What comes out of our mouths.

32 68
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

We as human beings are very complex, we are people who are made to live in communities, to live in groups, to live in pairs. But when it comes to communicating with people we don't seem to try to do it in the best way.

Sometimes it is easier to keep quiet and say nothing and sometimes it is easier not to say thank you, or not to be polite or to have no values or education.

Many of the people we communicate with don't know us, we have no obligation to be nice to them. "I'm in a place where no one seems to like me and that's when I delight in bringing out my hostile personality."

No one forces us to be nice people, no one forces us to be people with values, integrity, uprightness, but we do all this because we feel good about ourselves doing it.

When none of this gives us pleasure then we feel no obligation to anyone or to ourselves to be happy and it seems that antisocial behavior prevails not to make us better people but to undermine our own soul.

Having said that, I want to bring up something I read today about an anecdote of the Greek philosopher Socrates, this refers to the three filters of Socrates.

Photograph of my property

It happens that one fine day apparently a friend, or an acquaintance, or an emissary, messenger, came to him and told him that he has something to communicate to him about a friend of his.

I really have no proof that this really happened to Socrates, but I don't doubt it either, it’s easy for me to recognize that people who are busy with important things in their lives are not interested in hearing stories that have no relevance to human beings.

When Socrates' interlocutor said to him that he had something to tell him, Socrates said “Wait. I'm just telling you that if you pass these three filters then you can tell me what you have come here to say”

"First, have you ascertained that what you come to tell me about my friend is true?"

To which the interlocutor responds…

"No, I am not certain that what I have come to tell you is really true, I have not had the time to verify this information."

"Well, you haven't passed the first filter. Let's see if you can pass the second...

"What you've come to tell me about my friend is really a good story?

To which he says...

"No, it’s nothing that is good to hear about a person."

“Well” said Socrates. "What you came to tell me about my friend is neither true, nor is it good. Let's see if you can pass the third filter.”

“Is what you come to tell me useful in any way?"

"Neither, what I come to tell you about your friend is of no use to your friend or to anyone else."

So then Socrates pauses for a moment and looks at him.

"If what you come to tell me is something that is not true, is not useful, nor is it good for anything, what are you coming to tell me? Since you have not passed any of the three filters, I ask you not to tell me anything".

It’s this what deeply caught my attention, because sometimes we lose our north and we give information that somehow doesn’t comply with the three filters of Socrates, but since we have nothing else to do, we prefer to talk about other people's things that are of no benefit to anyone.

Don't waste your time or mine or the time of others by talking about things that you can't highlight later. What is said remains spoken and can damage someone's reputation and by the time you can prove it as something that is not true, the person will already be slandered and subjected to scorn without the need for it.

Let us watch what comes out of our mouth because it’s more important than what goes into it and it will cost us more to clean our soul with the impurities with which we are feeding it.

Thank you friends, for always reading my posts as always. I thank you all and my kind sponsors from the bottom of my heart.

22
$ 12.25
$ 11.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 16
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

We really need to be eaxtra careful in everything we say. Those three filters is a nice way to find out if what we are about to say or hear is worth it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Generally, when we are not busy, we are prone to speak lies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People do love to gossip especially when the topic is hot and something sensitive, especially in a small community. A problem on spreading gossip is that the information is getting filtered and changed to the point that it's is very different from the true story. So she the gossip was passed to you, it's your responsibility to choose if you'll going to share it to. If it's helpful then do it. Gertu it's just amazing that today's November 4 we have almost the same topic we published

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes. I realized that we had synchronized our thoughts. It's not by chance. There are just these things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our behaviors towards others matters a lot cos if we don't bridle our tongues, it might cause a heavy damage to others and create enimity with other people

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it is true what you say. And after you damage someone's reputation how do you fix it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true what you said. It's better to stay keep quiet if we don't have the ability to praise others. Many people get easily jealous and they start defaming them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right, envy is a terrible scourge that consumes people's souls.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Today, many find it difficult to speak of others correctly. The most classic thing is to defame others and talk about nonsense or invent stories. This is very harmful to that person and more so for you. I try to avoid these types of conversations that lead to nothing and only destroy you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is what Socrates advises us and I agree. Save us those words that do us no good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ma'am you're right. We shouldn't talk somewhat others life to the others. You can give a bad image to the others. We should be careful or we should avoided with this kind of behavior.

It doesn't help but it will worsen the situation. Zip our mouth. Just learn how to respect someone else's life. Be a good individual anytime, anywhere.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is difficult but we can learn to do it. Because after defaming, it is impossible to make amends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ma'am I agree to you. It's really hard and it's depend of a person. They should know what are the dos' and donts'....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If we really have nothing to say it's better to remain silent.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Is true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We need to tame our mouth and know what comes out of it,we shouldn't just say anything that comes from our mouth.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sometimes reflection is not part of our habit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is indeed very true. We go about talking about another person's bad sides which isn't relevant to us instead we should be careful and to mind our business. I was in this situation before until I decided I need to mind my business. If we can't talk good sides of the person in his or her absence, then we should not tarnish such person's image in their absence.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Totally agree. Better to be silent than a liar.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I often stay mum, unless I am provoked, lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is better to remain silent than to slander.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's the best thing to do :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you sister. Many people thrive on slandering and meddling in other people's lives. Very good reflection.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thanks sister.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm one of those who thinks that if there is nothing good to say, it is better to remain silent.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is the best. They say that we look prettier when we are quiet. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true my friend, lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What comes from our mouth also defines our character.. not 100% but it does... Instead of commenting on things and people that aren't our business. We better build a good character of ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, what we say condemns us, but what we keep silent does not affect us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A worrisome mind can't get things done do we have yo clear our mind so as to get things done.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago