Getting lost in nature.

20 39
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

People throughout history have proven to be resilient. To have great survival power of their own, alone or in groups.

The same I have read of people who have been alone and have fought for their life until they made it and others who have given up and the findings of what they lived through in their last hours have shown what they went through.

I read about a lady over 65 who wanted to go hiking. She took one trail and her husband took another. After two days according to what they had agreed would be the reunion did not happen. The authorities were alerted and began the rescue with many members of civil protection, parks, and knowledgeable groups of the place. By air and by land, but the lady never appeared. They stopped looking for her after about 15 days.

Over the years, I think I read that more than 10 years passed before someone found a camping tent inside a body.

That is how they collected all the details of what happened to the lady and they say that she decided to leave the road to go to relieve herself. She left no signs on the road when she left the path and then when she wanted to return she did not succeed.

She kept going around and around, unable to find a place she recognized. She ran out of provisions and decided to run out of strength, food, and water and stay inside her tent.

She wrote some things while she could and among so many things she left the information of her relatives so they could send her remains to her, someday when they found her remains. She had lost all hope. She recounted what happened. There came a time when she became desperate and totally lost hope.

She was apparently alive for more than 20 days, the time they were searching for her. Apparently every time a group passed near where she was she had already moved from the place and they could not find her because of that. Then she would come back and no one was around.

How life is lost by doing things that we seem to like but for which we are not prepared. Being in the forest and not being able to find water or plants to eat is unfortunate.

And much worse to lose hope for seeing that she no longer had supplies made her die faster. She was still a very skilled woman, with a lot of strength but she couldn't cope with so much.

It is easy for someone who is not mentally prepared to succumb to nature, to spend dark nights alone, to hear strange noises during bedtime, to think that we are alone at the mercy of the weather, the wildlife, the insects.

I don't know what I would do, nor can I imagine myself going through such a situation.

Would you dare to say you would do better?

The imagen is from unsplash.

I'm @gertu13 from Venezuela to the world.

12
$ 2.13
$ 1.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 9
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Comments

Really bold attempt by the lady. Should appreciate her effort to go hiking in that age. If it was me I don't think I would have survived a day or so.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I don't think I would even dare to make that trip by myself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She's still a super woman for me -with full of strength and courage to do so. I think I couldn't survive being in the forest alone but her greatness and bravery is what I'm proud of. ^_^

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I wouldn't dare to make that trip by myself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

[deleted]

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think it can happen to anyone, but I personally would not go hiking alone without having someone with me who has at least done the hike.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's such a sad story. I don't know what will I do too when I am in that situation.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is difficult to know.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hiking in old age is truly incredible. They have the courage to say. Still, it would not have happened if they had not made this decision. Many cannot adapt to environmental adversity.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I think the difficult thing is to go alone to an unknown place to enjoy. I think I would do it but accompanied by someone who knows about survival. Go accompanied by other people who also like nature.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yo creo, que yo no lo haría, solo ni acompañado, en la selva hay muchos riesgos, hay que estar bien preparado mentalmente para hacer algo así y si le gusta la selva igual, tiene que estar bien preparado

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You have to be prepared when going on an excursion and I would never go alone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a terrific and horrible story of her. She must have fought her way out but didn't succeed. I wouldn't dare to even think about that

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I don't dare go alone even if I know I'm carrying supplies.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't think if I were to be at that same disadvantageous age of 65, I will do any better at all despite running out of food and water which is capable of inflicting the damage on the person

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I like walks but alone at my age I would not go alone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww. That's unfortunate. Sometimes those things that we want harm us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was so scary! I wouldn't dare to wander if I think I couldn't track the way back no matter how much I love to discover the place of wonder.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I would not like to be alone when hiking.

$ 0.00
1 year ago