Indelible Memories: Travelling Back In Time

8 49

Are you feeling nostalgic for the good old days, when life was simpler and you didn't have a care in the world?

Photo from Pinterest

It's no surprise that many of us long for those simpler time in our lives. The truth is that this is a common feeling, one that comes to all of us as we grow older and realize that life isn't quite as carefree as it once was. I think the main reason we long for those uncomplicated times is because life is very hard.  It’s a struggle to make ends meet, and everything we’re expected to do seems so difficult.  I’m not saying that the old days were easy by any stretch of the imagination, but I think it’s worth reflecting on how much technology affects our everyday life.

I understand that it can sometimes be tough to feel like you're stuck in the present, with all of its chaos and uncertainty. I’ve been there, too—and I feel you.

I don’t know if it’s just me but I feel like life is so different these days that I am not even sure how to feel. Everyone seems to be going through a crisis of identity. Back when we were young, things used to be very simple. The days seemed to last longer and the nights seemed to be shorter. Everything was fun, and there was less to worry about. Back then, all we needed was a pair of slippers and the freedom to roam around the neighborhood and we were good. Now, we already have phones in our pockets, and yet it still feels like we're missing something.

Oh, to be young once more! How I remember those days, when the world seemed so big and you couldn't wait to get out there and explore it. Our thoughts were straightforward and our actions were always thoughtful. We weren’t ruled by money nor fame; our lives weren’t comprised of obligations nor deadlines. We didn’t buy stuff with the sole motive of impressing others, but instead we enjoyed the simplicity and comfort that seemed natural to us.

Photo from Flickr

I remember when I was a kid, my parents couldn't keep me indoors. We had lots of time for fun and games. We didn't have any worries about things like money or our careers—all we needed to think about was what kind of game we wanted to play next! If the weather was nice, you could find me outside playing with friends on the street.

I can still remember the nights we had parties and grilled out, while listening to rock and roll on the karaoke. The neighborhood kids would gather round, anxious to hear what fantastic adventure would come next. We also used to stay up late and play hide-n-go seek in the darkness.

I didn't have as many problems, or as much stress during those days. I could sleep on any problem that came my way and wake up with a fresh perspective. Now, though… well, you know how it is. They just make me toss and turn all night until I can barely drag myself out of bed the next morning. No matter how hard I try, the problems keep piling up and the stress keeps growing.

I couldn't wait to grow up when I was younger. I was so certain that my life was going to be better once I turned 18, or 21, or 30. I wanted to be old enough to wear nice and clean shirts and go on dates and stay out past 9:00 PM. But, now that I am one, all I want to do is go back in time and reclaim my youth. If only we had an extra life or two stashed away somewhere! Good old days, how different life is now! I could barely get out of bed this morning—let alone get dressed or going outside with friends!

Photo from Cuddlist

I'm not sure what's going on in the world right now that makes everything so difficult for us all. Maybe we're just looking at things through rose-colored glasses—is it possible that things were never this easy?  But as I think about life, maybe there's something we can learn from our childhood selves, something we can apply to our current lives to help us feel a little more connected to those "good old days." Either way, it's still nice to imagine what it would be like if things were simpler again.

Even though we may not be able to go back in time and relive our youth, we can still reminisce and celebrate the good old days—and maybe even pick up some simple advice that will help us make better choices today!

Yes! We can’t deny the fact that it really feels good to look back while taking stock of the lessons of the past, but sometimes it feels even better to embrace our present and wait for what our future holds. Because when we live in the past, how can we appreciate the present?

Here is to hoping that we never forget how wonderful life was in the "good old days." It may be impossible to do, but it is sometimes worthwhile to travel back in time, if only to learn something new.

Copyright ©, 2022 frdchckn. All rights reserved.


If you want to read more, here are my 5 latest articles:

Copyright ©, 2022 frdchckn. All rights reserved.

Sponsors of frdchckn
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 0.18
$ 0.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @Trifecta

Comments

Oh Childhood days! Those days were the best days of life that we wish to go back and enjoy again. Those trouble free days. When we were little, we longed to be adult to enjoy adulthood stuffs, but we got to here and feeling the toughness. Such is life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How I wish too. If we could only go back in time to experience those days again!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My childhood wasn't as great as yours but I had some great moments. I was so innocent back then and didn't have a care in the world. No problems. If only we could turn back time. lol but that's life. We grow up but our childhood memories will always be with us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! We have no other choice in this life but to move forward. The good thing in here is that we bring with us all the great memories as well as the lessons iin the past. We can use them to motivate and inspire ourselves in becoming a better person.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I enjoyed this article, sent me on a trip down memory lane.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much! If you have some free time, you may also read some of my previous articles. That would be really helpful:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pure nostalgia ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! I wish we could go back in time once in our lives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago