Why Thailand is the best place for digital nomads?

30 48
Avatar for itravelRox
2 years ago

As a Filipino citizen who was born in the Philippines, my dream was to work at home using the Internet. I started in 2009 while working full time then decided to quit and focus working online. Internet connection in the Philippines is not perfect. I encountered problems of the connection while I lost some projects. Internet is even expensive.

My dream was to get out of the Philippines and go to a country with a better Internet connection. I was doing my research about digital nomad. I also searched how to have a sustainable life as a digital nomad. I work on another article for this.

What is a digital nomad?

Here's my previous article: https://read.cash/@itravelRox/what-is-a-digital-nomad-57a50cb6

I searched where is the best country to be a digital nomad in Southeast Asia and the number 1 most voted country is Thailand. So here are the reasons why.

Thailand has a faster and cheaper Internet connection compared to the Philippines

Buying a sim card is easy to buy in Thailand as you can buy it at 7/11 and other mini mart stores. It is not expensive. So the mobile Internet connection is fast as well. When you stay in hostels and hotels, it's very quick. So you won't have a problem getting things done in Thailand.

Mode of transportation is more convenient than in the Philippines

It is easy to get around in Thailand because of the train and the sleeper bus. From Bangkok, you can go visit different places and provinces. Go on a weekend getaway in Phuket or go to the northern part of Thailand. You can also visit a new country like Cambodia and Laos.

Thailand as the central hub of international flights in Asia

Thailand has a big international airport so Western countries love to stay in Thailand. It is also easy to fly to nearby countries in Asia.

Thai food is delicious

Thailand has the best Asian cuisine so I really enjoyed eating food streets and Thai cuisine. Oh, don't forget the Thai milk tea. All I did was just eating around in Thailand and that was awesome.

The Thai Culture is rich

Thailand has a rich culture and they have several Buddhist temples you can visit. You will learn also how the people loved the previous King. They gave so much respect to him. I forgot his name but his face was all over the Baht bills.

Airbnb rental, hotels and hostels are affordable

As a single digital nomad, I used to stay in hostels and did some volunteering work. When my husband and I were just boyfriend and girlfriend, we rented through Airbnb. If you want to feel luxurious for few days, you can also go to hotels.

I was so lucky that I was able to stay in Thailand for a total of 3 months during my backpacking days. I was fortunate to be a digital nomad.

Let me know what you think of digital nomadism. Drop in your comments below.

12
$ 4.44
$ 4.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 4
Sponsors of itravelRox
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itravelRox
2 years ago

Comments

One of my dream countries to visit is Thailand kasi ang gaganda din ng mga dagat nila :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yep dami diving activities

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The country Thailand is one of the countries that I've been dreaming to go to. Hopefully in the future, I could go there. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Punta na. They're opening the country na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dreamer pa ako ngayon Ate oys. Sana talaga maka labas ako ng Pilipinas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Make it a goal maka save ng money :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a dream that one-day I will visit Thailand for once... hopefully my dream will come true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you can do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did consider Thailand and Vietnam before both of which have cheap but fast internet and also low cost of living.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've never been to Vietnam but yes ang cheap dun masarap din ang Vietnamese food. Countryside feels.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow naman sis. Kaya pala maraming mga turista ang pumupunta sa bansang iyan. Buti pa pala sa Thailand kasi maganda internet connection. Di makarelate ang sa amin eh.hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, hindi mahal. Kahit 3G ang phone mo, you can still use it and connect sa laptop mo as portable WiFi mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda pala sa thailand sis nuhh, parang gusto ko magtrabaho doon.. kasodi pwd kasi di papayagan ng fam, pero sana soon..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mag travel ka na. Di ka na bata. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woww seems like I need to include thailand in my bucket list. Ngayon ko lng ma appreciate ang thailand sis. Kahit dito nlng ma place mkapag out of town char hahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes open na ang Thailand. Travel na dun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ae hahhaha pass muna sis. Walang budget. Mga ilan kaya sis na pwede na sya pang travel dun?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pwede na 20k one week. Kinaya ko 20k mga one month. Hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halah as in sis. Wowww cheap lng dn mga fare dun nuh tsaka bilihin. Ahhhhhhhh thailand is hope . Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thais do look similar to Filipinos and Indonesians, right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thais are kinda Chinese. Filipinos are more Indonesians. But ive been mistaken as these two nationalities. No one can tell I'm Pinoy. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought so, 'cause I see a lot of brown people in Thailand when I'm watching Thai vlogs.

Oh, well. I never left Phil, but no one believed that I'm a pure Filipino. They mistook me for Chinese. LOL. Not my bad for being blessed with fox eyes. nyahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chinito chinita with brown skin sila. Sa Japan naman I got mistaken as half Japanese. Hehe. Baka nga may dugong Chinese ka. Sinabi lang din saken ng relative ko may lahing Chinese mama ng papa ko. Dalawang anak ko super Asian kahit half French. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ewan, yun daw sabi na may Chinese blood daw sa side ng mama ko pero di naman napatunayan. Saka din kaming kakilala na Chinese sa pamilya. Ako, mama ko, at anak ko lang naman iyong chinita samin. Iyong kong kapatid at mga pinsan, brown skin at mukhang Pilipino talaga. Kami lang yung Yellowish na Chinita.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Possible may lahi ka ngang Chinese

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sama mo ako sa Thailand ha? Hehehe! Maganda pala internet dyan, dun palang oks na sakin kase need ko mabilis na NET!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you're a teacher, pwede ka mag teach sa Thailand hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

woah grabeha 3 months? yay... look forward to the next blog be about digital nomad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako na ge update ang link about what is a digital nomad. Char. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

4 months total apil Myanmar ug Cambodia hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago