The flower of the desert y las Bromelias

27 67
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

The flower of the desert

This plant is called with the common name of *desert rose* or *desert flower* and its scientific name is Adeniun Obesum. It’s blooming in the garden of a relative and I took the opportunity to take pictures of it.

It is a plant native to Africa but grows very normally in other continents. It is a perennial plant that is cultivated in tropical and subtropical climates. In my country it is used as an ornamental plant and it is very easily seen between the islands of two roads in the avenues because it can measure from 1 to 2 meters. It is very sought after to make bonsais, Japanese technique to keep a tree in its minimum expression in a small pot and still maintains its flowering and thick stem as a regular sized tree.

The flowers are red or strong pink or soft pink tinged with white color. Like this one I have brought today, it has about 5 open petals that reveal its lovely color.

This plant does not need large amounts of liquid as do the cacti although it does not belong to this group, but it belongs to the group of caudiciform plants.

It’s propagated by seeds or by small branches of the plant, I want to say that although it is very pretty, I have never been interested in propagating it, maybe in the near future I will do it and I will see how its production turns out. In the meantime, please enjoy these beautiful flowers.

The plant has thick stems and it is there where it keeps most of its liquid for the times of low water. It does not normally need a lot of liquid but in the rainy season it should not be watered because it runs the risk of rotting its roots.

Bromeliad Billbergia Pyramidalis

This is my Bromelia, with the rains is beginning to come out the flower of the plant. It comes out as an extension that little by little emerges from the center of its leaves. These leaves grow in the form of a rosette, that is to say, one in front of the other leaf and between them a space or concavity is formed where the water remains stagnant and it is from there that the plant is nourished.

It does not need water in the root but keeps the water that falls during rains or at night in its central leaves, where organic matter from insects and plants that fall there accumulates.

This plant is epiphytic, that is, it grows on trees, but we have found a way to adapt its environment in a pot, leaving its roots superficially in the soil and adding the irrigation water in its upper leaves.

She is a plant with thin, flat, green leaves and thorny at all ends. It does not grow very large and the inflorescence can measure up to 30 cm. and the inflorescence can measure up to 20 cm.

The flower remains on the plant for about 20 days after which the plant dies leaving behind one or two offspring that will repeat the cycle again.

The pictures are my property, taken with my redmi note 9 phone.

I thank all my sponsors who have renewed their sponsorships with me. I love them all.

Thanks for your comments and votes.

I’m @gertu13 from Venezuela to the world.

31
$ 10.49
$ 9.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Korgueshy3.50
$ 0.06 from @Ling01
+ 25
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Comments

Desert flowers, I never that's what it is called I have seen it but the one you took looks more beautiful, I guess that's the beauty of photography, the Bromelia though I have not seen not heard of but thanks to you I know of it now. They are both beautiful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I kept on seeing that kind of flower around our place and to be honest it's the first time for me to know its name. I mean, your article is truly helpful for me to unlock its name. Thanksss my friend.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you my dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those beauties 😍 I am not sure thought if I already saw this kind of flower inn our country but I think I already did, hmmm πŸ€”πŸ€”πŸ€”

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I think there should be. Your climate is similar to mine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is the first time I saw the flower. The color of the flower is very beautiful.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We also have this kind of flowers in our country.. We also have a tree called Calachuchi which has the same flower as the first photo. And honestly i thoight, it is also called calachuchi.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Very good!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I had the worst experience with that desert rose when I was a child; I often played with plants like that, But not knowing that liquid from it was so bitter, and without washing my hand (typical as a young, stubborn boy), I grabbed my food and vomits it's out haha.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You have had bad experiences with plants. I also bit poisonous plants when I was a child. sad memory 😭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love those desert rose flowers. Such striking colours 😍

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks my dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is the first time I am hearing about this plant

$ 0.05
1 year ago

I'm glad you got to know something new today.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A flower that doesn't need much water? That's a gem right there πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.05
1 year ago

The plants of the genus cactus and succulents and caudiciforms do not need a lot of water my friend. I'm sure your mom will have some of them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Esa flor es muy bonita y adornan muchos los jardines. cerca de casa hay plantas de estas. Adornan y embellecen el lugar donde nacen.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

It's right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have seen and heard a lot about that flower, however you have just clarified many doubts, now I want to have one but I don't know if I can get it

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It all depends on where you live.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It all depends on where you live.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good looking flower. I don't have the opportunity of growing beautiful flow like this because the kids we have around the house. If i get my own place, i will make sure to grow few flowers especially red roses.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's very good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very rare and beautiful flowers are found in Venezuela. I never had seen them in my whole life. Flowers are trend now, I am also writing about them and I wish I could publish it soon. Happy to see you are exploring your world.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my! That plant looks so good to see. Thanks for sharing this. :)

$ 0.02
1 year ago