Kuya tough love

24 34
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago

I remember fearing him when I was kid.

His voice screams authority, his commands are the law, what he says, I should do. That's how my young mind sees it back then.

I feel like washing the dishes is a punishment. I feel like sweeping the floor is a punishment. I feel that every household chores are punishments.

I feel like waking up so early in the morning to eat breakfast all together is a punishment. I feel like eating vegetables is a punishment. I feel like afternoon naps is a punishment.

Everything that he's making me to do, I feel like it's a punishment.


He always gets mad when I don't follow what he says and I always hear words from him whenever I am not doing what he tells me to do.

Even though I am obeying him, I feel like he's nagging at me whenever he speaks at me.

That's the reason why I have been so distant to him. I can't stand being near him, there is always a distance. I avoid sitting next to him on the dining table and I also avoid eye contact with him.

Hate is a very strong word and I don't hate him before, let's just say I'm not so fond of him... I can't stand him.

He's even way stricter than my brothers by blood. Way stricter than my mom and my sisters. Who is he to do that?


But later on, as I grow up, I started appreciating what he is doing to me, for me.

I appreciate that he taught me household chores so that when I am at someone's home, perhaps my friend's home, I know how to act well.

I appreciate that he cares for my health and well-being by forcing me to eat my vegetables and to sleep at noon.

I now understand that what he's telling me makes sense, those are words of wisdom, and it does not meant to hurt me, it is meant to teach me.


Being the youngest, I admit that I am kind of spoiled by my family. All of them are giving me a comfortable life. If not for my brother in law's iron hands, I won't be the person that I am right now.

He's the one who balanced my family's treatment to me therefore I can say that I am spoiled but I am never a brat.

Now that I am growing up, I started realizing and appreciating all those what seems like punishments for me before. All of those are for me, that's what my young mind fails to understand before.


My relationship with my brother in law is really unusual. I suppose not all brother and sister in law's relationship are not like this. That is why I am lucky to have him. By blood or by law, he is my brother.


Earlier, we went to the hospital to pay some bills and it feels nice to seat at the shotgun seat while he drives and we talk smoothly about random things that interests us both.

Gone is the distant me towards him. From being so distant, from being not able to stand him, I can now comfortably talk and stay close to him.

Actually, I already wrote an article about him before. I already wrote quite a few articles that he is involved. In fact, Ate @Jeaneth even have a nickname of him. "Kuya tough love" as she addressed him, just like the title of this article.

Going back, just what I told before that I will tell again this time, he will always be one of the best brothers that I will always have. And oh, his hands aren't made of iron right now. It feels like it is made of soft fabric, so soft and comfortable that you just know that he cares.


LOL. I suddenly thought of this while we were talking on our way home earlier. Awkward moments no more. The less than 1hr of travel only feels like 10 minutes. I didn't even noticed that we're already home.


Let's talk about you this time. Do you also have that kind of "tough love" on your family? Care to share at the comment section?


Thank you all for reading this far. Till next time! :)

Article No. 155 - October 26, 2021

10
$ 8.22
$ 7.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 4
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago

Comments

I remember my father way back then. He was so strict that I cant even invite my friend at our home but he's gone now. As I grow older I also start to realize the true meaning of why he's doing it.

Yours is unique. Most of the brother in laws didn't care much for his sister in laws. You're lucky!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am. He just cares so much to everyone. Our family, his family, and even to strangers. He's just like that and we're glad we have him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't think of any tough love. I am the tough one in our family hahaha and sadly, I lost my brother even before I got the chance to meet him. He sure is a loving brother to you. You two are both lucky, and your sister (his wife) too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aww sorry to hear that!

a disciplinarian in the family is much needed, I think. there has to be a tough one to balance all the love among family members. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ganyan talaga mga kuya but you'll surely appreciate that when you become an adult soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naaappreciate ko naman na siya ngayon saka bati na kami haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May special mention pala ako dito co-oc. Hehe. Kuya tough love talaga no. They let you learn in a hard way and that takes a lot of persistence and patience on your part rin 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ikaw may nickname nyan sakanya ih haha. Yup. One thing that I am proud of sa sarili ko, is that no matter how I think I was right, I never talked back sakanya. Bad yun e haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, andun yung respect eh. Even if you'll justify na you are just stating your points, they'll still find it disrespectful. Iba kase perspective ng respect before kesa sa generation natin today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganito din na feel ko kina Mommy noon ee pero now I know. They just want us to learn, yong way lang talaga nila is kala natin ay sobrang wagas na hindi naman pala. At ngayon lang tayo nalilinawan nong tumanda na at napag isip isip na ang mga bagay bagay talaga. Buti naman at no awkward moment na Marygoround, masayang gumalaw oag walang ilangan diba 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha. napapagsabihan pa din naman ako pero wala ng samaan ng loob. kahit nung bata din naman ako di naman ako madamdamin hahaha pero noon kasi di pa gates hahahhaha ngayon mej awks minsan pero di na malala. nakakabiruan at kakwentuhan ko na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are adequately honored to have that sort of a brother by marriage. It simply implies that he really focuses on you. He simply needed you to be dependable in numerous ways. hahaha ako kasi walang ganun eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha dati talaga di kami magkasundo nun. takot ako ih haha. kahit naman sa ibang brother in law and sisters in law ko, malalapit talaga kami. eto lang naiba kasi lagi ako napapagalitan nung bata ako haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have the best biological brother @immaryandmerry! He is a very generous and kind kuya to me. Im blessed that I have a brother like him. As for you, youre also blessed to have a kuya in law. It's good that even you are not biologically related but you two have created a bond. You just have another sibling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have 4 biological brothers and 2 brothers in law. But as I've said, by blood or by law, all are brothers. And I'm close to all of them. :)

Your kuya seems to be nice. Kuya's are just the best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ewan pero my greatest enemy is my kuya eh, simula bata until now magka away parin HAHAHHA Kahit ngayon nga na may family na siya, pag bumisita siya sa bahay inaaway ko eh HAHHHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ikaw naman pala nangaaway 🤣 Ganyan din kami nung kuya ko na sinundan ko hshahaha pero bati na kami ngayon. Nung bata ako ah nagliliparan mga gamit namin sa bahay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ako nga inuntog ulo ko HAHAHHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

e malala din hahaha ako naman hinampas nung maliit na upuan na pladtic, ayon wasak wasak hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are blessed enough to have that kind of a brother in law. It just means that he cares for you. He just wanted you to be responsible in many ways.. You are loved dear, that is all that really matters. 😊 God bless you dear. 💕

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi. I notice that my reply to your comment is marked as spam. I'm just wondering, maybe you accidentally tap the spam on the right side of my comment on your notification.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am. Very lucky to have a close knitted family. I am also very close to my other bros and sis in laws, as well as to their families. We consider everyone as family so we have a very huge family, super extended. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, akala ko kuya mo talaga, brother in law mo pala. Asawa sya NG eldest nyo na ate?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not the eldest hehe. May 2 sisters ako, yung pangalawa na sister. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago