Imitator.

32 65
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

We look like self-made people, but we are what we are thanks to our great sense of observance. It seems unbelievable, but we are the greatest imitators in the world. That's where our evolution comes from.

We imitate from the moment we are born. The habits we learn in the family we keep for the rest of our lives, the way we gesture, some idioms when we speak, even the way we walk, talk, laugh, eat, we look like our relatives and the people we meet.

We also have the tendency to imitate the ways of being of the people closest to us and always the predominant factor is our observation, we see something, we copy it and we practice it.

From unsplash

I remember when I was young I had several friends from vocational school, but there was one person among them who influenced me the most. I copied her way of telling jokes, the way she said some phrases, to the point that someone once saw us talking and dared to tell me that I was a faithful copy of the other one.

I would never have realized that until my own sister told me. Of course at the time I didn't pay any attention to it and just laughed, but soon after I analyzed some of the things I did and said I realized that my sister was right.

I had adopted expressions and gestures of my friend. I even realized that when I was talking with another of my friends I also followed her way of speaking and ended up conversing with some of her gestures.

The horror! I had never realized that I was a great imitator. I don't know what this is about but I did it for a long time, I remember one time I was going to travel by ship to a nearby island in my country. I took the ticket, bought the ticket for my car and while waiting for an office to open there was a queue, half way.

I mean, people were lined up one after the other as they were added to the group and we waited for someone to open to serve us. The thing is, while we were waiting, the people I had around to hang out with decided to chat about the trip.

The person who turned out to be the most talkative was a lady with a Spanish accent and me. As the conversation became more pleasant, it got longer. We ended up talking about other things about the trip, but what I began to realize is that I was imitating the way this lady next to me was talking.

I mean, I was imitating the Spanish dialect. The lady didn't seem to mind and I don't realize this until a third person was added to our conversation.

That person of course also spoke my dialect and in order for me to talk to her I would have to speak like her. I realized that I was using my unconscious imitation and I had to make a great effort to find my sense of auditory orientation again and return to my way of speaking.

I don't know if I succeeded. I don't remember now. We were attended to as the office opened. We picked up what we were going to get and each to his own, I went back to my family and everything was forgotten.

But when I went to study at the university, the dialect there is different from that of my region. Guess what? I adopted that dialect. By the time I was able to return home I was speaking the dialect of the Venezuelan Andes and my northeastern dialect had been hidden for months.

I don't do it intentionally. It’s an involuntary and unconscious imitation, but this one I could not escape so easily. Why? Well, I had to work vacations when I came home from college breaks. I had to scrape together money to pay for months of room, board and whatever else I needed to pay for.

So, I had to start working as soon as I got home. There at the hospital, people who knew me made fun of me and asked me to change the way I spoke. I couldn't, I didn't even realize that I spoke differently.

But as much as people told me to listen to myself, I did and it was real. I didn't speak my oriental dialect, I spoke the dialect of the Andes. But you know, it was not easy to try to get rid of that way of speaking and when I was trying my best not to say any more typical Andean phrases, I had to go back there.

I lived there for 8 years. I kept that way of speaking. To the point that many times some people ask me if I am from Merida.

It’s not that I imitate because I want to, it’s that I imitate in an unconscious way and it is a very difficult characteristic to erase from my personality.

Tell me something, do you know a person who has these habits like mine? I would like to know. I never gave it importance, because I learned that everyone is as he/she is and this is something that is in my brain and I cannot avoid it. I’m me but I’m a dialect imitator.




Thanks to all my reader friends and my dear sponsors for following me. A special thanks to my dear @tired_momma for continuing to sponsor me.

20
$ 16.50
$ 15.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Alther
+ 17
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

It is normal to imitate other people consciously or unconsciously. Maybe you do it to be understood better. It has happened to me that I watch many videos where the language spoken is Spanish from Spain and I have to think correctly what I will say or else I start to speak like the Spanish. We also imitate behaviors, if we spend a lot of time with someone who has different behaviors than ours we can start to react like that person.

Because of this type of imitation it is good for children to have a good figure to follow or imitate. Forgive me for talking about children, but it reminded me of my childhood. When I was between 8 and 12 years old, it was normal for me to imitate my brother, not only because he was older than me, but also because he was my role model. My parents told me to stop imitating my brother, but it wasn't that I wanted to imitate him, it's that so much time being around him made me acquire my brother's behavior.

So it's totally normal, but it's easier to observe in children than in adults. An adult already has certain behaviors acquired throughout his life, which are complex to change, now the dialect is different, because we can modify it "easily" to adapt to the environment in which we are. My brother is already 2 years old in Spain and in a short time he had to start speaking Spanish to be understood.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Si, en los niños es la forma de aprender más común. Pero de adultos se puede hacer inconscientemente. Yo aún tengo ésta forma de imitar muy arraigada. Es muy común por lo que veo y leo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true maam, same thing happened to me as well. Because everytime I speak or have a conversation with anyone who has a different accent or dialect,I easily immitate them or adopt the way they speak,and I think its normal,by hthat I can learned some new words from them that are not familiar to me before.

Im newbie here.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Welcome. Show your best writing skills and start growing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed! I think this is very common to us, if we keep conversing with people with different accent, we tend to be imitating them subconsciously in the long run. Not only in accents, but with those habitual expressions too!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

But the strange thing is that I never saw this in my family and friends. And now I find out that everyone here has this same condition. What a strange thing but I like it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also unconsciously imitate accents. My husband is from Maracaibo and he doesn't have an accent, but when I speak with my sister-in-law that has an accent, my son says that I have a maracucho accent, Lol. And I do it unconsciously.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah what a relief to know that we are all copycats. Hehehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true ma'am. It happend many times. We can imitate the dialect and the tune of their language but without notice. It's not intentionally since we adapt it especially we are leaving the place for a long years.

I experience that also ma'am. When I decided to transfer other university. The dialect their was totally different compare to my own dialect. I imitate the way they speak and I don't know about it. It's not intentional. It's normal because I live their for five years.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Good thing I made this post. Now I realize that we are many imitators.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ma'am gertu.☺️ We are an imitators...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are doing great. Its some kind of intelligence as well. Your mind can easily adapt to different languages easily.In here, we have different barrio within a town and each barrio have different language. Everytime you encounter or visit neighboring barrios, there's a tendency that you will adapt their way of speaking. Infact we can imitate every language in here but ours was the most difficult to imitate as our folks said.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow, I think this imitating thing is very common. I'm fine with that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes.. Its just fine. You don't have to worry if you think your'e an imitator.I am even amazed when others can easily imitate others action and the way they speak. 😊 Not the overacting though. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot also happens here that by the intonation they give to the way of speaking, it is perfectly known from which province that person is. It is something that is perfectly linked to the place of birth. Some even speak as if they were singing.

Also for not telling you about the changed words that sometimes it is not understood what they are saying to me.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Jajajaja. I understand what you mean.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is actually normal that we tend to imitate others. Hehe. I came from other province and when I get to this city, I get to imitate the way they talk. Or maybe, it is adaptation as well..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad that many do. So I don't feel strange doing it hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don’t worry dear it’s actually not bad to do that, we do that a lot especially if they mean a lot and we want to be the exact same person… although it gets worse that we imitate even the way they speak or talk, I think it’s just a phase and you’ll get through it..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

In my youth was when I did the personality imitations. I don't do it anymore. Now I imitate only dialects. I can't help it.

$ 0.06
2 years ago

It’s not bad though.. you could minimize the way that happens, don’t take it like it’s so much to take in so please take care 💛

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dialect imitator. That is a unique skill. When I came home recently, my mother made me feel ashamed of the way I talk. I just unconciouslyy adapted a tone of how to say the words from my roommate which irates my mom. I don't know about her. I didn't do wrong, it was just my tone and she is shaming me to death.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's the same thing they used to do to me in the hospital. "Until you speak well I won't listen to you" is what they used to tell me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's normal for us to imitate things because it is part of our learning. We even imitate our teachers in school and our parents at home when they are mad 🤣🤣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's true. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Imitation may be a good tool for learning, way of surviving. It is rather positive feature, than negative. Plus we chose what and who to imitate too. It is fun to realize and observe this

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hello my friend. You haven't been here for a long time. But you are not writing post? Thanks for always stopping by. I don't realize I'm imitating someone until I do it and notice my change. But the worst thing is that I keep the imitation for a long time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know of a person who imitates those handicapped persons with imbecility and up till now, she still behaves like them even in her uncontious state of mind Sometimes, she releases spits from her mouth just like an imbecile person uncautiously and this problem had taken over her normal life that she now usually seeks a way out but still finds out that she just can't help stopping it

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's clumsy of you. I imitate dialects unconsciously.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can say my partner now. Most of her officemates like to vape and unfortunately, she did it now too. We've been together for 2 years and it is my first time to see her doing like that. I can really say people that surrounds on us really affects our routines in life

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's very easy to imitate when we make jokes. But don't let the imitation stick in your mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago