Part Il: Visit to Stonehenge

28 92
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

Hi guys I am sorry I haven't been present much because I was busy making the most of Andre on his annual leave last week and also because I have not been well and the weather has been making me sluggish. I have missed all of you! As promised, here is the continuation of our Stonehenge visit. If you haven't read the part I yet please click the hyperlink.

From the Stonehenge Visitor Centre, we took a shuttle bus to the main attraction, the Stonehenge Cursus which apparently receives more than 1 million visitors a year. It used to be accessible for everyone but due to its fragility and in order to keep it preserved at a good condition it is only accessible to limited number of people outside normal visiting hours and it needs prior authorisation to do so as well. But I'm happy to walk around the perimeter as long as I can see it in close proximity.

When I saw the Stonehenge Cursus from afar, my heart did triple back flips. This is it! One of my bucket list getting ticked. For the longest time I have been content of seeing them in photographs. Some people say these are just rocks but to me it is ancient mystery and an architectural marvel. To think prehistoric humans managed to make such a structure in the absence of modern day technology is quite amazing to me.

Each silicified standing sand stones at the outer ring are around 13 ft tall and 7 ft wide. They weigh around 25 tons. The inner circle, on the other hand, is made of smaller blue stones. The whole monumental ruins is said to be aligned to the location of the sunrise during the summer solstice. Archeologists believed that the Stonehenge was built around 3000 to 2000 BC. It is also believed that it has been a burial grounds from its early beginnings up to 500 more years. Human bone deposits were dug around the site and surrounding areas. In fact some of this digs can be found in the Stonehenge Visitor Centre to this day.

Some folklore claims that the Stonehenge was actually created by the legendary wizard Merlin who magically teleported stones from Ireland where giants had assembled them. Others say it was built by Danish invaders. Some say it is a Roman temple ruins. While the more modern generation are convinced it is a spaceship landing for aliens. Take your pick on whichever you want to believe. I would stick to the boring side of it being a burial site as I am a realist.

Andrea and I walked around the whole structure and took loads of photos along with tons of tourists too. Long walk I would say as it was massive. We attempted too many couple selfies too as we did not have a tripod and we were to shy to ask others to take it for us. We were lucky as the cloudy weather dissipated when we were there so our photos turned out pretty great! When we finished walking around, we decided to head back to the shuttle bus as we have come quite a long way from home.

It was such an exhausting day due to the commute. But I was really very happy with it. I am very much grateful to my lovely boyfriend for taking me all the way to Stonehenge even though he has been there already and also for sponsoring the trip. Hoping for more adventures with him in the future. That's all for today. I hope you enjoyed our little tour! Cheers!

PS: Photos are all mine taken with Google Pixel 6 ❤️

18
$ 0.51
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @fantagira
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 11
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Ohh this is a place where I'd like to be once!!! A mysterious ancestral space of our old history, and nice shots!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you so much. It means a lot coming from you ❣️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My pleasure really, we both enjoy those moments and taking photos as well!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwww🥺…. You both look lovely 🥰 together. This is giving me special vibes with the nice environment in it🤩🤩🤩🤩

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woah!!! Thanks for the photos ate! Grabe napaka ganda! I think that it was made by the giants eh.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I am actually starting to believe that it just might be true ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww, you two look so cute 😍 I can totally relate top feeling sluggish, especially this last week. That rain just never ends! Although this morning I was surprised by the sound of silence :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh yeah I didn't get rained on this morning as well. Hahaha. Winter is really not my cup of tea.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I’m sure you’ll get used to winters 🥶 we might even have snow this Christmas 😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang taas pala ng sand stones na yan. Parang yan yong sinabi nila na ginagamit something ng mga ancient people sa ritual. Australia?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's amazing how those stones were stacked so many years ago. What's also amazing is how it aligns into perfect parallel lines with other significant historical sites many thousand of miles away.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah with the absence of proper measuring tools this is definitely a feat. Maybe magic does exist?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Or alien technology 😂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ang cute ng mga stones parang ung sa infinity wars na scene

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha oo nga baka dun nakabase :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww, such a lovely couple. Wishing you a happy future ahead. Locations like this are a proof that people were advanced in that generation also because making such piece of art can only be done by human brain.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwww thank you so much. Indeed it is amazing to see such a great structure from the olden days. An epitome of human intelligence.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aaw you both look so lovely sis. Grabe ano, akala ko nakalapit ka talaga.

Sarap siguro ng feeling ag naka punta dyan sis. Its quite popular place to visit.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It was beautiful sis. I hope to come back someday. Feeling ko nasa movies ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I believe seeing this stoneage pictures in our calendars. No wonder it looks great.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is so much better in person. I was in awe ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very lucky. God bless you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow ang ganda naman diyan sis. Parang tingnan mo sa nasa movie. Ang lawak tas ang unique.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly how I felt sis. So surrreal ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's something magical and mystical about the second to last photo and the first few ones. I'm always fascinated how structures like this were built. I'm starting to believe that they were smarter then or probably bigger and stronger - giants themselves!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I do think that they are bigger than us. Cause no modern man can move that rock. Have humans shrunk as time went by?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

If you are religious, from what I recall told to us when we were kids, humans were god-like and were taller and bigger before only that sin corrupted us even our physical forms.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh I like that theory. Interesting take Lee.

$ 0.00
1 year ago