Part I: Visit to Stonehenge

47 90
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: My Story, Blog, UK, Stonehenge, Travel, ...

Hello readers. In this article, I will be sharing to you my first ever visit to the iconic Stonehenge (hopefully not the last). In my almost 4 years of being in the UK, I have never been until my boyfriend Andrea finally took me there last weekend.

Us sporting our tacky earphones. 😂

We took the Stonehenge tour bus from Salisbury City Centre and began our journey to the henge. The bus fare was 34£ per person which included the entry fee to the Stonehenge, old Sarum, and the Salisbury Cathedral. It also came with tacky orange earphones to be used on the bus to hear the commentary about some sites we passed by along the way, including of course, the Stonehenge.

Stonehenge builder houses ❤️
Andre trying out the bed.
Wefie❤️

The bus took around 30 minutes to reach the Stonehenge Visitor Centre. Andre and I first went to the cafe to get some coffee as we were both very sleepy and cold. We then headed to recreated model houses of the Stonehenge builders. What interesting structures they were. They kind of remind me of hobbit houses. I could live in them. Inside it was very minimalist. There was a bed that is made of wooden wick but looks comfortable Andre had a lay in one of them (I am not sure that was allowed). 😂

There was a big stone there called Stone 60. Well at least a replica of it. It's a stone that stands upright Sarsens of the inner horseshoe. It is said to weigh at least 28 tonnes. To create the Stonehenge, the stones were moved using simple machines comprised of a wooden sledge, rollers, and ropes. Andre and I both had ago at tugging it to see if we could move it. Along with other mighty tourists. It did not even budge.

My muscles at work.
Stranger tried.
Andre gave it his all.

After trying to move that humongous stone we went inside the little museum at the Stonehenge Visitor Centre. We were in quite a hurry due to time constraints so we didn't dwell much there but oh so many things to see.

Just a projected image of the Stonehenge.
Hammerstones of Sarsen and Flint.
Archeological dig around the burrow sites nearby.

There was a mini exhibit there called Circles of Stone which featured Japanese archeology at the time of the Stonehenge. Andre and I quite enjoyed it simply because some of the pieces were rather cute. And some really intricate ones too. The display was of course popular to the Asian visitors.

This is called a flame pot. This is a 5000 year old Japanese masterpiece ❤️
Dogu the earth goddess
This is a replica of tablets found in Oyu stone circles. ❤️

Well I think this article has run too long. I will have to promise you a part II where we can have a look at the Cursus Stone. Which is the main highlight of the show or the Stonehenge that we all know of. See you in my next article. And I hope you've enjoyed this one. Have a splendid day! Cheers!

22
$ 2.16
$ 1.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 12
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: My Story, Blog, UK, Stonehenge, Travel, ...

Comments

The travel is wow! It was funny seeing you puling the stonehenge. What's your noise.app name? Ikaw pala to haha. Andrea's name is unique.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ahahaha I think I am still flapiz on noise.app 😂 I always tease Andrea that it is a female name. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What country are you in nga? Normal guy name sa kanila ano. Ok flapiz.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am in the UK. My boyfriend is Italiano 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We'll wait for more blogs about your travel with him 🤭

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is looking like you have done so much fun there as it is expressing from your photos

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It was a brilliant day ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This place is worth exploring and I am excited to see how you are creating as many memories as you can with Andre.

I doubt anyone can lift that stone unless done collectively by 50 people or more 😂🤣😂🤣. It's too big.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you Ola. We did make the most of his holiday. I think superman or the Hulk can do this alone but definitely not a normal person with no superpowers. You should give it a go though you seem like a strong man. 😂

$ 0.02
1 year ago

😂😂🤣🤣😂I have the combination of Hulk, Superman and Spider man all together. Easy peasy... I would try it 😂😂🤣😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

amazing.. i wish to be able to go there too huhuhu kaya paba kaha sa akong lifetime? hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kaya kaya sis. If you book ahead it won't be to expensive. Have you got family in the UK?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think none sis..ehehe the only hope is for the husband's company to sponsor him and see if he can bring his fam even for a few weeks... but that's in sweden but I think that's closer to going there...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well it can happen sis. Mag plan ng Euro tour kahit like ng term it should be a good experience.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amazing photographys dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you Sash :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! I will definitely try and visit London . It’s soo nice to find yourself in an adventure tour. I even googled for the place and I truely feel that it’s a lovely place 🥰🥰🥰

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There are a lot of things to see in the UK. Definitely must visit specially in the summer months.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ok I will 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for this. I'm a history buff and have seen many significant things associated with Stonehenge. I have never seen the builder houses before pretty cool. Oh that replica tablet looks like a cell phone 🤣 I wish to visit there someday!!

Nearby where I currently live us carhenge. Like stonehenge but made of cars instead brick. Not quite the historical significance though 🤣

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Ahahaha it is kinda like a little calculator to me but an old nokia look a like too. Now I kinda want to see the carhenge. Googled it and was amazed.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Hehe I have seen on tv, news papers, friend's phones, and such. It's about 6 hour drive away. I haven't been yet. But it's cool how they made a replica out of cars though.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oh you must go on your birthday and write about it. It sounds amazing. I would if I could.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha but I'm working on my birthday though oh shoot that Tuesday for me

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh no you aren't. Oh my goodness you are such a workaholic 🧐

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm off this week but working my side hussle job. I have next Friday off though

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well I will be looking forward to see what you are up to.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aw thanks for that. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also want to roam the world and visit such wonderful places like that, Stonehenge is such a mysterious yet beautiful place to go with due to its popularity. Maybe someday I could visit that too, maybe with the love of my life.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Awwww anything is possible Chukakiku. I hope your dream comes true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow ganda naman diyan sis. Ang sarap lang maggala. Sobrang nakaka enjoy. Nakakapag relax ng mind at body.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo sis sobra pero kapagod din daming commute. Dapat talaga maraming energy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe oo sis. Daming energy dapat nakahanda. 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww, I remember the stone age. You really take me to the paleolithic age

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwww I love the animated film of that. And that skrat with his acorn 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just looking at Stone 60 breaks my back already lol!

The huts reminds me of The Flintstones :D :D

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oh yeah you are right does look like Flintstones. It may actually be based on that.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I want to visit it, but England is quite far from my country. Maybe, I'll raise the money to go there.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Where is home @fioly_rea? I am sure you can save up. ❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amazing tour, looks like you had great fun there. Excited to see the real deal.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Took me almost 4 years to do so my friend so I am to the moon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Is that where Merida was on the movie or. Was is a. Different place? That's quite famous place but odd they tell you why did they do it for?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I think Merida was Scottish but I do see what you mean. They use it for rituals and burials.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ah okay, that was a differnet place pala sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I loved that movie sis ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me and my husband will surely enjoy it there. I wish we can visit next year with the kids. 😊 Thank you for sharing lovely photos!!!

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Always welcome Jo. Yes definitely it was fun and some parts are interactive and kid friendly.

$ 0.00
1 year ago