November 1st

22 29
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago

We all have different ways and traditions on how we celebrate Halloween. For some, they grew up dressing up on different costumes and going door to door in the neighborhood to do some trick or treat. Just like what we usually see on movies.

Opposite to it, that's not the culture I grew up with. November 1st is like a family day to us for all of us were gathered together, we cook and buy foods, the delicacies are always present, then at the afternoon, we'll go to the cemetery to visit my father's grave.

Photo from 2 years ago, ft. nephews and nieces

We'll go home when it's already dark, eat dinner, light up candles and enjoy the rest of the night. I also remember a memory during Halloween where me and my cousins will pull up some prank like putting a white sheet or white blanket over our head, bring a candle or a flashlight, then knock on the windows at the houses around the neighborhood trying to pretend like a white lady trying to scary. LOL


That's what we usually do, that's what we always do. I'm already so used to going to the cemetery ever since I was a kid. But for this year, cemetery has been closed that's why we weren't able to go but that's the only difference. Despite not being able to go, we were able to have some family day wherein all of us were able to relax and just enjoy with the simple foods we have and each other's company.

We had a nice breakfast together. My sister in law prepared grilled tilapia for breakfast. It was so good and I was so full. I use soy sauce with calamansi and chili for the sauce. Fish sauce would have been better but we don't have any. Still, it goes well with soy sauce.

Then they cooked caldereta for lunch and were once again so full. This is what I really missed going in there, just simple viands, simple meal, with a great company. Nothing grand but it was the best.

At noon time, I hang out with my cousins and I wasn't able to resist them when they asked for some treats. I don't have much money and they spend it all. LOL. We just bought some milktea, pizza (just the cheap one, still tastes good though), and puto (rice cake).

Then I lied down on my cousin's sofa, fall asleep there, I woke up 2hrs later and my family isn't home. They go to my aunt's house and they left me. That's what I get from sleeping. Haha

They cooked biko (another kind of rice cake) and macaroni soup for our merienda and that's what I eat after I wake up. I then go out again to hang out with my cousins. As night time approaches, we had a little drinking session. Just a bottle of brandy while we're having nice conversations about nonsense stuffs that we find funny.

The night's going smoothly, another cousin came with her girlfriend and they bough more drinks. That's when my cousins requested me to stay for the night but sadly, my sister didn't allowed me (bummer). There's still much work to do the next day (which is today) so I missed the fun.

At 8:30PM, we are back at home. Around 9PM, my cousin started a video call with me just to tease me for not being able to join them. LOL. It's fun watching them get wasted. Everyone's noisy and they all have stories to share. We talked for almost 2 hours until their done. Then they sent me a video of my other cousin who dived on the mud. Haha.

I was not able to join them but I'm glad I was able to join the fun through a video call.


My nephews at the cemetery 2 years ago

Before, we usually stay for 2-3days in there but the circumstances have changed now. We recently lost a loved one and as much as we wanted to stay, my sister will still have to fix some paperworks for the burial.

One day isn't enough to have fun and catch up but I'm still glad we were able to celebrate the All Saints Day together even a short period of time. Truly, a day doesn't have to be grand, there's no need for a nice place, no need for a lot of foods. Simple get together is enough as long as we are with the people that we want to be. Family will always be the best company for me.

I'm now looking forward for Christmas since that will be the next that we'll go home. Can't wait already! AAAAAAARRGH. hehe.


Anyways, this is it for now. My body is so tired right now. It's such a quick turn of events. From a relaxing halloween to getting back to the real world. I still have to catch up with my studies since I have been busy with the business for the past weeks. I really hope to stay at home and focus but my sister is asking me again to stay at store. Can't say no, we're understaffed and I'm the only one who knows how to run it well.

Apologies for my ramblings. I just like updating you guys even though you're not asking me. LOL

Thanks for reading this far. I hope you did enjoy the long weekend. Holliday is over, break is over. Back to work, back to studies but we got this. Fighting!

Article No. 153
Date: November 2, 2021
By: immaryandmerry
Daily blog, personal experiences.

9
$ 6.02
$ 5.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
+ 5
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago

Comments

While us, I mean ganyan din samin dati bata ako pa ako noon. Diko lang alam kelan nagsimula na mabago. I mean, wala ng handaan, just praying nalang tapos sisindi ng kandila. It's like a normal day nalang samin. Mahalaga naman inaalala namin sila. Pero yong sa inyo, ang saya din nyan ha lalo na marami kayo. Di dapat mga sad memories ang iniisip kundi ung mga happy memories with those who leaves early.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww. Samin kasi kahit walang sabi sabi basta automatic nag uuwian kami pag undas. Sayang nga 1 day lang kami ngayon. Sarap sana 3 days kami doon.

Namatayan kasi dito kaya di din nakapunta. Hays. Pero masaya pa din. Sana pasko na agad gusto ko na ulit umuwi haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kainggit naman samahan nyo sis,. Samin naman nagpa Misa lang kami kc bawal din sa cemetery ang dalaw, pero dun talaga ako na attract sa food,lalo na yung tilapia one of my favorite fish.hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Opo solid talaga yang mga kapatid at pinsan ko. Pero pag umuuwi nga mga kapatid ko sama sama, tapos ako tambay agad sa mga pinsan haha.

Sayang nga di nakapunta sa sementeryo. Picnic sana yun. And ang sarap ng tilapia! Favorite ko din yun e

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang saya ng bonding ninyo sis, sayang nga lang at dika nakasama sa pag inom. Natawa ako sa namudmod sa putik talaga hahhaha. Sa susunod mong bisita sa Pasko, uminom kana hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha oo. Ilalagay ko sana screenshot nung pagkasubsob niya e hahahaha. Hindi daw kasi siya weak, wag daw siya alalayan. Ayon, ilang steps palang nadapa na hahaha

Oks lang naman di nasama sa inuman, madalang din naman talaga ko mainom. Dun sa pagstay ako nanghihinayang e, nagtatampo nga sila nang iiwan daw ako haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahha wag alalayan pala ha. Natatawa parin ako sis jusko, weak naman pala sa inuman haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha may video nga yun e haha. Nag eenglish pa nga. I can take care of myself sabi. 🤣 tapos humiga pa nga yun sa tabi tabi hahaha.

Saka nakadami ata sila haha. Hanggang mp lang ako e hshsha nag beer at gin pa ata sila mga labis labis e pero dibale napakadalang lang naman mangyari nun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala kaaaa hahaha, same pala kami na nag eenglish pag natamaan sa alak hahhaa. Ayaw kong maalala yung sakin, ang weird kooo noon hahaha.

Atleast naransan din nilang maging wasted, sa Pasko ikaw nanaman haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha mga englishera naman pala pagka tinatamaan hahaha. Nagrereplay pa din sa utak ko yung diretso lakad niya tapos biglang pagtingin ko nasa sahig na haha

Ako na hindi pa naexperience maging wasted. Feeling strong e chour hahaha. Ako yung tagalinis ng lamesa saka mga hugasin after inuman tapos sila tulog na mga bas2s hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

dun talaga ako sa milktea nakafocus eh...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha mga yon e mukhang milktea pag uuwi ako haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are not used to do trick or treat when we were a kids too. Nov 1 and 2 was just an simple day aside from going to the cemetery and offer a lighted candles to the grave of our departed loved ones and cook kakanin in group as our bonding together with our neighbors. After ng munting salo salo tulugan time na. Pero matagal ko ng di nagagawa ang mga yun since tumira kami sa city.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww. But even the simplest thing we do is really worthwhile. Samin naman noon halos walang tulugan. Madalang kasi magkita kita kaya parang ayaw matapos ng araw.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ow nakakainggit naman, dito samin bawal pumunta semeneryo lalo na mga bata. Nakakagutom din mga pagkain Hays sana all ako October 31 palang naghihintay na may magbibigay ng biko kaso wala hahahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Hindi nga din kami nakapunta sa sementeryo, nagstay lang sa bahay. Yung pagiging sama sama naman mas mahalaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Harhar thats a lot of food. Made me want inihaw na tilapia and uy sarap mag kamay.

Ang kulit at ang saya naman nun mga pinsan mo ahhaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang sarap magkamay haha. Mas feel talaga yung pagkain pag nakakamay.

Nako ang kukulit. Ilalagay ko sana screenshot ng video call nung biglang nadapa habang naglalakad kaso wag nalang baka mawasak reputasyon niya chour haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang sarap ng mga pagkain sis. Ako di nakapag visit kasi di ako nakauwi sa probinsya namin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww buti malapit lang kami. Yung ang dalang ko makauwi kahit wala pang isang oras byahe haha. Ang sarap nila magluto sana all nalang haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Andaming mga pagkain pero yung milktea at biko talaga gusto ko 😂. Ako di pako nakavisit sa sementeryo. Sila lola ko lang pumunta non...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nako iisa isang ulam nga yon pero oks lang. Enjoy naman ako at masarap sila magluto hahahshs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago