The love of my life.

46 78
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Memories have become my yearnings. I look in the mirror and see a sign that I am not so young anymore, my body is now a little heavier. I keep my body in shape though. I was always a lover of walking and a good healthy way of eating, I have marks on my skin, a sign in my eyes and on the corner of my lips that tell me I am no longer 20 years old.

It all happened so fast... or so it seems to me. 30 years can't go by that fast, or can they?

I am 20 years old. I have the best job in the world, an apartment in the best part of town and I am considered a very bold woman in the company. I am being sent as a representative of my company to a new city, about an 8 hour flight away, I am to spend about 6 months there, I have to train new staff to start a branch of the same company I am in.

From unsplash

I say goodbye for 6 months to my favorite city and then I arrive in this beautiful one. It’s a little slower than what I’m used to, but with beautiful people. There I met him, he was standing next to a group of people coming from another city to present other ideas to the same company and so I was introduced and his eyes met mine.

Something happened right then, even though I am very independent I felt like a stranger in the city, I must say that accidentally meeting him on several occasions made us strike up a conversation and then we made an appointment to meet at lunchtime and so on…

What was bound to happen happened, we fell in love. We went out to the movies, out to dinner, shared a lot with friends, but we became sweethearts. I loved him.

He carried himself with a strong bearing, white skin and hair like the sun, his green eyes and moustache were a little darker than his hair and he was very gentle and funny. He practiced soccer with his friends and had friendly competitions, so his body was that of an exercised man, but he had to go on a trip to another city and I was left alone again… It would be for a month and then he would come back.

I waited for him to come back in a month, but I agreed to go out with other people. I was a woman with many attributes, God spared no effort with me and gentlemen always approached me with a lot of willingness. I always accepted outings but in groups of friends and even then gentlemen did not hesitate to ask for my exclusive company, which I refused. I already had someone to think about.

But when the time came for him to return, Esteban came back but did not look for me, I saw him in the distance, once he approached me. I waited for his affectionate greeting but his words were cold.

"I heard that you have had a lot of fun in my absence" and I only managed to say…

"Yes, but we must talk, I don't know what they told you, I want to explain and we can meet somewhere at 3 pm."

I went there, waited for him… but he never showed up, and that was as far as my courtship went. Every time I saw him he was busy and would barely turn his gaze towards me and then retreat… I had to call it quits.

My date at this branch was over and I went back to my hometown, but I never heard from him again, but still my mind would always play tricks on me and I would dream of him being with me and we would go back to being happy like in those months, I enjoyed my thoughts very much remembering the months I spent with him.

I had thought about starting my family, having children, and living in the city we would choose to live in.

I had dreamed that he was the man I had always dreamed of and with whom I would spend the rest of my days, but the dream always woke me from my litany just to show me that I was alone and that I never found the man of my life again.

Over the years I tried to locate him, and I always said to myself.

"And yes he also remembers me as I do. I will look for him even though it has been 10 years." My search paid off, a friend of mine found him and I sent him my memories.

But again I had to leave again, this time for another country, I stayed several years, and when I returned, the best years of my life had already passed, always with my longings,

I returned to my city. Now I am a single woman, 50 years old. I still have many attributes but my desires to find him are not extinguished and now I am looking for him again. Calling some friends, I got a phone and called him, but he never picks up.

I decided to look him up online. I put in his full name and there he was. My heart skipped a beat, it was him. But what it said there left me heartbroken, it was his obituary. He had been killed in a car accident, over a year ago.

My heart wept bitterly. I didn't believe it, so several times I called him but he didn't pick up and several times I searched for his name only to always find the goodbyes of people who loved him.

Then I found a friend, we had not seen each other for more than 30 years and without telling him anything, she told me about him. She told me that he was looking for me. That he was in some places, that every time he saw her he asked her if she didn't know about me.

Life has many mysteries and this is one for me. At the time I was looking for him he was also looking for me. But only God knows why we could never be together.

He is gone. I am 50 years old now. I still remember him, with the same questions and now I only continue with the memories of the days we lived together and the way it all ended.

All the beauty in my body was of no use to me if my heart only held the love of one man, for my whole life, and even after his death I still remember him like the first day…

This is a fictitious story. I suddenly wanted to travel through my brain and make a love story out of it.

Thanks to all my dear frequent readers and all my kind sponsors…

 

22
$ 18.62
$ 17.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Alther
$ 0.10 from @leejhen
+ 20
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

La muerte es algo tan doloroso y más cuando abrasa a quien tanto emos amado y querido. Lo siento amiga aunque así es la vida. Buena historia la adore tienes una imaginación que pa que te cuento. Me encanta. Linda sea tu mañana

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for your commemt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A very touching story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omyyy. You got me friend. I thought it was your story. Good thing it is not because it is so sad and devastating to have finally found your love but only he is already deadm

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it is a sad story. They lost the opportunity to be happy because of their pride.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a very inspiring story, to me I love this

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh my oh my.. such heartbreaking twist.... how come technology didn't let him find you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is supposed to be a history of people from many decades ago. Where technology was not present. Nor did they use the telephone to contact each other. It is fiction.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really thought that it was your story. They aren't just mean to be. And that is so depressing huhuhu.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They were not meant to be together. They had one chance to be together and they blew it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though it's a fictional story, it's a wonderful read. While reading I thought it was yours and felt sorry for you, but was a bit relaxed when it came to the last stanza saying it was fictitious. You can be one of the Good writer.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you very much for your commemt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This story looks so emotional,so sorry to hear his dismiss,just try not to think much about him, he's gone you just have to live your life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I recommend that you read it in its entirety and I accept a new comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This story looks so emotional,at the time you were looking for him he was also looking for you,I think both of you didn't exchange pleasantries with each other when you travelled to meet him..so sad he's gone,you just have to move on with your life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

But did you read the final part that says it's fiction? Or do you prefer to think that it did happen to her and she must go on with life?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought it was your story with the Father of your child.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No, my dear friend. That story is not worth my time to write. Remembering sad things does not feed my spirit. But these stories that are fictional but can happen in real life do encourage me to create them. We miss opportunities in life that are not repeated and pride can do a lot of harm.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loved the story! I'm reading the comments and you caught us all ahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for reading

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow... I thought it was real :) Your beautiful mind has not failed you, my friend. It's a very emotional story.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks my dear. I'm glad you liked it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're very welcome, my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I enjoyed reading it. That's the love at first sight? Haha. I liked the ending honestly I am more on some not so fairy tales LOL. But yeah if a man could find out rumors and that was come to thier friends, I will actually do the same as the man. I am good in hiding emotions and pretend I didn't see someone. lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

How nice that you liked the real ending I gave it. Then I can say that I got the real behavior of a man in the face of rumors right in some ways in my plot. You identified yourself with the movie's leading man.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some days are definitely so especially as it has to do with one's very close friend but in all, you matter most to yourself and not what others think about you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The important thing is ourselves. That's what you say.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought its your story mam ,and I feel sad knowing at 50 your still single but thanks God it just a fictional story hihihi.Have a good day to you maam.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's not my story but I'm 60 years old and still single. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And its okay mam coz you have already a son right?😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I am really happy with my life and my son. This is a separate story from my life. Nothing to do with it. Thank you dear for your support.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sad love story. A broken heart. A love that wasn't meant to be.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes. It's a sad story. I didn't want to make it happy and end it with a 50-year reunion. But I did want to point out that they both looked for each other and didn't find each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The two of them searched for each other, but not enough to find each other. Deep down, a little pride kept them away. I'm just guessing, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In fact, that's what drove them apart. In due time it could have been and the opportunity was lost. Then life didn't give them a second chance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God it's fiction. I am already feeling sad about it and being that you are still single at 50 yrs. I felt for the woman in the story. This is why we shouldn't judge people until we see and hear from them.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am nothing like the woman in the story. Physically at least. And I'm already 60 years old. It's something my mind created. Thanks for your comment and support.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, what a nice story, I thought it was your experience, this happens on reality.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This may have happened somewhere in the world. I don't know. It is something of my own creation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah ok. For a moment I thought you were talking about your life story. Thank God all in your life are well and good! :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hello my friend. Yes, it's a story from my creative mind. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So beautiful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your comment. But I suggest if you want to gain commenters that you make the comments more directed towards the plot. Towards something that catches your attention and not comments like this one that doesn't say any point. That's my suggestion. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh Wowwww. And the ending broke my heart. That's a lovely story Gertu. Just sad that they didn't find each other when they tried to. Maybe not meant to be. Ah! I wish it's not him who is dead. I hope he was alive and they saw each other and admit each others mutual feelings and live the rest of their life together.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

If I had given that plot the story ended very happily but I gave it a Real Life Story culmination. Very sad

$ 0.00
2 years ago