A new learning.

24 49
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Every day you learn something new. I didn't know that from the central stem of the banana plant you can get a palm heart, when I started to find out something about it, I discovered something new for me. I love to eat palm hearts, their texture, softness and flavor is very special to my palate.

I started to find out how to prepare the stem and this is how it goes, the plant is cut. Then you cut it vertically, that is, along the longest length, not horizontally.

Then you remove the center of the banana stem until you find the center of the stem which is very white and circular in shape just like the palm heart of the palm tree.

This must be prepared in a very disciplined way. It must be washed in water with salt and vinegar so that it does not oxidize, because it does it very quickly and becomes very dark in color.

From unsplash

Then it is cut into small or long pieces of about 5cm. They are washed in a solution with water and vinegar, let stand for a few minutes. Then the fiber that bounces that seems elastic is removed. It is then placed in a pot with water to boil with salt and vinegar for 2 minutes and then discard the water, remove the hearts of palm from the water... and then boil again in another pot, with salt and vinegar as well, but now for 10 minutes.

After this second boiling, the hearts of palm are cooked and should be refrigerated in glass containers with some of the water used for the final cooking.

What do you think? Do you eat it this way in your country? For me it's something new and I share it because maybe you do know it and you can share another way to do it.

I have my banana plants so the next time I cut the stalk to make fertilizer for plants I will cut it to take out the heart of palm and cook it. Just like I have learned.

I like it when I learn new things and especially when I learn how to recycle the parts of a tree. Before I used to throw away the dried leaves of my plants, the stems I pruned from my plants all for the garbage bag and after I learned that all this makes such a special compost for the plants, I never threw anything vegetable in the garbage again.

The same goes for farm animal feces. They are usually a special compost, the use of chicken manure, goat, lamb, cow, mule, horse feces, that is prepared in such a way that when it is put on the plants it makes them flourish and grow in such a way that you don't want to buy inorganic fertilizers with chemicals attached to them.

One way of composting that I learned is to cut off the damaged leaves of the plants and put them in a bucket. Then I put them in water until the container where I put the leaves is completely covered. After 24 or 48 hours I can use this water to water my plants and you will see what benefits it brings to all the plants where I put this infusion every week.

So far I tell you what I have learned again both in the culinary part and in the gardening part.

I thank you all for your kind comments and votes.

I also want to thank my sponsors who are more and more renewing their sponsorships: @oivas , @Jelena , @LykeLyca , @Olasquare , @jane, @Talecharm and@foryoubtc09 , thank you all very much.

I'm @gertu13 from Venezuela to the world.

27
$ 5.24
$ 4.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.06 from @Ling01
+ 24
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Comments

Hello my friend Gertu! I like palm hearts, but I didn't know how to prepare them, the truth is that we learn new things 365 days a year. I like palm hearts accompanied with avocado, tomato and onion, a little olive oil and salt, it is a delicious salad. They are sold in supermarkets, they are canned. That was a great explanation, it seems that it takes time to make them. Thank you very much friend for teaching us interesting things every day.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

I learned this yesterday my dear friend and another recipe with banana flowers. It seems there are many tasty dishes out there with plants that we discard.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Never heard about the banana plant and it's palm heart as it's not a common practice in my country. However there's this young mN I know iny area who after graduating from the university got busy by working on animal dung and supplying it to big farmers. His mates laughed at him as they thought he doesn't know his worth as a university graduate by doing such degrading job but he never listened to them. Two years later, he made enough money from.selling dung that he was a ble to set up a big business. The people that were laughing at him are still unemployed, broke amd waiting for the government to come give them jobs.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

That's what happens when we denigrate things we don't understand.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, indeed we learn new things everyday, I have not heard of palm hearts before, but after reading this, I will make sure to try it out, carefully following your guidelines. Thanks ma'am

$ 0.05
1 year ago

I read it on the internet and they tell me that in the Philippines this is eaten. In my country I had never heard of it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is the first time I am coming across anything related to the palm heart. I’ll research on it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's the same thing I did.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can watch videos about it.. Filipinos are eating that too 😁

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Yes, that's what I did, I saw many videos, in Spanish few but in Portuguese I saw many.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is my first time of hearing this. I have not read about it anywhere. The process looks stressful, but its worth trying. Before now i only focus on the fruit, but i will be exploring the stem too. Amazing

$ 0.02
1 year ago

What is interesting are its properties. Look for information and you will love it like me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay friend, i will do my own research and find more easier ways to prepare it. Thanks though for bringing it to limelight.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oh yeeah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for sharing ma'am, it's my first time hearing about using the usefulness of banana plant where we can get palm hearts like you've said,I'll try it out .

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Oh, very good. Thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is totally new dish for me. I am confident I can try it in next session because banana tree had immature banana fruit right now here. Each learning leaded us towards new Discovery. A great appreciation from me for you sister.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Trees are blessings indeed, especially the coconut trees, every part of it is very useful.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

yes, it's.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's always something new to learn everyday. And we should not waste that chance.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

It's rigth.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My father and grandma had always cooked banana heart when we have one. They add coconut milk and some pork. I loved it as well. You discover something new and that's great.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Thank you I will try it. I will find out that recipe, thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago