The disease of greed

18 44
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Greed is a vile feeling. In some people, it is a pathology. Some people can present it and they do not realize the harm they are doing to themselves. Do you remember the character in the story of the man who gave nothing to his family, had no friends, and did not pay his employees a fair wage? Yes, I am talking about the famous Ebenezer Scrooge.

I also know that there have been many variants of the movie that try to highlight the great flaw of these people, such as the ghost of Christmas past. That it was a spirit that appears to this long-suffering gentleman to make him see what he was doing so far with the 70 years of age that he already had and was not going to leave a good thought on earth at the time of death.

I also heard the other story of a real-life lady who lived many years ago. I don't remember her name but I do remember her story. She was as stingy a lady as Ebenezer. She did not dress well, nor did she eat hearty or tasty, nor did she drink any liquids other than water, nor did she do anything good even for herself so that she would not have to waste her money.

She had only one dress so as not to spend on them, she washed the dress only in the part that dragged so as not to have to waste soap.  She ate only what was necessary and they were soups where not many vegetables or meats were used so as not to spend too much on food and she drank little water. No juices or treats because she was so conservative.

Everything she earned at her job, which I don't remember hearing about, she invested to keep earning. She didn't have employees in her house, she didn't buy furniture and she didn't dirty so she didn't have to spend on cleaning.

What impressed me most about her story is that she had a son who at one point in his life fell to the ground and broke his leg. She took him to a hospital far away from where she lived so as not to be recognized. She took him to a charity hospital. There the doctor recognized her and asked her to give some money for the child's care. The lady, who had just come to that place so as not to spend money on her son, refused and took her son back home.

She took care of him herself. Of course, the child's leg suffered from gangrene, and sometime later the leg had to be amputated.

It is the height of greed when you don't have anything to share with yourself or your loved ones. She thought that saving all she could during her life was the best way to live. I don't know how she died but I imagine alone, without a friend or family to remember her.

Greed is encouraged. From a young age, we get the idea that we have to suffer many needs to achieve our goals, and after achieving the first goals, the second and third ones come out, and so during our whole life, we will open new ways of not spending on anything to save.

Do you think this is the best way to live? Or can we make some changes so that this sin does not take root in our lives?

I once felt the need to save to get what I wanted and I did it with such determination that after a year I got what I wanted and then I went on to the next one. And I ended up with the third time. Then I realized that years went by and I had not enjoyed my vacations because all my vacations I worked to save.

Thank God I realized that and started to live a little more. With everything I got, I realized that with discipline and effort you get what you want. I got it and now I have another goal in my life but I am not so demanding. I live my day by day and I am sharing. In the end, I think that when my time comes I will have a friend and a family member who will remember me fondly and say a prayer for me.

How is your life? Are you greedy?

The image is from unsplash.

I am @gertu13 from Venezuela to the world.

 

17
$ 6.40
$ 5.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 13
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Comments

Greed destroys people. And it is not right to be miserly even if you have money. If the man had used his money properly, this would have not been the fate of his son.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think we have to share the goodness that God shares with us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is disappointing. She was so greedy that she didn't even spend on herself. What's she saving for? A mansion in heaven? She can't even take care of his boy? What kind of life would she even give to that boy with that attitude? This is really sad.

We often allow life to pass us by. It's okay to save, it's okay to have foresight but there are some things that we can't avoid that must be done. Greed eats deep and if care is not taken, greed would destroy because a lot of the time we want everything for ourselves yet we won't give out. Imagine a container that keeps taking without giving out...self destruct. She didn't only suffer greed; to have everything, she's terribly stingy too.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It is a disease that corrodes the soul. Do not give to anyone or yourself. If she couldn't give love to herself, neither love her son nor the neighbor. I wonder what her funeral was like?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly. If she couldn't give love to anyone...they would be cursing her in her grave.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Greed is something worst than the deadliest virus on earth, when we get infected it takes special ability to get off its pawn. There is nothing in life we should really treasure, the day we die. None of those things will go with us

$ 0.01
1 year ago

La codicia es unos de los pecados más grande que puede existir, es hermana de la avaricia, la codicia produce una enfermedad en los seres humanos, hay que trabajar y ser feliz, compartir con los familiares y amigos pero si hacer daños.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree with you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Esos señores eran malos, pero no solo afectaban sus vidas sino también maltrataban a sus familiares, amigos, empleados. Su codicia no solo le hacia daño a él sino a todo lo que le rodeaba.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is the reality of toxic people who harm themselves but also harm those around them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I see no reason why some people live their life as jokes. A one time short opportunity to explore and live with nature. It just unfortunate that some people have to work very hard to get everything they want while some are living the most expensive life the easy way. Why would someone work and not make life easy with the fruit of their labor? I can't live such life, sorry for they who are stingy to themselves. If her parents were stingy to her as she was to her son, she would have died of depression long ago.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There are countless forms of life out there. And everyone gets their own way of living even if it's self-destructive. The bad thing is when that bad life affects the lives of others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Greed is the worst with which a man deals with. Sharing is very important, Only when we share we are recognized in the society. Good deeds are always repaid in the form of money and friends.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It is the best way to live. Being happy and not hurting anyone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is true, when too much saving for you and the future steal your happiness today, without appreciating what's here in the now. Balance, save and still enjoy life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Balance is harmony in life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A lot of problems arise due to greed and I guess it's like a virus that could contaminate the brain of each one and creating negativity within their heads. I also feel greed sometimes, but as much as possible I'm trying to control it as greed would only make my life worst. As of the moment, I try to live my life simple.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

all excess hurts. I think that in life there are times when we are greedy but we must know when to stop. It is the difference of the sick person who never stops the bad behavior of him.

$ 0.00
1 year ago