Second Chances: Is love really sweeter the second time around?

12 1294

Have you been in love before?

Photo from Pinterest

We're all yearning for love, whether it's romantic or platonic. Love is something that happens to us when we least expect it and something that most of us will never get tired of feeling. I'm sure you know what I'm talking about. Most of us want a soulmate: someone who will be there for us through thick and thin. Someone who will pick us up when we are down, give us space when we need it, and remind us of our self-worth when we forget it. But, what if your relationship with that someone didn’t worked out like you wanted it to be?

A few years ago, I met a girl. She knocked me off my feet—there was just something about her. She was very mysterious and unpredictable, but in a way that felt fresh and unexpected, not terrifying and chaotic like so many other people are these days. She made me feel alive—she made me feel safe and free. She was everything I'd ever wanted and more.

So we started dating, and things went well for a while. Sadly, we hit a rough patch. I made some mistakes—and she made some mistakes, too. We just couldn't seem to make it work anymore, but somehow neither of us wanted to let go. So we tried to fix things only to find that there was too much brokenness, too much hurt between us to ever be fixed again or so we thought.

For a while after that, we stayed friends—but at a distance, keeping our interactions minimal and non-committal, because we were both still so hurt by what had happened between us before. It took all the strength I had not to reach out to her, but somehow I held on when all I could think about was her. But to clear everything out, I don’t have any regrets about what happened. I know that everything happens for a reason.

I don't know where life will take us. Some of us have had it once, others twice or even more. We all can tell the stories about what happened, how we felt and why the relationships ended. You might think: "I'm never going to find the right person," or "I'm never going to get another chance at happiness." If you've ever felt the sting of rejection, then you know what it's like to feel like there's no second chance. But life changes, with each passing moment. Each day is a new beginning, isn't it? The old remains but to be polished. We all deserve second chances, because life is about living and learning. It's about exploring the future and finding hope for tomorrow. Love is like that too. It gives us courage to give another chance to someone in spite of our fear of being hurt again as we’ve been hurt before.

Photo from Pinterest

Just like what many people believe in, I also believe in second chances. I’ve experienced the heights of ecstasy and the depths of sorrow, so when I say love is sweeter the second time around, I don’t mean just any kind of love. I always gave people the benefit of the doubt and would hope that most people were inherently good.

But it's good to know that we can always try things again if we fail once. Still, the question remains: What if that second chance was with the person you were meant to be with all along? What if the reason you hadn't run into them yet was because they were busy getting ready to rock your world? Is it worth it? Can we reconcile and forgive those who caused us pain?

Many people say love is sweeter the second time around. Is it really true?

This principle applies not only to relationships between people but also to careers and other facets of life. Making a second attempt to find love may not be for everyone, but for those who have been there once before, love the second time around is more fulfilling and sweeter than any first-time experience.

The first time around, we learn from our mistakes and grow from that knowledge. We are able to take those lessons from our past relationships and apply them to a new relationship. We can use these experiences to become better people and better partners.

The second time around has so many advantages over the first. We will know exactly what we want out of the relationship, what the other person wants, and what the two of us want together as a couple. We will know if it's working or not by how we feel about each other. If all of these things line up then we have one great relationship!

Think about it: your worst breakups are often followed by better ones. Your most disappointing days are often followed by bright ones. It's true that the world doesn't always work this way, but if we look closely enough, there's almost always a light at the end of the tunnel—even if it's just a faint glimmer.

Many people never truly fall in love the first time. It is not that they did not find anyone to love, but perhaps they are afraid of being hurt or afraid of being rejected. But it is possible that things happen for a reason and a second chance in love is around the corner for them.

Photo from Pinterest

Do you believe in second chances?

You should. Second chances are not only for the person who is waiting for you to give them another chance, but it is also for yourself to try making things work again. Because when you come back from a breakup, your confidence has been boosted to 10/10, and your ability to spot red flags will become stronger. You're no longer going to give love away so easily—you're going to make your next partner work for it. And when they do, it's going to feel that much more special.

After all, everyone deserves a second chance.

6
$ 1.06
$ 0.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @McJulez
$ 0.05 from @JuanyChelme

Comments

I tried to give someone a second chance but he still broke my heart. Well, I know that not all people are the same since we are different from one another. Maybe I gave my second chance to the wrong man.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe he's not the right man for you. God knows you deserve better. Not just now, but perhaps soon. Just be patient and believe in His plans for us :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Probably, I am just really afraid of being hurt, which is why until now I still haven't found someone to love. But I don't want to be desperate haha. Still, I believe that someone out there is destined for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We don't need to rush things naman hehe. It's also been years since my last, but I never lose hope. If it's meant to be with us, it'll find a way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe in your last paragraph. You became much more braver and guarding you heart more. We all should believe in second chances, it's just that some people will find it tough depending on their past experiences, easier to be told than being executed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, heartbreakes make us stronger and better person

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt sad knowing your first relationship didn't worked but we don't know what the future holds, there's a chance that both of you will still cross paths or maybe you will meet someone else - the person you're really meant to be with. Update me about your love life uwu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahahaha hopefully I'll meet someone better soon. I'm not rushing things naman so there's no reason for me not to be happy. I still have my friends:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all get second chances in life. We deserve it but we should make sure that we are deserving. We should work hard not to waste our second chances.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. It's tough to imagine that so many people nowadays take second chances for granted. They are unaware of how precious and rare the opportunities that have been given to them are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People should also realize how hard it may have been for the other person to give a second chance. We should give back the kindness given to us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right. We should take advantage of every chance they give us to make up for the wrongs we've done to them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago