Santa is Coming

30 56
Avatar for gwapojohn
2 years ago

Santa is coming!

Ber months are here! This is the starting point of the most awaited holiday for us, Filipinos. As early as September, we anticipate that this is going to be the start of the celebration for Christmas. Truly, Christmas is in our hearts. And asking for gifts/pamasko to our uncles and aunts are one of the things I am excited for. Why not?

There's a a funny meme showing the photo of Jose Mari Chan, a famous Filipino singer who is known for his Christmas songs. He was there in the meme to remind us that it's already September and he's here, ready to sing Christmas Carol.

The meme:

Jose Mari Chan having a warm up before singing Chrismas songs early in September 😁

Oh, how I love to hear his songs especially the one in Shopee. Lol.

My mom would spank me again if I order here because she knows I will order motorbike parts and accessories. She asked me earlier to order curtains which I refused because she's letting me pay for it. What would I do with curtains? She will be the one who's going to be happy about it. Does your mom love curtains too?

Going back, the month of September has always been the month when we are starting to count the days before Christmas. I don't know why, when and how it started but we just do it this way. Some of the families would put up Christmas trees and other Christmas decorations. Christmas light also can be seen inside and outside the homes. Stars and lanterns are also hanged everywhere. Even the less-privileged families find ways in order to buy a simple Christmas ornament.

I also love to hear Christmas songs early in the morning which happened to be my alarm clock when face to face classes are going on. Our neighbor used to play Christmas songs every morning I think as early as 6 AM. If those were not Christmas songs, I am sure other neighbors would get angry and reported them already. But nah, they don't do that. Christmas songs really have their calming factor which make us enjoy listening to it and feeling every line of it. Just like the song of Jose Mari Chan I attached above entitled 'Christmas in our Hearts". You can go back and play it so you will have to read this article with song's harmony. Just kidding!

It seems like I don't get fed up with these kind of songs. As of now, I recount the moments I missed during Christmas.

What did I miss during Christmas?

  • The exchanging gifts with classmates

When f2f classes were still going on, exchanging gifts with classmates during Christmas party can never be forgotten. Our teacher let us pick a paper with a name on it and we must not show it to everyone because the receiver of the gift must not know for it's a surprise. Of course we were curious about who got our names so we asked each one in the class. Some will say it and some will not. I remember my classmate, a girl, her name is the one I got. Our teacher told us to give something that we think our classmates need or want. That girl is so self-conscious and she wants to smell good all the time and so I gave her papaya soap, toothpaste, toothbrush, deodorant and cologne. When she opened it, she cried which I got me confused. I asked my classmates and they told me maybe she got offended. Really? Why? I don't really get it. Do you not want that girls?

But regardless of what had happened, I was still happy because I received a pair of slippers that time. The slippers don't fit me because it's too big so I sold it to my mom. I used my earnings and bought fire crackers.

  • Santa's gifts placed in the socks we hanged outside the house

When I was young, my mom would always place a sock outside the house or outside the window. She told me that Santa will pass by it and place my gift. Little did I know that it was my mom and dad who will place the gift and not Santa. But I was just a kid then and to be honest, I was genuinely happy when I got what's inside the sock the next morning.

  • The Christmas breeze

I don't know if I am using the right term but what I mean is the coldness of the weather during Christmas nights. I can totally feel that Christmas is coming when the nights are cold already just like tonight. I think the coldness of the night is associated with Christmas already. We wear jackets and thick clothing during that time which made us look so Christmas-y. (Lol, sorry making such term).

  • Families from faraway come home to celebrate

This is my most favorite part since I know I will receive gifts from the distant families. 😁 Mostly, my aunties and uncles gave me a pair of shoes, watch and sometimes cash. I will also see my cousins I haven't seen for so long. Of course when the family is complete, yummy foods will not be absent. I love to eat macaroni salad and ham during Christmas. How about you?

These are just some of the things I miss and I will be writing another one for tomorrow because I am so sleepy as of the moment. I don't have enough energy to make this long. I forgot to drink milo.



Sponsors of gwapojohn
empty
empty
empty

Hello everyone! If you have some useful tips or guide which can help me improve, you can let me know in the comment section. I may not know all about you now but I am eager to know you deeper. I will work hard so I can be like the amazing writers here. I have talked to some people and they are all amazing.

A big thanks to madam @Bloghound for she renewed her sponsorship to me. Thank you trusting my work.

Thank you so much for reading! Comments are very much appreciated. Same appreciation goes to my upvoters and kind sponsors. Again, this is gwapojohn at your service. 😉 Let's get connected!

Lead and concluding images are from Unsplash.com

The rest of the photos are from my phone screenshot album

|09072021|

@gwapojohn

14
$ 6.69
$ 5.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 5
Sponsors of gwapojohn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gwapojohn
2 years ago

Comments

Never nagkaron ng gift yung Christmas stockings namin. 😔 it depends sa tao siguro. Ako matutuwa ako kung bibigyan ako mga toiletries kasi makakatipid ako. Feeling ko maooffend ka lang naman kung feeling mo sa sarili mo mabaho ka or mabaho hininga mo. Pero kasi meron naman nga din talaga na yun ang ireregalo sa tao lalo na nga naman kung may body odor ka or bad breath. Kasi ang hirap sabihin sa mismong tao yun na may amoy ka lalo kung bad breath. May workmate kami dati wala makapagsabi sa kanya na amoy putok siya. As in ang lakas talaga ng amoy. Naiiwan kung saan siya magpunta. Pero wala nagsasabi kasi nakakahiya. Meron mga nagpaplano regaluhan siya tawas kaso nahihiya.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yun na nga eh tayo ang naproproblema sa baho ng iba hahaha! Ewan ko ba dun sa kanya. Maarte naman sya kaya bagay lang sa knya pang linis sa katawan di ba

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korak. Tayo namroblema sa bango nila. Pero bakit kaya hindi nawawala sa kanila yung amoy? Meron p ako isang workmate nun lalaki naman. Malaking mama. Grabe ang lakas din ng amoy. Tapos nung nakapansin siya nagpapabango. Mas masakit ang amoy nung pinaghalong pabango at putok 🤢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha ewan ko ba bat di nawawala at tsaka ewan ko rin kung bakit di nila namamalayan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hula namin ng isang workmate ko ay baka hindi nila naaamoy sarili nila. Kasi yung isa na may amoy, nagtanong siya talaga doon sa katrabaho namin. Kaya baka nga hindi nila naaamoy sarili nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha ewan ko ba bat di nawawala at tsaka ewan ko rin kung bakit di nila namamalayan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lahinra gyud ang pasko sauna ug karun. Super enjoy man tung sauna uy. Labi na tung manaygon unya ug naay iro mainiyahay ug dagan.hahaha Hayyyssss! I missed those days.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hala aw o diay nakalimtan ang panaygon bitaw mao na usa sa makamingaw unta lage mawa na ning covid oy samok

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di talaga mawawala si jose marichan pag bermonths whahahah nag wawarm up na

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo eh hahaha feel ko kulang rin ang pasko pag wala yung mga kanta nya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maligayang Pasko, kuya John!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maligayang pasko rin po, madam Bloghound. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you din po, kuya john

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am excited to see a happy and pandemic - free Christmas this December. We badly want to be with our relatives for a long time. May panregalo ka na pala na kurtina sa mama mo ngayong Pasko! 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's what I wish for as well. A pandemic free Christmas. Kahit wala ng gifts basta wala ng covid. Hehe! Naku marami na kaming kurtina gusto nya lang talaga ng iba.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakamiss naman ang Christmas party sa school hehe, yung exchange gift pero mas mahal yung bigay nila sa regalo mo whahaha. Or vice versa, mas mahal yung regalo mo sa kabila. na miss ko nanaman barkada kong mahilig mag-plano ng Xmas party hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha totoo. Kung di papalarin ang makukuha mo pa ay pera at ikaw nalang bibili kasi tamad mag isip yung ka exchange gift mo. Haha! Kakamiss talaga. Sana mawala na ang pandemic nato para ma celebrate natin ng bongga ang pasko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope we could celebrate Christmas as we use to do before pandemic... Anyways... Stay Safe and be blessed 💞

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is what I hope for because I miss how we celebrated Christmas before the pandemic. You too, brother. Stay safe and be blessed always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nganu nakahindumdom na nuon ko sa ahu nadawat nga stick-o pag Christmas Party sa center. Hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha bintaha kung mahalon ag brand

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagsge rasad kog kanta while gabasa ay hahaha. Nakaka excite manghingi ng pamasko haha . Di ko masyado na miss ying exchanging of gifts kasi nung College ako , instead na gift ma receive ko , yung amount ng gift na dapat ibili ang binibigay huhu

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ouch. Tapulan sie pod ang imong ka exchange gift. Haha! Kaajo, naa paba kahay mohatag natog pamasko ron. Basin kita nay pangajoan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako namay pangayuan karun uy haha paits

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is very exciting to breathe the Christmas air. I get a chuckle every time you claim your mommy gave you a few punches. Be good to her curtains and you won't get beaten up anymore my boy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, Christmas season is something we are always excited about. Yeah, she wants me to buy curtains for her and I said nah, she's the one who has the money. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buy that curtains for your mom na as your early presents for her :D

Christmas spirit's in the air and as for the breeze, we're experiencing it already here. Ham and salads are some of the favorites indeed. Last year, the farm boy and I received sets of sleepwear and chocolates :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We have a lot of curtains already. I don't understand why she wants to buy more when the rest are not in use. Mothers. Wow! Sleepwear and chocolates are nice gifts to receive. Well, I do hope you will have more this time. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, your mom's collecting curtains then :D I don't really expect gifts, but happy to receive them :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I don't why she's collecting curtains 🤔 haha I don't expect gifts too kase malaki na ako baka di na ko bigyan pero pag meron, gora hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago