My first time.

27 50
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

I love drinking coffee, I am a caffeine addict. I have been a coffee drinker since I was a few years old since my mother used to give my siblings and me a glass of coffee with milk every morning, this as breakfast to go to school.

I don't know where she learned that a glass of coffee with milk was enough breakfast to keep us satisfied for 6 hours away from home, the truth is that I remember being very hungry when I got home. She would then give each of us a quarter to spend for my three brothers and me and then at recess I could either buy a soft drink to quench my thirst and stay hungry or buy some sweet bread and stay thirsty for the rest of the morning.

From unsplash.

That was my indesition in all the recesses of my memories and this was the case during my 6 years of school. I didn't understand why they gave us so little money. We had so little breakfast and so little communication.

I would just do what she told me without asking. Asking her meant that I was disrespecting and then came the much dreaded and traumatizing punishment.

So it was that I got used to not giving up coffee with milk every morning in my time as a schoolgirl. When it was time for me to become a teenager, I started drinking coffee with sugar only, since I was a chubby girl by this time, I learned to drink my coffee without sugar and even after so many years in my 60's I still drink it without sugar.

But this is not the story I want to tell. I used to drink coffee but I didn't know about the coffee plant until I was a university student.

So when I was studying in a city in the Andes Mountains of my country, on one of those occasions when there were student disagreements with the university authorities, one of the many fights broke out to the point that classes were suspended for an indefinite period of time. After 6 days had passed and classes did not start, my classmates who lived in nearby towns went home.

Then someone invited me to go to his father's farm and we went there. This was during the time of the coffee harvest, they needed workers to pick coffee and my friends and I decided to go and put ourselves on the order. They explained to me how to dress and my odyssey in the land of Andean coffee began.

From unsplash.

I’d like to let you know that Venezuela is one of the best coffee producers in the world, it’s apparently recognized as such internationally. I just had to ask the owners what to do and the rest was on my own.

You put on boots to climb the slope of the mountain where this coffee grows at an incline. At waist-level, a kind of basket is placed, tied on the back, and it’s there where the coffee that we collect with both hands is deposited.

The red and yellow colored coffee should be collected, the green coffee should not be picked because in this case the coffee is not of high quality because it’s unripe. When the basket is full, it’s taken to the place where there is a larger basket and where we all collect the same coffee, but separated from other groups because in the end we would be paid for our collection.

The plants are not very tall but leafy and they are next to each other, very close. So you pick the coffee from all the branches on one side and then go behind to the other row of plantAs you have to pick the fruits very quickly, you have to be careful not to pick the green ones and that's how fingernails get totally mangled.

From unsplash.

After collecting a large basket of these coffee fruits, they are placed in a machine that removes all the husk from the coffee and the seed goes to another place where it’s collected. These seeds are placed in the sun, every day they have to go to a patio where the seeds are placed in the sun and are moved several times. This process takes a few days until the coffee is dry from exposure to the sun.

It’s then collected and sent to a place where all the bags of coffee arrive. Here it receives the name of "Paca". There the beans are selected, weighed and purchased. If it’s a good quality coffee, well dried and well selected, they pay a good price for it.

There they then select from all the sacks which is the first grade coffee for export and which is the second and third grade.

And when we were ready to start the whole process of collecting coffee again, they told us that classes would resume again. So our odyssey with coffee came to an end and we had to go back to the university.

This is how, after more than 20 years of drinking coffee, I had my first encounter with the plant and with coffee beans and it was a wonderful experience that I’ll never forget.

I'm @gertu from Venezuela.

16
$ 21.74
$ 21.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
+ 7
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

I am not into coffee but I'm still interested to how the farm of coffee looked like and to how it is being processed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In these comments you will find many like you who don't drink coffee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting experience! I've never been in a coffee plantation in production. But I remember that many years ago my husband made a documentary for a University on a coffee plantation in La Azulita in Mérida.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, there is a lot of good land to grow coffee there in Merida. Where I was, it is near Azulita. It is in the high mountains of the town of Chiguará.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's the thing I want to experience, collecting coffee fruit. unfortunately I live in main city

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Someday you will be able to go to the places where they grow fruit trees.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still can't see myself taking coffee because of its taste. I prefer taking tea with milk and sugar.

I haven't seen coffee plant before and seeing it here should give me a clear picture of it so when I see it outside, I might recognize it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Above all, it is easy to recognize when it has already borne fruit. It is that bunch of green fruits that you see in the photo and then when they ripen they are red.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, I would say for the love of coffee I like this post, thanks for the insight. As for your addiction, I don't have u to blame for it cos that's what you were brought up with. I'm also a coffee drinker, I've been taking coffee for up to 11 years now and I'm still counting. Throughout my university days, I take at least a cup of coffee a day and 6 times a week. Why? Yh, I'm a night reader, so I drink coffee to keep myself awake.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This makes me want to visit my friend's garden, no matter how small it is. Some coffee growers here were only growing coffee plants in their yards so it's more for personal consumption. I really think that we should all have first hand experience in farming coffee or just like your encounter so that we can understand better and appreciate more our farmers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think your idea is a good one. I didn't know it until I did it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do not drink coffee. I hated it more when a friend of mine died after taking an overdose of it raw.

I prefer tea instead. But the aroma is always tempting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is what happens when we don't know what is in the things we drink or eat. Tea contains two alkaloids that are also present in coffee. Tea contains caffeine and theobromine or theophylline. It causes tachycardia due to excessive consumption.

I love tea too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. I see.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to be a coffee drinker before, but when my doctor said to stop drinking it, I just followed what he said. .. Now I love drinking milk, every morning and at night before going to bed..☺️ SKL...

Good day sir!.☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Milk is a good relaxant and is indicated for people with nervous personalities. They cannot drink coffee or tea.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a wonderful experience to pick coffee beans. I do not drink coffee, it does not agree with me. But I do appreciate the aroma it gives off when roasted and made into a cup.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeahhh, the aroma is more gratifying than the taste of the coffee itself. It is a very special aroma.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never underestimate the power of a cup of coffee; a morning coffee is my favorite way of starting the day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is very clear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my primary school.. We have coffee trees there.. That's what the teacher said.. It was coffee.. But I don't know how the coffee trees looks like before. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw many plants but no one ever told me which one was the coffee plant until I saw it at this age in college.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love to go to such place gert. Though I am not a fan of coffee because of palpitation, I still want to see before my eyes the beauty of a coffee farm. Now my list of place to visit is added a place called -Venezuela

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My country is very beautiful. With many natural and architectural wonders. But right now you can't visit it because there is too much risk for tourists. In the future, hopefully conditions will improve and you will be able to fulfill your dream.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes soon gert when pandemic will be gone and it's safe to travel. I hope that we will see each other there 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My home when I was a kid was surrounded by coffee trees. My grandma would just harvest some coffee fruits and turn in into a very delicious coffee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's delicious, from the field to the table. It is a great pleasure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago