Memories of road trips.

43 59
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Greetings my good reading friends, today I am remembering when I used to travel the roads of my country while driving to go to college.

I like to drive because while doing so my mind is transported to imaginary places and I create stories as crazy as my imagination allows me to.

I would always tell my college friends that I would put the car on autopilot and it would drive me to the place I was supposed to go.

Of course those were my stories, my car had no autopilot, I just drove on those roads for 6 years straight, 4 times a year round trip.  I would drive a little over 1000 km one way and then back, my car probably knew all about the road by this point.

On some occasions I would concentrate so much on my thoughts that I would drive along a road and then after my eyes realized that the road was new, it would snap me out of my thoughts and make me realize that I had taken the wrong road. This didn’t really bother me, I was pleased, I would look for a sign on the road that would point me to where I was at that moment and then backtrack and continue with my journey and my thoughts.

From unsplash

When I found the road again, I would dive back into my thoughts. How I miss those trips, not the student life because even though it is great to remember what I experienced in my classes with my classmates, teachers and friends, I would not like to repeat it again, I just enjoy the memory but I don't want to live them again.

I remember one time I was already entering the second to last state to then get to the state where I came from and I never thought I would pass by my state's signal crossing and not realize it. I thought I had it engraved in my mind and subconscious but it wasn't so.

At the intersection, I kept going straight ahead and was entering another state until I eventually realized that this was not the road. I looked at some people sitting under a tree and I asked them what that place was and they answered me that it was X state, I thanked them and I went back on my way. It turns out, that I was already half an hour in another state full of trees, just like the road I was supposed to pass by, but it was in the opposite direction. Hahaha how crazy, so I turned back.

I laughed as much as I could and after half an hour I saw the sign indicating where to cross and I did so.

I only had two hours to go after almost 15 hours on the road. This was at the beginning of my travels and after one or two years I started to make stops in different cities, where friends lived and so I was up to 3 days traveling until I reached my university town.

I no longer had to drive 17 hours straight. I would leave my house at 4 in the morning to arrive before midnight to the city where I was going. Then when I stayed with friends or family I would make a 4 hour travel to stop over and then a two hour drive to get to a second city and then, if I did the rest, one 11 hour trip to a third city.

From unsplash

Then, when I graduated, I would go on a trip to a town three hours away from my city. At first I didn't go back anywhere, my mother had just died and I no longer had a place to find a sense of family. I looked for family friends who gave me support and there for two years I was working and going everywhere and nowhere.

When I finished working in the city where I was sent I chose where to go and I went back to my hometown and stayed in a rented apartment until I traveled to another state where I stayed for two more years. Before I finished there I decided to travel every Friday for 3 hours to get to the city where I would do my subspecialty as a medical sonographer.

When I finished my specialty I said goodbye to the town and went back to my home state, I went back to rent and started practicing my specialty to this day.

I no longer traveled, I settled here, with my son. I sold my car and was waiting to buy another one but the economy of my country collapsed and I could only travel in cabs until it was too late.

Now, in this pandemic I am at home, without traveling, waiting for the day when I will take the road again and my mind will fly again, I hope that this year the isolation will be normalized and my son and I will be able to go again on the roads of my country.

Thanks to all my reader and commenter friends. Thanks to all the sponsors who support me, especially @Eylz2021 and @BCH-lover for their continued support and renewal.

24
$ 6.23
$ 5.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 21
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

It's quite common for our minds to wonder away when our thoughts linger on and admire the beauty of roads for long when travelling... As for me, I spent most parts of my journey in a relaxing sleep. Often times, someone else has got to tap me when we arrive at our destination. Lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehehe you have a very heavy sleep well you say it was restful. I can't sleep while traveling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh!what an adventurous life you had Mam. I really envy you. Cos I like to go . But then I did not have a license. But now when i got my license Iam busy with household chores and not young anymore.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm not young either but I'm waiting for the country to normalize so I can go back to kicking roads, hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! That's the spirit.👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I missed travelling. But since pandemic we just stay at home but I never tried to drive a car. I'm scared hahaha I can drive only my precious motorbike. 3 days travelling is very tiring, right? But some really enjoy it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sister, I really enjoyed driving on the road and I hope this pande ends for the good of all and I get back to traveling, hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too and I really prayed for that. I want to explore outside world charot hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't like going on trips I rather stay home to prevent being stress out

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To each his own.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not good in remembering directions, before we used to visit my relatives in far place, but still I cannot memorize the path haha but still I aim to travel in different places, especially to have my own car:D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm not good either but I get my bearings on the steering wheel, lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That just made me smile and I laughed with you on that part where you were lost and had to travel back. This reminds me of my school days where I had to travel for 8-9 hours by bus. I was young then. I would watch the landscape roll by even when there is nothing to see for we usually travel at nighttime. Rarely would I sleep when traveling then.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is what I like about reading other people's posts that relive our own experiences. I'm glad it made you smile.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really miss traveling. I hope we can do it freely again soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to like road trips, but I don’t anymore. Especially when I am the one driving. Sometimes, I get road sick when traveling long distances during the day. I am always fine traveling overnight though.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I never liked to travel during the day because I can't see anything on the road. My eyes have always been deficient.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My goal is to have a car because even I'm good at driving I don't have my own right now, I miss having roadtrips but I'm just on the shotgun seat haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The time will come when you buy your own car and can be behind the wheel lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lovely memories of travelling you have, may your mom's gentle soul continue to rest in perfect peace. I hope to that the economy favours you so you'll get all you need for your travels.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hopefully, the entire economic system will change for the better. Amen for mom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As I was reading this, the memories of a trip I and boss embarked on reflected. We didn't know the direction of the place, so we kept asking questions upon questions along the way.

It could be frustrating if you're driving and don't know the road your destination

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's up to you whether you have fun or get frustrated driving. Many times I didn't know the way, I also consulted people on the road until I found the way and kept going.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love travel alone ma'am it makes me realize of everything.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My longest road trip was 24 hours.. From our province to the capital of the Philippines.. It was an arduous journey for me as I vomited four times 🤣🤣.. But was fun..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What a horror! You know, I never liked others driving my car because I felt nauseous. I suffer from motion sickness on the road. When other drivers are driving I vomit on the road, more specifically on roads with many curves. Uff then the trip was not of pleasure but of terror.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i love how adventurous you are! and you are very much welcome my friend :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I used to love my adventures, my friend but that changed since the pandemic and a few years before it when I sold my last car. Thank you dear for your continued support and patronage. God bless you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love travel especially long ride with no destination at long.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's pleasant.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello gertu13, You made me remind my old days, when i used to travel just creating my fantasies and theories in my mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love roadtrips also mate, I feel so comfortable and relax when I am traveling.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have always enjoyed driving long road trips.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a long journey ma'am gertu. I like roadtrips also ma'am but I experience it when I have a work already when I suffer my head pain. I thought it would help and lessen the pain. I thought I would relax my mind and the pain will gone. It was my memory on roadtrips ma'am gertu.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And you didn't take medication to keep the pain away? It is terrible to travel with a headache.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I take ma'am gertu but still nothing happen. I thought I was really stress that's why they gave me some road trips.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is such a wonderful experience to recount. I don't know how to drive and I don't own a car yet but I hope I would have the same experience as yours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish you the fulfillment of your wishes. I bought my first car when I was 20 years old with a lot of effort and I managed to pay it off in 2 years.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Memories are what we share and are forever there, most time road journeys are so interesting you always wish to keep going

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, road trips are special.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, you have 499 subscribers. One more!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha that's quite a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago