The past made me stronger.

16 46
Avatar for heartbeat1515
2 years ago
Topics: Story, Thought, Writing, Blogging, Blog, ...

It was a memory that I never forget until now. I was 16 and that evening was a sports day at my secondary school. I was having so much fun when my parents suddenly came early to bring me home. They told me that we need to move out of our house.

Almost half of the things inside the house are packed and put inside a lorry. The rain starts falling a few minutes later. My uncle took over the house. He took over my childhood and we are forced to move out to my other uncle's house. Our house is then packed into a room.

My family had been living there for years. My parents had needed to take care of my grandparents since I can remember. Why is it that they do not have the right to get just a piece of that land where they build the house?

My uncle came just like that and chase us all out. It was almost his pension day and he do not have a house to live in.

I found out the reason recently. They said it because my mother want to chase my rude cousin out of the house after she completed her Sunday class. If I am not mistaken, my mother did all the work to make sure she completed her class.

My grandmother once said, "Are my children not coming home to see me? Are they waiting for my death before they come to visit?"

She is right. I only knew that I got a big family on the day of the burial. After that, everyone is gone.

She also said," Take care of your parents no matter how they behave because whatever happens, they will still be your parents."

It looks like my grandmother already knows what is going to happen and preparing me for it. She is the one person that I cannot forget and wish that she is still alive to take care of me.

I hated my uncle since the day he chases us out of my childhood home. I hated him so much that I do not want to see his face for the rest of my life.

My husband gave me the strength to forgive him. You cannot live with hatred for too long he said. It will ruin you. It will destroy the kind woman I married.

He didn't say it in arrangeable sentences but that is my understanding of his words.

It's time to rest.

I have done my part for the moment from memories. Now, is the time for me to build my future as the stepping stone for my daughter. I hope that I will not repeat the same misery I felt to her.

I am grateful for my past.

That past made me a strong woman. The present made me realize that I do not need to hang on to the word family which is related by blood. A family does not have to be related by blood. It is a group of people that can live together and compromise. Respectful of each other privacy and personal space.

Life is hard but it does not mean that the difficulty will prevent me to have a decent one. I am not the only one having the worst, there might be someone else having a worse fate but living better than me. If they can be better, why can't I?

That is what I often tell myself.

9
$ 19.69
$ 19.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Ellawrites
$ 0.03 from @foryoubtc09
+ 2
Avatar for heartbeat1515
2 years ago
Topics: Story, Thought, Writing, Blogging, Blog, ...

Comments

Having a family is important, but on the condition of being in a family that is not separated from each other and supports each other all the time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree it is important. I have a small group of people that I can trust with my life. They are the ones I consider as families. Blood-related only is not enough for me to call someone a family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a sad part when you have so-called "family" when in fact they don't act one. Other people are more like a family than our own family and relative.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perhaps they have their difficulties that I do not acknowledge. This is my part of the stories but I do not know theirs. I am blessed with a lot of great friends, a wonderful daughter and a caring husband.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know why some children won't visit or provide for their parents when they are still alive. But when they die, they will go home to spend a lot during the burial.

It's great that you have forgiven your uncle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most of the relatives that I know will only be there for the inheritance. They even fought for it. That is what happens to my parents. I am not sure of their story but I don't like it when they fight for things that they can share or divide equally.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why does your parents didn't get a piece of land for abode purposes? I have learn before that we should visit our grandparents while they are still alive. I'm so sad before that I've visited my grandparents when they are in burial.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perhaps they thought tht they will inherit the land because they build the house. The one mistake is my grandparents did not handle their will before death. I wonder if my aunt and uncle have missed my grandparents. They did cry a lot during the funeral.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh, meaning to say they're assuming that they'll be inherited. But wasn't, it's really hard. Yes, that's a mistake and they didn't mean to do that. Maam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish they never build a house on land that does not yet have their name written on it but then that is all the past. Now they have a house and I hope they can live peacefully with no disturbance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are a strong woman. For you to go through all of that as a young child and still come out of it. I have great respect for you. Truly it is good to forgive and not live with hate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learn that forgiveness is not that easy. Thank you. I am not that great to be respected because though I forgive I don't wish to have any relationship with them. I just want to avoid being in trouble again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My past also made me more stronger now, because of it I felt like I can face the circumstances that coming in an easy way..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good for us. Bad memories are not always bad because it is somewhat lead us to better decisions in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those words your hubby said to you keeps ringing on in my heart "you cannot live with hatred for too long, it'll ruin you." It's hard though, I love your definition of family, yes they don't compromise. I'm glad you finally forgave your uncle for the wrongs he did to you when you were 16, but it's really hard to forgive a person, especially when one is still living with the person and the person still keeps repeating the same mistakes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It took me 9 years to start forgiving. I realize that it is not only his mistake that causes us to be separated but also my parent's fault. They failed to discuss a good solution as adults. I'm not seeing my uncle until now but I think my parents and younger sister are talking to him again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago