It's good to remember that we do not leave any pending.

26 62
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Greetings friends of the great read.cash family, I hope you are feeling well at the moment of sharing reading with me.

Today I come with certain concerns that have motivated me to write and share with you.  Have you ever thought that at some point in your life you have left things unfinished to do? That you have been walking your destinies and have left things behind that you would have liked to finish?

It has happened to me, sometimes I wish I had not allowed it to happen but it did. I remember when I was a child I was invited to an amusement park, my siblings and I went but with another family, my parents stayed at home. Do you know the worst thing about this? I was a 9 year old girl and it hurt me so much that I went to that park and I only got to ride the bumper cars once.

I asked my older sisters if they brought money and none of them did. So I just hung out watching the other children of the family that took us having fun while my eyes were popping out of excitement seeing so many carts and I couldn't get on any of them. It was a trauma for me.

From unsplash

As I grew up always in my mind I would think of this and remember it with sadness. Until one day I went to a park where there were carts for adults and then I got on one of those and crashed as many times as I could. It was fun, I had to do it and so I was able to release my sad memory for a happy one.

I remember when I was growing up I was forbidden to go dancing, to go to the disco, to stay late at night visiting someone.

My father was very bossy and one of those who said "do as I say and not as I do". But leading by example doesn't work like that.

When I graduated at the age of 18 I was sent to practice far away from home, 3 hours away from my house to be more specific. Then we were invited to the disco and I went for the first time with all my classmates and when I went in I tried to hide but I couldn't. They all knew me and saw my face, they all knew me and saw my strange face. I was like a little girl eating her favorite ice cream.

I saw the center lights, how they changed tone and then the lights that made the white look like an almost transparent thing, God that was great. I enjoyed it so much that I got tired of going so much.

The same thing happened to me at the movies, that huge screen, I had never seen such a big TV, how ignorant I was, hehehehe, then I learned the whole mechanism of operation.

In those 18 months that I was in that city I did so many and all the things that were forbidden to me. I wanted to know why they were bad, I was just told not to go and no explanation. I learned that everything is in the person, if you want to destroy yourself you will do it but if you don't want to do it those places will not destroy you. What will destroy you are your actions, your bad decisions.

Nothing ever happened to me to regret when I was with my friends... Except until something actually happened, I fell in love and got a boyfriend who was jealous and started again with prohibitions.

What a bad thing to feel like you can do things and they won't let you do them. I did it just to keep the peace in the relationship. It got to the point where everything became difficult and the relationship ended.

It was then that I remembered all the things I couldn't do thanks to the prohibitions and I had to think how to get rid of that bad feeling. So I went back to the places where I was banned from going with my friends and I had a great time. I could see that it was an unfounded ban, just jealousy. The places were special, my friends always took care of me and everyone acted with respect.

Since then I grew in that feeling and did not allow anyone else to forbid me things without logic. Every time someone told me... don't do this thing I asked why? What was the risk, and when I knew the answer it was very clear in my mind and I didn't do it anymore and even less curious.

For example, one time I was with a group of friends and someone told us that there was a big meeting in the evening at the house of a distinguished lawyer. I knew her and was about to tell everyone that we could go.

One of my friends looked at me and motioned for me not to say anything, and I listened because I trusted him. He played along and pointed out that we could all go for sure.

As we drove away in my car my friend told us...never go to these types of parties no matter how much they tell you. They are parties of perdition where they start with soft drinks and then go to harder ones, then they combine with drugs and become totally uninhibited and prostitute themselves to each other.

I thanked my friend for the gesture and the explanation. That was all I wanted to know, to be told the reason for the refusals and not just a no. I never accepted an outright no anymore. I never accepted a flat out no without explanation anymore.

I have always said that God has sent me many people as angels to watch over my ways. In my great greed of wanting to know what I never knew growing up I now had a light always telling me what to do.

I made many mistakes in my life but those I do not regret because they made me grow and have made me the strong woman I am today. What I may have regretted was not having done the things I wanted to do at the time just to please the illogical and whimsical requests of the people who were in charge at the time.

Have similar things ever happened to you? Tell me, I would like to read if you are willing to share.

Thank you all for your comments and votes, I appreciate it.

I'm @gertu13 from Venezuela to the world.

24
$ 3.92
$ 3.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 23
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Comments

It is always easier to accept a NO when you know why. Thank you for sharing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I relate with the very first question. Of not being able to finish something that I started. Many times in High school would I set out to want to do a thing but eventually abandon em. When I look back now, I realise I have failed in more ways than I could count. But then again, I can't dwell in the past for too long. Cos in this life all we can do is move forward. :)

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Remembering those pending issues makes you grow and if you manage to learn from them you should not fail in the future. If you don't do this you will have missed many opportunities in your life. It is not about living in the past but about correcting what you left pending.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hmm... I'll remember these words, dear Gertu. Thank you. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being strick on a child and prohibiting/banning him/her from doing this or that is not the best way of raising up a child, i think the best way is by guiding the child the right way and telling him/her the risk in such, because what if the parents aren't there and he/she decides to do what they prohibited him/her from.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It is true that when we are forbidden to do it without having any information about why not to do it, then the curiosity is much stronger to want to do it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can relate to you. Many things happened to us like this in our childhood. I also did a lot of mistakes but I don't have any regret about it. I am happy to do the things which I wanted to do. At least now I don't have any regret about it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Life is a learning process.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Human have a curious nature. And we always want to try things out just to see. A child tries to walk because he sees other adults walking, then he falls down every time he tries to stand on his own. He then learns to hold something and stand so he doesn't fall down. The best way to learn sometimes is by trying. And we may never know the lessons we miss out on when we don't try. I have always loved to ask Why. I have a mind of my own, and if you tell me don't do this without a reason, the expect me to do just the opposite of what you said. I couldn't live with that curiosity. Glad you ended up doing the things you wanted too. Now you know better...

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thanks for your opinion, I don't like bans, I like conversations and advice. That's what I do with my son. I have never forbidden him anything. I have always advised him.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We all are intended to do mistakes in our life. We should learn from them. I agreed your mistakes made you good adult. My parents are also strict in this case and have eagle eyes on my every step. I love them and follow as many instructions as I can.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Following the advice of those who love us is the best thing you can do in your life, not accepting the advice of your parents will bring you difficulties in your life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, your words are right and clear to me sister. Thanks for beautiful reaction.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My parents did that to me also but they tell me the disadvantages of going against their orders so I've always got an answer after they tell me not to do certain things, most of the things they told me not to do are to make friends with people living around us which she claims to be stubborn and might negatively influence me.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

One thing is to advise and another thing is to prohibit, follow the advice of your parents, they love you and know what you say.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My parents is so strict when I was young, but now that I am a parents I realized that its our obligation to guide our children in the best that I can.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You must guide with wisdom not with prohibitions, remember that your children will grow up. Talk to them about all the risks in life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, thanks for reminding me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to be bestfriend's with a toxic person who would literally control me like you can't do this n that and when i asked she would be like come-on i don't own u explainations its just a toxic trait whee people can literally make u insecure ban you from things like don't post your picture online Don't have guy friends etc but they don't do same for themselves 😑

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We find everything in life. That happens when they forbid you things and don't give you the explanations for it. There is always a why and a wherefore of things in order to have a better life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I grew up with parents who dictated and banned us from doing something we like the most. But as I grow up, I realize that it's for my own sake. Indeed, parents know best.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

what I have taught my son is what they did not do to me. I explain to him why he should be careful not to do certain things, I don't forbid them. I've told him that when he wants to drink liquor invite his friends and drink but he still hasn't decided. I have told him not to arrive late at night, preferably he stays with his friends at home because there are many accidents at night. He still comes back early. What I mean is that one thing is to prohibit and another is to advise.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me too haven't been in a cinema, haven't tried to disco but I once saw what it is like inside. The surroundings is so dark, people were dancing with different steps and there are a lot of people who is under the influence of liquor. Then, I know why our parents and even the church advised us not to go to a disco place.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Times are different now. These places are not what they used to be. I even remember a discotheque that was for very old men and I accompanied some grandparents and we had a great time singing songs from their youth. Now these places are no longer for meeting with decent groups, they are groups of drugs and vices. Things change, people change.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes as the time goes by, some things were becoming worst.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm talking about 40 years ago. Lots of changes and people who want to get lost in those media get it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago