The girl with the smile... the ending

21 53
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Maybe to others she went unnoticed, but not for me. At lunchtime she never came down, or at least I never saw her eating there again. What happened to the girl with the most beautiful smile in the place?

Another week went by and the girl was very unwell, she didn't smile and didn't talk to anyone. I had to talk to her, I had to know what was happening to her to try to help her, that's when I saw her leave and intercepted her. She had sunken eyes, it seemed that she did not sleep at all, I said to her...

"Do you remember me?" She said yes, to which I answered...

"Can I walk with you? Or help you with anything? If you need anything please let me know… "

She pushed me aside and ran out to the street. Right there she took a cab and left without a word.

The next morning I found out that someone had jumped off the roof of the building. It can't be, who could do something like that?

I went up to my place and there my colleagues told me who.

"You know who jumped off the roof? The girl with the smile."

No, how could it be? Why? What happened?

"We don't know, we just hear conversations here and there."

And I went to sit at my desk, sad that I couldn't help the girl with her big smile. As I sat down, I saw something on the top drawer of my desk and opened it. Thinking that I had left it open, but I had not. There was a letter there, I opened it and began to read it. It was from the girl with the smile.

from unsplash

“IT friend, I leave you written what happened to me in these weeks. Because you were the only one who approached me to give me your help, but I know that no one can help now.

I came to this building with a thousand dreams, When the boss interviewed me, I thought he was excited about my resume but he was not. Something else caught his eye and I didn't notice, I simply saw the beauty in everyone around me. I left home hoping to help my family, I left the man I would marry waiting back in my hometown and swore to him I would return.

When the boss saw that he had his big chance he took advantage of me. Not only once, but he raped me several times, with the threat that if I said anything it would be worse for me. So, I put up with his behaviour for more than three weeks. I can't take it anymore, I just can’t. I am leaving this letter because I know you will know what to do to help me as you promised."

My God... why would he hurt this innocent girl, that scoundrel, that disgusting man… It’s unforgivable. And yes, I know very well what I have to do. I took all my things, put them in a box and left them downstairs in a friend's locker and from there I went with the letter to the police.

It was the most I could do for the smiling girl, to honor her death.

No one knows what goes through an innocent heart that has been vilely outraged. No one can know how much pain a person carries that prevents them from seeking out a friend to talk about their sorrows. We must never forget that there is always someone willing to listen and give a helping hand to the fallen before making a tragic decision.

This dear friends, is a fictitious creation to make us think that when people change their behavior it is because something happens to them and we should not turn our back on them but give them a hand.

Thank you all for your support, votes and comments, I appreciate it.

I'm @gertu13 from Venezuela to the world.

26
$ 4.85
$ 3.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.06 from @Ling01
+ 27
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Comments

It is sad to accept we human don't care what the hell is going on with person sitting next to us. We should share at least two or three words to console him/her.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ohh gosh, that's really a worst one, it sucks that people like this really live in reality, even this fiction of yours screams reality, there's a lot of people who use their powers and rankings just to degrade and very inhumane things to their own people.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oh no! I'm sad for the girl, but no matter how horrible life turned out to be suicide is never an answer. I hope she didn't run that day, and maybe she will continue to brighten others day with her smile.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, it's really sad but it carries with it a moral, greetings sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sone people are really helpless to bring out the horrible truth they experienced. The reasons may be varied. Most peoples though are aware of what happened to the person, will not raise their voice unless it result in a suicide note. The people then start reacting, but by then a valuable life is almost lost.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This is fiction but it depicts real life scenarios for some people. I hope they find the courage to move forward and be brave for themselves and not let the circumstances win over them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woa this is my first time reading this sis.. Nd i think i must search it from episode1🥺 I fall in love with this story🙈💜

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Welcome, thank for your support.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When we thought some has no problem because if their big smile that they are showing to everyone. But we didn't know that they are also suffering inside. It so sad for that smiling girl. 🥺😢

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, es very sad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tragic. Even though the story is fiction, it does portray reality. A lot of people have been victims of circumstances and those events have changed their lives completely. I would always say to people that suicide is never an option. We as humans too need to be more attentive to those around us.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I agree. I've been in that exact situation wherein I don't feel like sharing my struggles in life with anyone anymore.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really tragic. How I wish she at lest returned home to her loved ones. Family will always be there for us even if everyone else turns away. No matter how terrible life gets, there would always someone who would want to be there for us, like that young man

$ 0.05
1 year ago

People make bad decisions because they may not have found a friend like you, with the advice you have to give. Unfortunately there are people who in their mental crisis situations do not find a good way out of it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have never been so happy that I read a fiction story than I did today, you have made a story out of this and told a great lesson from it… people smile and try to be happy but a deep void is left in their heart and the agony of the things that may have occurred.. From you “writer”point of view that letter was read late if not she would have been saved.. we can as well care for people and ask them how they feel

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Thank you for your reading and interpretation. There is so much going on in our lives and sometimes so much work and busyness prevents us from taking a look at others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lending a helping hand to our friends when they fall or strangers is one of the best gift we can give humanity. Helping goes a long way and we must try to always help out even when we are pushed out, just like you said, we never know what they are going through. Some might be going through betrayal and find it hard to trust people to help out but still we must never give up on helping.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

It is true, it is never too much to give advice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I knew it! I knew something must have happened to her. Oh what a poor girl with a bright smile. At least justice would be done to the wicked boss.

Many times, when people are silent and aren't ready to speak up, we shouldn't leave them alone because they might be going through a lot in their mind. They might also face same problem with this girl.

It's not good to come to a conclusion and reject them because they refused to talk. Sometimes, we need to make more move until they speak up.

Interesting story with morals ma 😊

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Yes dear friend, the idea is to write something that awakens the senses of the people around us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sad she had to take her life before speaking up, 🤕

$ 0.00
1 year ago