I was 24 on my first flight to Manila

13 42
Avatar for itravelRox
1 year ago
Topics: Travel, Manila

Let's have a throwback travel article. I felt so old reminiscing my first flight to Manila. I was 24. It was a birthday gift to myself. I wasn't a traveler back then. I just started working online in 2010 and saved money.

Then, a high school classmate sent a message on Facebook. She invited me to go to Manila. She has an older sister who used to work in Manila. My friend knew how much free time that I had so she can invite me any time of the day.

That was November 2012 and I have this old photo using an old digital camera or an old Samsung phone. I was trying to be a digital nomad as I was bringing my old netbook with me.

Window seat snapshot

When it is your first time taking a plane, do not forget to take the window seat. You can actually request that to the staff if it's possible to assign you on a window seat. Request granted when there is availability.

Choosing Manila as my first destination

When you're a probinsyana or a girl from the province, you are curious about what Manila looks like. I just took advantage of the invitation from a friend and was happy to have a companion.

We stayed in Pasig as her sister lived there. Fortunately, I have an aunt who actually lives there. Perfect timing that it was near to visit my aunt. I just took a tricycle from my friend's village to my aunt's village. My aunt welcomed me as she was happy to see me.

Just a little glow up

My friends and I went to Divisoria to buy something for Christmas. I bought something for myself to look myself pretty. Compared to the first photo and this one, I felt prettier. Haha!

We also went to Trinoma to see her other friends who took Ph.D. at UP Diliman. We went to UP Diliman after just by taking a taxi.

Welcome to the University of the Philippines - Diliman

The ever famous naked man statue in the university. I remember my mother had the same photos here when she went to Manila and stayed in Pasig as well, with her cousin, my aunt.

It was a cool afternoon. UP Diliman was big. You actually need to take a jeep to get around inside the university belt.

This statue is called The Oblation.

The Burger Project

We were hungry so we went to The Burger Project. You can actually create your own burger here, what do you want inside the buns. How many burger patties do you want, the sauce, the cheese, etc.

The Enchanted Kingdom in Laguna

From Manila, we took a van ride to Laguna just to visit the first theme park in the Philippines. It was like a must-visit when you are a tourist and a first-timer. It was actually fun. It was a good day. There were so many students on a weekend. We never had a theme park in Cebu so it was fun for a probinsyana to enjoy a theme park.

Mayon Volcano from afar

Going back home, I saw Mayon Volcano from afar. It was a good sight to see. I was using a camera phone here so the quality was bad. It was good to see the perfect cone volcano in the Philippines.

My Thoughts about Manila?

I hate the heavy traffic. It was very expensive when we took the taxi from Manila airport to Pasig. It also took us 2-3 hours. I was a bit shocked. Metro Manila is very big with so many cities. Unlike Cebu, from Mactan to Cebu City, it will take 30 minutes or less when there is no traffic.

So, I've been to Manila many times after that. Brought some other friends as well as it was also their first time. My friends kept on telling me that I should invite them when I had my next travels.

Originally published this on my travel blog at - I was 24 When I Experienced My First Airplane Ride to Manila

9
$ 1.30
$ 1.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.03 from @DennMarc
+ 7
Sponsors of itravelRox
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itravelRox
1 year ago
Topics: Travel, Manila

Comments

Wow, you had a great time in Manila, it's great to have such good memories of the places we visit, I plan on this in the future and hope to have it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

O db atlis nacapture mo pa din mga moments na sarap balikbalikan lalo at sa first time pa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't describe how much it irritates me when I start to go somewhere

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Truth, sometimes I got stuck for 5 hours in traffic when I used to travel from Caloocan to BGC. Great pics :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I tried testing the water to live in Manila pero na stress ako

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, the heavy traffic is very annoying. It consumes most of your travel time. I wonder why province people always looking forward to go to Manila? Hmm. Pero di pa ko nakakapag travel ng malayo ate tapos mag isa. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha as in curiosity. Later on, I just went to Manila to process visa application in person.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hala ganahan lagi ko anang Burger Project sis, hehe Nagdako mi sa Manila,karon d.a nmi sa Leyte, ug ako papilion mas bet gihapon nako mag puyo sa cebu,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

O nagka modern naman pod ang Cebu so alternative jud sa Visayas area

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe ka pretty nimo sis uy! 😍❤ Ganahan sad ko makalaag anang Manila soon ay and guess what, I am also 24 now HAHAHAHAH

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha, pretty sauna. karon kay haggard na. bisitaa ang Intramuros Manila nice kaayo historical spots. hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sis , taga Cebu sad diay ka ? Sauna nindot jud paminawon ang lugar nga Manila, kay gani kung gikan ka sa Manila unya mooli kag province mura na sad kag gikan sa abroad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha o taga Cebu kaayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago