I must return home.

33 53
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Life is full of memories, the memories we make day by day as the months, years, decades go by... And I can say that I live today thanks to my memories.

I remember the time I met you. I was going through a few unpleasant moments and I was walking down the street. At that time of the night, almost 7pm, very few people walk the cold streets near the park, I usually see people sitting on the benches, close to the light provided by the brightest headlight. They almost never lift their faces to look around.

I was passing by, as usual, with my beige gloves tucked inside my double jacket as protection from the cold, with my hat and scarf. It gave very little room to see who it was.

I saw you today, just like the days when I walked alone in the park. Do you read? Or do you rest your eyes on the book? I don't really care, I walk by and you don't look up.

This photo is my property taken with my Redmi note 9 phone.

I really don't know if you take the book away from your face after I walk by or if you are still there hunched over and looking at your book.

Far ahead are a couple of old men, they smile, they always smile, I think they do it with everyone they pass. I don't think I'm the only person they give those beautiful smiles to. They can't be cold, they are so covered in fur coats they look like old Eskimo. I laugh but keep going.

Even though it's night and cold, I relax walking around the place. In the daytime it is a very busy place. There is a lake up ahead and ducks come to the shore to beg for food from passersby. Whenever I pass by during the day, I always bring bread crumbs, those are their favorite.

But at this hour you can only see the moon, clear and round, round and clear. It guides my steps, it walks with me wherever I go. It just keeps me company, because the moon is also a woman, she knows that sometimes the best friend walks beside us with the best of her silence and she does.

I have approached thanks to the company of my moon to the shore of the lake. It's all very clear. And my moon's reflection is seen in the still waters of my lake. Perfect, and white, and lonely like me.

Longing comes to my mind for the times when I didn't have so many responsibilities, in the days when work was just a few hours and then to enjoy family and friends. It was so pleasant to arrive in the afternoon and just have to take the car and go out to enjoy a nice evening, with the family of a friend who had invited me. I used to go to my favorite family, there were just jokes, laughter, games of chance with no gambling… I enjoyed it.

I spent the best years of my life doing the same thing, but then my boss decided I was important for another job in a more secluded place. I got out of all my habits, I accepted the challenge of better pay, of personal growth.

It was all for a better position in my job, from there I would be given a greater responsibility that would lead me to climb positions and of course more economic stability.

So I left my family evenings, I left my friends, my cheerful and jovial meetings with stories, stories and jokes that made my life happy, to go to look for more positions and more possessions.

I took my flight and came to this city. Now I work all day long, sometimes on Saturdays and mostly every day. I have been away from home for 5 years. My friends are far away, my recreational afternoons are over there, I have economic stability but... what about the rest?

This story will continue...

Thanks to all my dear readers and sponsors for your usual support.

19
$ 9.61
$ 8.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Alther
$ 0.10 from @Amax33
+ 12
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

Very thoughtful story, full of thoughts and questions, I'll be looking forward to the next chapter, greetings to you and take care.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you sister. The next chapter came out yesterday. Remember I write daily.thanks for your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Greater position comes with greater responsibilities. you sure have simple yet beautiful calm past of yours. I haven't experienced walking alone at night at the lake with the moon accompanying me. No matter what happen I know your family still have the same feeling as of now. It's been long 5 years are you planning to travel back for vacation? Hoping for the continuation

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is fiction my dear friend. And I have just published the final part. Thanks for stopping by and leaving your nice comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Take time to rest ,health is our wealth😊Anyway maam I love the flowers😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Que bueno que te gusten las flores.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In life, it's important to set priorities. I hope this has a happy ending. I'll look forward to the continuation.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Today you will read it but it is not a fairy tale.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's honestly hard to make everything balanced, but proper time management will allow us to achieve both, hopefully.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I say that instead of luck we better balance time with discipline.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Health first. So we can work and obtain benefits that will eventually contribute to the well-being of our family.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So cheers to all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can't wait to read the continuation of this story. I hope it has a happy ending.

Leaving the family and friends for financial growth is our own choice. We have to prioritize and come up with a decision that is both beneficial to self and the loved ones.

$ 0.06
2 years ago

I hope you like the ending but it's nothing like expected.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loved your story. It's hard enough to walk away from family and friends for financial stability.

Sometimes, just sometimes, it is the best option. Money, health and family are important, we need to have money to have good health. We need money to eat healthy and go to the doctor. If we have money we can solve our difficulties and those of a family member. If a family member gets sick, we can help him or her financially.

Family is also important, but with all the technological advances it is much easier to feel that we are close to our loved ones through a phone call, especially when they are far away. Many people have the facility to call their relatives by video call and feel that they are with them, even if they are many miles away. It is difficult, to cut the call and know that they are not near you, but you must know that they are in your heart.

To remember is to live, to remember the good, the bad, what makes us sad and the things that made us happy. But we cannot live only with the memories, we have to go on, keeping those memories in our heart and at some point remember them again with much affection.

It is nice to have some time off and be with the family again, to feel their warm love and all the support they give us to move forward. When you can, come back home, your family will be waiting for you with lots of love. Share as much time as you can with your family and friends, life is only one and we have to take advantage of it, we have to fill it with good and new memories.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You have stopped to make your opinion about my post very clear. It is the longest comment anyone has ever written to me. Thank you very much. I must say that it is a fictional story that I finished writing and it will not have an end so well expected. Our actions and decisions mark our life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, that's excellent. I used to write a lot of stories for myself, when I found out about this platform I was very happy, because I can keep writing stories and I know someone will read them. I will be very attentive to your posts.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you. You are very welcome to read and comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Achieving financial ability but losing our time with our family and ourselves is so saddening. Why can't we just get all those things at the same time? Why do we need to choose?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Because we are nonconformist people. Because we always want more. Because sometimes we don't see the good things we have because greed doesn't let us go beyond what we already have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't worry about the rest. Because family and friends will be united and stick with you again when you reach the peak of success.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is a fictional story and today comes the final part. Nothing expected.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess another good thing that a lovely memory of the past events helps us to do is to become specialized in our daily dealings in life and it opens up the doors of opportunities for us cos we have the experiences doing them and that can be seen from your own case of being asked to accept another role in your company by your boss

$ 0.03
2 years ago

As we become more capable at work, others appreciate and thank us for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The price for success ain't cheap sometimes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wonderful story. An apt use of description. Would be waiting for tjr continuation

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can't wait for the story to continue, I appreciate your writing 👌👌👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

U are welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Memories brings back memories to us, whenever we look at some memories we seem to cry and laugh alongside.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago