Typical Filipino Family

28 37
Avatar for gwapojohn
2 years ago

Today, my aunt from Manila has completed her 10-day quarantine. Meaning, she is now allowed to go home from the quarantine facility. My mom, including my other aunties are too excited for her to come out. Every afternoon, they would go there outside the quarantine facility just to see my aunt from Manila and to have a little chit chat with her despite the 6-meter distance. You won't believe my mom and my other aunties do that during the 1st day of quarantine up to now. Well, I feel like it's normal to act that way when you haven't seen someone especially a family member for such a long time.

This aunt of mine has been living in Manila for almost 20 years. She lived there with her son after she and her husband separated. Why? It's because her husband was caught having an affair. They almost had everything. Wealth, prosperous business, and a perfect life but all came down when her husband spent their money on numerous girls without my aunt's knowledge. Little did he know that their savings was completely at its lowest. Of course, when my aunt found out, she did not hesitated to separate with him. Well, who would not?

Alright, so going back, my family has been so excited for my aunt to finish her quarantine. During the first day when the van arrived, my little brother almost went near to my aunt and my aunt hand some chocolates to my cousins as well. Oh dear, they're not supposed to get close to her. Luckily the guard did not see them or else all of us will be quarantined. That's not the first time. During the second day, my cousins again who are still kids went near to my aunt just to ask for 20 peso bill. Glad that the oldies have seen them and immediately called them.

My mom and my aunties as well are too excited for the 'pasalubong'. Pasalubong are the goodies, biscuits, things, clothes and other things that will be given away when my aunt comes home. As for the kids, they are so excited for the chocolates and 20 peso bill. For the oldies, my aunties, they are excited for the pots, clothes, bags, and other kitchen utensil that my aunt from Manila brought.

I don't know why they are like that when my aunt just came home from Manila, not from abroad. Fortunately my aunt was able to save from there because she has a store and a little business. Because of that, she was able to give what the family has expected.

This afternoon, my aunt was already out and just like the common Filipino scene when there is someone who arrives, everyone gathered around and wait for the 'pasalubong' to be given. Of course, there's a big box containing everything. In every thing that will be taken from there, someone in the family wishes to own it. It's cute and funny right? What a typical Filipino family.

I was not able to take pics so just imagine this is one big box lol

My aunt also took jeans, ripped jeans to be exact and all the girls in the family are waiting for it. Each one of them wears it and whoever fits the size would get the jeans. One of my aunties forcefully wear it but she was not successful. It doesn't really fit to her. Can you picture out the scene?

After the giving of 'pasalubong', everybody eats dinner. The dinner was like fiesta. Exchanges of conversation went on and the voices are too loud as if they're talking so far from each other. My mom teases my aunt from Manila that her ex-husband awaits her too and would like to join the dinner. My aunt just laughed.

Inspirational photo only as I forgot to take pics

Of course, a celebration would not be possible without a beer. We drink some and continue the conversation. We had a great time, honestly. Sometimes I thought that our family went way too much for asking something to my aunt but then I realized that it's very common for us, Filipinos to share what we have to our family. Even if sometimes, there's nothing or very little left in us. Without these traits, we are incomplete as Filipinos.

I am proud and happy to be part of the Filipino family.

How about you there pips, what is a typical Filipino family for you?



Hello everyone! If you have some useful tips or guide which can help me improve, you can let me know in the comment section. I may not know all about you now but I am eager to know you deeper. I will work hard so I can be like the amazing writers here. I have talked to some people and they are all amazing.

Sponsors of gwapojohn
empty
empty
empty

Thank you so much for reading! Comments are very much appreciated. Same appreciation goes to my upvoters and kind sponsors. Again, this is gwapojohn at your service. πŸ˜‰ Let's get connected!

Lead image edited through Canva

Images are from Unsplash.com

|08252021|

@gwapojohn

10
$ 6.16
$ 5.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 4
Sponsors of gwapojohn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gwapojohn
2 years ago

Comments

Sabi ng kasambahay namin ganun daw talaga sa probinsya. Siya kapag uuwi sa kanila ang dami bibilhin mga pasalubong sa kamag-anak tapos pati biscuit na malatimba sa dami ang bibilhin niya para naman daw sa kapitbahay. Sabi ko bakit? Kasi daw mga kapitbahay kapag nalaman na may umuwi galing Manila ay pupunta doon tapos makikikain. Usually daw biscuit nga pinapamerienda at may kasama pa dapat na pantulak. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

pasalubong ang hindi pwede kalimutan sa lahat ng lakadπŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Korek. Hahaha! Alam mo naman mga Pinoy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seems like your aunt was from abroad. This is the usual scene when you have a family or relatives from abroad :D And we too like to gather, I think this is common to us Filipino.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, parang nasa abroad eh sa Manila lang naman galing 🀐😁 totoo, pamilyang pinoy talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ours is basically the same with yours, more often than not the pasalubong will always be a cake, pizza or Jollibee. I hope that for Christmas, restrictions will be lifted and there's no more pandemic probems. I miss seeing relatives already.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh so yung pasalubong is mga pagkain. Wow naman nagutom tuloy ako. Me too, I also hope that restrictions will be lifted so that my other aunties would come to celebrate as well. And I wish you can see your relatives soon. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love to learn how a typical Filipino family is. And I've learned a new word pasalubong. Here my family what loves is to eat. When we gather together there is always a lot of food. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks! I feel delighted. Yeah, pasalubong. Do you also have that during family gatherings? Definitely. Food would bring us very much closer. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We do it sometimes but mainly for the kids.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ow I see. In here even the oldies are excited for it 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganyan din kami sa bahay ,pag umuwi kami sa parents ko ,pumupunta talaga mga auntie ko kahit pagkain lang pasalubong naminπŸ˜…tapos chika agadπŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Typical na Filipino gathering talaga eh no. Tsaka mabuti yan, masaya lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is the reason why you need to prepare lots of pasalubong when you are going to relatives. It is expected.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ay totoo po, Ms. Grecy. Ang pasalubong kasi nakasanayan na ng Pinoy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After that dinner, I'm sure an aunt would never fail to bring leftovers at home.πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, for the dogs and cats, the big ones. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And the pigs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wamay pigs kay mga niwang man

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aw gamay rag gikuha nga leftovers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha di jd kay left-over nag lain daan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Food and more food😁 In our fam, we don't expect pasalubong and even when someone comes with a box, we won't mind it, lol! Kidding aside, our gathering is more on food. Pasalubongs come last kung meron man.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah food is life pag may gathering talaga. Mabuti naman kung ganon, ako rin di ako masyado masaya dyan sa pasalubong kasi minsan pinagsisimulan yan ng away. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth! Haha, grabe naman kung pag-awayan pa ang pasalubong :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga po. Alam mo na pag pareho ang gusto tapos isa lang meron. Magkakatampuan pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well sabagay nga naman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love family reunions. And bringing gifts to my little nieces and nephews. That's the charm of being an aunt.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow, you are such a thoughtful aunt, ma'am. I am sure you nephews/nieces would always look for you during family reunions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago