Do you want to live in peace or agony?

21 48
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

On some other occasions, I have written about this same subject. Today I bring it up because I read a gentleman who practices an ancient discipline in his country and he commented on what I had tried to say at the time I wrote.

He, like me, assures us that we cannot be affected by the things that are said to us if we do not allow it. That is, if some person threatens me with a rude thing then I must control myself to such an extent that I must not show or feel in any way that what they have said has affected me.

We can complain if we prick a finger if we cut ourselves with a sharp object because we inevitably feel pain for that physical injury caused to our organism. If, on the other hand, it is not a physical injury but a bad word or a gesture of a person, we have two options.

The first is to feel offended and return the bad word or gesture to the person who inflicted it. Or we avoid feeling bad about what we have heard or seen and simply turn away without that moment having meant anything important in our life.

When we are very sensitive people, everything that happens around us affects us. At the end of the day, we end up being very unhappy people because people have achieved what they wanted. That we would be disturbed to such an extent that we would have a bad day.

It is not that day only because there will come another and another day. Because our personality is to accept the words and actions of others as an offense. It is not easy to avoid getting upset, it is all a matter of practice.

They say that practice makes perfect. When we begin to laugh at the bad acts of others towards us we will begin to have a better and healthier life. Preparing ourselves to not feel anger or the need to return an offense is hard for those of us who have become accustomed to not staying down.

It has been hard for me, but I continue to practice every day to avoid feeling bad about the mistreatment of others. When that happens I just think about taking a deep breath and letting the moment pass.

Let the moment pass to respond and tell me that it's not worth responding and I better go on my way. After a while, I feel good about myself because I didn't give that person the pleasure of me absorbing their venom and I continue on my way feeling peace and tranquility.

Let me know how long it has taken you to master this feeling of allowing others to bother you when they want you to. Or if on the contrary you still don't practice deep breathing and let it go until you get used to it and nothing affects you...

Image is from unsplash.

I am @gertu13 from Venezuela to the world.

 

13
$ 2.47
$ 1.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jeansapphire39
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 14
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Comments

I choose peace. You see, what we give more attention and desire to is what we will get. Life is like a two-sided coin, this two will always be present. If we choose to give more attention to getting peace, it will definitely come.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, that's right, practice makes perfect.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Think before you react or as what they say in the virtual world, think before you click. It is hard to do it even if we practice it every day but it is still a must that we should for we would choose self-preservation instead of giving power to the others over us.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is the purpose of all this, to be in control of ourselves and not let others control our emotions.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I pay more attention to myself. I feel bad when others talk about me but keep quiet. After listening to them, Ray said that if he gets peace of mind then let him say.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't think anyone likes to hear others speak ill of us, but therein lies this exercise. Try to take a deep breath because the truth always triumphs.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These two are part of our life but if we focus to live in agony then we will never have a peace in life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You have said it very well, it is up to us to choose how we want to live.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nobody wants to live in agony but the reality was totally opposite and this is what life gives us a realization that life is never easy. and it depends on ourselves on how to handle everything, especially on the hardest time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What we practice is what we do. We should practice more deep breathing and turning the page.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just as you have said ma'am, it takes time to learn self-control, but once mastered, one would never have to regret... I have found myself in mult instances where I had every reason to be angry but I didn't and at the end of the day I felt proud. Infact I was even surprised at my self...and that's how we grow

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I congratulate you for deciding to master your emotions and try not to get angry. Keep going, keep getting stronger.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We would all live in peace and agony.. These two would always exist.. To withstand agony, we have to learn how to restore our peace and continue living .

$ 0.02
1 year ago

If you restore peace then you are no longer in agony. These two should not be related. The evolved ones like Buddhist monks, those who practice spirituality in its highest expression no longer feel agony. They learn to let nothing from outside take away their peace. Those of us who seek to learn to have peace find it difficult, but we can reach it. With practice everything is possible, my dear Jane.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's what we want why we want to restore peace, to take away the agony. And yes, those monks are masters of focus.. Easier said than done, with all the challenges we are experiencing each day, it's too hard to live like them. But self-discipline could help.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I learned to walk away from what bothered me. Now I am learning not to be bothered by everything that used to bother me. Practice, I keep practicing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honestly, when we try to know everything around us especially about us, it leads to unhappiness and causes change of mood. It is either we give it a chance to affect us or turn it to "so what"

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All emotion depends on us alone. By mastering this emotion of rage or anger we win a battle.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me my ma'am gertu I want living peacefully. I don't want to be bother by someone especially those are not important.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad you like inner peace.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes ma'am Gertu. It's the best feeling ma'am.

$ 0.00
1 year ago