December is not December anymore

18 51
Avatar for gwapojohn
2 years ago
This is me when I am still sleeping early. Lol kidding

I am glad cold nights are felt this December. These past few months are hell for me, I mean I was restless because of too much warmth. It's December, right? Hmm yes it is December and it's cold and the spirit of Christmas makes it even colder. I guess I should wear my sweaters, eh?

Honestly, this December does not feel like December. It seems like it's just an ordinary month that will pass by. There's no excitement anymore that even playing of Christmas songs is not heard. Unlike before even it is still October, the spirit of Christmas is already alive. Haven't we forgotten about our Almighty's birthday? Or perhaps the pandemic erased our excitement about Christmas. Well, I can't blame everyone since this time is really trying, testing us. But I do hope that these reasons are not enough for us to forget Christmas. Or should I say there will be no reason for us to forget Christmas.

It is true that most of us are busy hustling to make a living. Our efforts are now doubled when pandemic came because we don't want to be kicked out from work. Others also double the effort to find a job immediately and those who are at home are busy about something to earn with like doing online selling and other work from home settings. As time goes by, we became busier that we did not notice that it's already December and when December came, we don't feel it as we did before.

So let's just reminisce those good old days when December is very much awaited and fun.

When I was still a kid, the month of October is considered as the sign for nearly coming Christmas. I can still remember our neighbor who used to play Christmas songs as early as 5 AM everyday. Yes, she played it everyday from October until December that it served as my alarm clock. Even though she played those Christmas songs on repeat and loud, no one complained because those songs radiate calmness and they satisfy our souls with the essence of Christmas. The children also gathered on the streets at night to light some firecrakers and the famous 'Picollo' that will ignite and produce a loud blast. My mom did not allow me to try lighting a firecraker before so I would sneak out and go to my friend's house and there I was free and wild with the firecrakers. Little did I know that my mom was there too.

I also love to watch the different Christmas lights outside the neighborhood. It is a joy for me seeing the lights on and off with a rhythm. But nothing compared to the carolings we did before with my classmates. Ugh, I miss Christmas carols every night. There were nights that we were chased by dogs and of the house owners because we would throw stones on their roof when they refuse to give us coins. Lol.

But today it's different. There are no Christmas carols nor Christmas songs. There are also few homes who have Christmas lightings outside or any decoration. Children are no longer seen outside playing. What a sad Christmas. I wish we had a reset of everything or a fast forward so time will run fast and this pandemic will be over. Or maybe a rewind button so we can go back to the days when we are genuinely happy. I am sure you all missed laughing out of your heart's content.

Anyway, it's about to rain in our place and it's getting colder. Got to prepare something hot aside from me. Hahaha!

May we all have a great Sunday.



Sponsors of gwapojohn
empty
empty
empty

Thank you so much for reading! Comments are very much appreciated. Same appreciation goes to my upvoters and new sponsors. Again, this is gwapojohn at your service. 😉 Let's get connected!

|12052021|

@gwapojohn

14
$ 6.77
$ 6.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 7
Sponsors of gwapojohn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gwapojohn
2 years ago

Comments

Over the years, I've become cynical about holidays wherein we are all for the commercialization of it. Do we celebrate the true meaning of Christmas or is it the festivities that come along with it? We stress ourselves about gifts, decorations and food. However, I do believe that we are all in for the happiness that we feel whether materially or not.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Importante ay mahalaga hahahaha✌. Seriously, yung laki ng pinagkaiba but the important is celebrating it with our love ones.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We can still be genuinely happy kahit hindi na ganon kabongga ang pasko :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

To be honest after last year, this year does feel more like Christmas. the shops are busy and lights are set up in town, hope you enjoy it John!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mas better na sa akoa ang Christmas run kaysa last year kay perti jud ka mingaw hahaha. Bintja nalang run drea sa amoa kay naa nay pasiaw gamay 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Relate ko ani. Lahi ra gayud sauna John. Daghan na kaayo mga Christmas lights sa mga balay then naa pay mga suruyanan sa amu barrio na kadaghan sang Christmas lights.

Every morning makabati sad ko mga Christmas songs. Ma feel gayud nimu na Christmas na. Karun lahi ra kaayo murag dili nimu ma feel ang Christmas.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes lahi ra gyud kaaju ang before and now hehehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Way amards

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha sanaol hot

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha and spicy 😂 rawr

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember as well last September 2019, when I am about to wait a van transpo. at exactly 4:00 am , I already heard a christmas songs that will definitely mind me that Christmas is coming and feel the love that early time as well. Christmas is fast approaching🥰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, Christmas before can be felt as early as October or September. And now it is just around the corner. I wish Christmas would be the same as before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not playing any Christmas songs, I don't feel like singing along. Actually my motivation songs are old Christmas songs, but right now BTS songs motivate me more. I don't know what happened to me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

See? That's one proof that December is not the same as before. Even me, I don't play Christmas songs or heard them. Why not BTS, right? They are great performers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The feeling is mutual kuya😌, yan rin yung narealize ko kaunti nalang talaga yung nagdedecorate ng mga christmas decors and lights dito samin even christmas songs wala na masyadong nagpapatugtog dito. Pero ang mga bata dire way undang pamasko mskang gaulan hala birit makabungol na kay balikbalik ang kanta haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mao ba? Nindot kay naa pa gihapon mamasko dihaa no? Diri kay wana jod tawon. Murag mauwaw nag mga bata diri mamasko sani ba

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, may mga nabawas siguro sa mga nakasanayan natun every Christmas, pero nandyan pa din ang spirit ng Pasko, kasi Christ is the reason for this season ika nga. Sa amin din, wala nan mga nangangaroling. Pero may mga nagpapatugtog pa din ng mga Christmas songs, kahit sa work tsaka sa kapitbahay. Advance Merry Christmas!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! I am happy kasi spirit of Christmas is felt there in your place sana all.hehe! And yes, Christ is the reason of the season. Oks lang naman kahit wala na masyadong arte importante naalala natin Siya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago