My pride in being old.

44 63
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Being called old does not offend me, because the one who does it with contempt should know that I don’t sit down to waste my time thinking about offenses, because an offense only has repercussions on the person if he himself allows it to disturb him.

I no longer bother to think about the motive that might lead a person to belittle his future.

But if he calls me old with affection that makes me proud, and that's what I'm going to talk about today. It just means that I have already fought many battles, perhaps won many wars and even defeated death on a few occasions.

from unsplash

These things make me feel the pride of being an old woman, and I say this with affection, because you only get to be an old woman (or man) with years of struggle. In my skin is marked the progress of the years and the work I have done to get this far.

In my walk you can see the tiredness that comes with the passing of the years. I am no longer the agile girl I was because I only have agility in my mind, in my steps I leave the trace of a past with no return, of an unpublished future but of a present that is my most beautiful gift.

Whoever calls me old in a rude way, I want them to know that I am not offended. Because people like me have learned that one only becomes old when there is wisdom, because the journey through all these years of life can only be done when a person acquires enough knowledge.

Whoever affectionately calls me by this name should know that I am proud of it, because I have gone through the years that many of you are about to begin, now you’re going to begin to live what I have already lived in this life. That it’s now that you will need to have the same strength that I had and that when I see you it gives me great joy because it brings me the memories of my past struggles for these years of life.

Know that I carry my years as a reward to the journey, as a reward to all that energy I used. I wear my years with pride because I lived them the best I could, I studied, I enjoyed, I worked, I shared, I made my family, I said goodbye to my loved ones and now I am on my way to the tranquility of my remaining years.

If they call me old they call me beloved, if they call me old they call me friend, if they call me old they call me mother, they call me grandmother, they call me neighbor, they call me worker, they call me patient, they call me daughter and they call me peace.

If they call me old they call me what I called my mother at some point in my life. When I saw her with gray hair, when I saw her tired, when I saw her sick and when I saw her die.

She was also loved, and she was also old, and just as I am now called old, if you are as lucky as I am, you’ll also have the opportunity to be called old.

I wear my old age with pride, I am not weighed down by life or weighed down by memories. Everything brings me the peace of mind that I can only get thanks to my years of life, because at this stage of my years I already bear with tranquility the effects of the struggles. For me, the obstacles are just things I haven’t learnt yet and they are no longer stones on the road.

Because when they call me old I breathe my heart. My mind fills with energy and I just think of everything I have gone through to be able to reach this happy age, to wear my years with pride because they imply my fullness.

To carry my old age with pride is what motivates me the most. Because although you may not believe it, I was also young, inexperienced and immature as you are, because I also called some people old without knowing what that implied, because only now I know that whenever I said old to my mother, my neighbor, or even a friend I know the pride and haughtiness with which the weight of my word reached their hearts.

Because only they knew what that word meant and I only said it out of affection without knowing the magnitude of what it meant.

Know, my dear friends and readers, that if you call me old you will be flattering me in the deepest part of my heart. Because only I know what I carry in my memory and you will only feel it when you reach the years when they call you old.

Even in that I am ahead of you, because I have already gone through youth but you have a long way to go to reach my old age. I wish you from the bottom of my heart that you act intelligently so that someday you can feel the pride of what it is to reach old age, what it is to feel the pride and haughtiness that you feel when they call you old.

Thank you all my dear readers and sponsors. To the patience you have in these difficult days due to my bad internet connection.

I thank my new sponsor @MegaKyodaiBanrai . It's a pleasure to have you on my tray.

22
$ 13.23
$ 11.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Alther
+ 16
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

Lovely artcle. Where everybody hesitate to agree with the fact they are aging, you came up with a bold write up of aging. Even a first grey hair disturbs us. The pride of being old is great, as told by you, we have gone through a great 👍lot of experiences. We should never forget the respect we gain out of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Friend, so it is. We have to take our age with pride. I'm proud of my age. I don't care if someone calls me old with affection. And I don't care, but the truth is that I don't consider myself old. I think that if God wants, I have many years ahead. And I have the young spirit to enjoy them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was about to make an article regarding getting old after a conversation with Mum today. When she can hardly walkabout then she say she's really getting old. The strength and health leaving her body slowly. She feels so old but as she reminisces all the hard work and the days she made her legs unstoppable then she just says, "Oh well, it's time for my legs to just rest the." :)

Be proud and yes that's you and your accomplishment in life, the struggles you faced, the knees that once kneeled and get back up, yes that's the age, and that's you who experience the most in life! ❤

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Your mother will tell you. Our mind is still young but our body asks for more rest and we have to give it to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true that we can only be offended when called old because we have not grown in wisdom through the years. That is what I count my years by - how much wiser I have become. How many scars I have borne, and how many memories I have made. On my father's side of the family, they have premature graying of hair. While I don't have a whole head of gray hair, hairdressers used to convince me about dyeing mine each time I come for a haircut. My only response is that the white hairs remind me of what I've been through and survived and and I'd like to keep them there, thank you very much!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's right, mine are also in my scalp, worn with pride. The years go by, the body ages but the clarity of thought remains. Let's take the opportunity to tell the world in our publications the traces we are leaving behind.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You know, I actually don't want to get old. If it's not too much I want my life only is 40s. I don't know, I just don't want to my love one's leaving me one by one. And then I will be left behind, I don't know if I can take that.

But getting old is actually hmm, achievement. Imagine you reach that age after so many struggles you're still there standing. Not that strong as what you are in your younger years but thw experience, the Knowledge that you gain that's the reward that you can get for getting old. 💙

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My dear Ruffa, with the years you pass the strength from your physical body to your mental body. All the strength you had in your youth is now in your brain. Value your ages because they all give you wisdom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your age is a testimony of how long you have been through in your life. Amidst all the challenges, you surpassed everything with grace ❤

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you my dear and God willing I still have a few more years to grow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Age is just a number and should not offend us just as you said. Being old means we do know more in life and we've been through a lot and surpassed a lot. I celebrate you, ma'am Gertru

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you my dear John. The years should be worn with pride not shame,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ma'am, I read all these and must say that I'm proud of you. You appreciate your struggles your past, your agility and a girl and the tiredness that comes with old age as a natural cause that can't be defeated. You choose to embrace it instead within makes me call you "brave".

You understand that old age and death is inevitable just as your mom was once called "old" and eventually met with death.

I'm proud of you ma'am, I enjoyed everything I read, I'm gonna save this article so I can read it once more. Lots of hugs 🤗

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for your beautiful words. Yes, ages are accumulations of life experience. And at some point your already deteriorated shell must transcend. You just leave the footprints on the road.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel inspired reading this eventhough I'm still fairly young. Being old for me is a sign of maturity and wisdom. The best teachings I've found are the ones spoken by my older professors. They may sometimes go off-topic, but the way they explain things while including their experiences in life makes it so much easier for me to understand.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You must be very young if you talk about your teachers and say nothing about your parents. It means they are still young. YOU HAVE TO ENJOY THE YEARS OF LIFE. They don't come back and your body gets left behind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all will reach that stage and we should be proud because it's a milestone.. Not all can reach what you have reached now.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Everyone should have the opportunity to become old, but as we know, not everyone can make it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being old is understatement, for the world at choas now not everyone comes to aged of being old. Honestly I admired those elders who could still think and do things. I want to be old that's in my mind if Gods permit. But seeing the virus spreads not everyone this days goes old. That's a sad reality.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Try to live your stages as best you can. If it is in God's purpose for you to grow old, no pandemic will prevent you from doing so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Old is gold and we will all reach that stage in our lives. Gray hair is a crown of glory and you are indeed a queen 🤗. I adore you for all the battles that you've fought and for leaving trails for us to follow 🤗.

$ 0.06
2 years ago

It is what will be left of me when I die, My publications. and I hope that when others read them they will remember that someone who overcame long battles wrote them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

gray hair is a crown of glory... I love talking with my late grandfather when he was already advanced in his years because I gain a lot of information, wisdom and he speaks blessings... he almost lived 100 years old...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

God blessed him in knowledge and wisdom for winning all those years.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In our culture over here, it is said that anyone who honours old people will inherit old age as a reward. Thank you for reminding us of the need to love and care for our aged.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

To honor the elderly is to take care of your own life. For what you sow you reap. Can you imagine if you hate and teach hatred around you, when your time comes you will find only hatred behind you and nothing good awaits you in your old age.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is so true and I believe that is why we must be careful as we grow in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article is full of wisdom, I am scared of being old, I'm still 2p through. But thinking of aging scares me alot. Like someone will I gonna loose and leave me. Or I'm gonna leave them but as you said. Being old means beating wise with full of wisdom. I kinda reflect for a little bit because of it. Thank you

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You just have to live your stages with pride. You'll have time to grow old and by the time you do, you'll have learned that you can't be afraid of life. You just have to live it the best you can.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I salute and respect you for being proud of it.❤ All those you mentioned on your reflection have given me a preview of how beautiful your life has been and is no matter the circumstances. Reading it also kind of gave me the satisfaction of why I usually feel better growing older. I now wish I could somehow step foot on those you have had, though from a different path.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I still have thoughts of life left. I hope God still gives me more road to travel. And if he doesn't here I have left my thoughts on many occasions. Thank you for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray you will have more. We are blessed to have read your thoughts in here :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you my dear friend.!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't even think about your age even if I know it. I just think you're a really cool aunty that gives me that encouraging boost whenever I need it and I appreciate you a lot for that 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you dear for being there. By the way you have taken up fantasy stories again. You come up with more ideas which are always nice to read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I just write whatever fits my mood for the day, recently 😅😅😅 and that includes the stories too. You've also gotten back on stories!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, you noticed. It is variable thematic. As you say... according to my mood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still read although sometimes I'm not quite sure what to say since I can only read in the early mornings or late at night ☺️ but yours always have their respective lessons to them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

@gertu13 my friend, I always think of you as a young person. Age might matter for some, but for most of the world, it is the ideas and the heart that matters.

And in both of these, you still seem to be a young person full of life and enthusiasm.

You have gained experience as you grow and may see things from a different angle, a more sophisticated approach on what matters and what doesn't.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you my dear Panther. You know that the body ages but the mind stays young...no, you don't...you will know that when you reach white age. You will realize that you have aged of the body but your mind remains clear. You will realize that your mind demands more from you but your body can't handle the load. That's when we adjust the mind to the body. Because the two must be in balance. It is a pleasure to write about life for others to enjoy.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

For me, being old is just the biological status and numerical years. Aside from collecting wisdom and experiences, we can still stay young if we have a youthful mindset and attitude towards life.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's true and it's what I write about. I have a tired body for the moments lived but a clear mind that still remains young and trying to carry this old shell.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I respect you for withstanding all the challenges of life threw at you. And I do also want to take pride when I reached my old age. Thank you for wishing us to be more intelligent in life. I will impart this in my mind to be able to have no regrets in the future.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There will always be times to make mistakes and that will be part of your history and will come out with your gray hair.

$ 0.00
2 years ago