is no much noise.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're like my friend. She tends to wait for a quiet time before doing something productive. Thank you! Really, students' needs are my top priority when it comes to education.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm, I think I am not a workaholic. I only work when it is time to work. I do not work on rest day because I want to take a rest too for my body and mind. It is good to have breaks too. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You have discipline, Jijisaur. I'm still practicing this though. Di ko maiwasan minsan ang di magwork on a weekend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I consider myself as a workaholic. It makes me feel happy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ohh, that's nice! As long as you're happy, why not?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think I'm a workaholic because I'm a lazy person haha. But I love to create and think about things.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ohh, that's okay haha we have our own ways of being creative. Some take action, some are the thinkers, just like you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know if I'm belong with that but in my side whenever I had a task about my study I really need to fulfill my responsibility before anything else.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I do that too! I think you can say that you are for that reason. I tend to skip meals too just to finish a certain task. But that's a bad habit hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remembered those days I spent during practice teaching. I was always busy preparing my visual aids. The one time there was an earthquake. Classes was suspended and everyone was in hurry to go home? I? I was still looking for my critic teacher. I still want my lesson plan to be check.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You were,, or still workaholic? haha grabe yun ate, lumilindol na, lesson plan pa rin ang iniisip haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago