Time for a forest walk

45 94
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Monday, 13th of September 2021

Another week has started and with new week I decided it is about time to move more. I remember walking daily around the sunset time at the start of the pandemic and I was doing it for a good few months, but then I slipped and walked less and moved less and since my salsa life is starting to come back I realised just how unfit I became. I used my broken wrist as an excuse not to do yoga. Once wrist healed, I broke a shoulder, so that was a good excuse too, but for walking I donโ€™t need a wrist or a shoulder, so not sure why I neglected it so badly.

On Sunday, my friend Nunzia visited again to help me out on the allotment, so we had good 2 hours of exercise and that reminded me how good it feels. So I decided itโ€™s time to get back to walking daily and if not walking, then other type of exercise. Today I settled for a walk in a nearby forest. Just before I was going to leave, my friend messaged me, so I connected my earphones and took her with me for a walk.

Forest path with quirky tree on the left.

Not long after I enter the forest there is a quirky tree on my left side. I took a picture of it many times, but for some reason I keep taking more. Itโ€™s just an unusual looking one, I really like it. Actually my ex partner first noticed it and since then I always think of him when I see it.

One of my favourite trees.

Once I was a little deeper in the forest I strayed from the path to check if any yummy mushrooms decided to show up. I wasnโ€™t too lucky this time, or maybe I was a bit preoccupied with talking to my friend. It was already an evening too, so not a great visibility, but at least I was still able to take a few good pictures.

No mushrooms this time!

One great thing about this forest, apart from being utterly amazing is that the terrain is rather hilly. Cute footpaths lead up and down the hills, which makes every walk a great leg workout. I donโ€™t usually notice it that much while Iโ€™m walking, but I always feel it at the back of my legs once Iโ€™m back home.

Jarzebina or Moutain Ash

I was happy to see the Jarzebina fruits along one of the paths. According to google the name of it in English is Moutain Ash or Rowan. Seeing these always reminds me of my childhood and that back to school feeling that September brings. We had many of these bushes/trees growing in the area where I was growing up.

Trees cut by the forestry.

Some piles of trees cut by the forestry earlier this year are still laying around. I canโ€™t help but this of them as corpses. Seeing them still gives me a cringe and reminds me of total meltdown I had back in April when I saw how many trees they cut and what a mess theyโ€™ve made out of my beloved forest. I know for sure I was not the only one who felt this way, as some people painted quite loud messages on these tree logs and afterwards the forestry put up the signs explaining why they cut the trees and that they will grow back quickly. Looking at the size of some of those trees it is clear that the person who wrote that message wonโ€™t even be alive by the time a new tree will grow to the same size, but sure, give us more bs excuses.

One of the footpaths with itโ€™s beautiful surroundings

Anyway, I better calm down before I go on another rant. As you can see from the pictures, the forest is still beautiful. I just really dislike it being cut down. In England weโ€™re still lucky to have many beautiful forests for relaxing walks and foraging for mushrooms and berries. In the area of Netherlands where my ex partner lives for example there are no natural forests, as they were all cut down. There are many man made parks and gardens, all beautifully landscaped and manicured, but it doesnโ€™t compare to a wild forest like this one which is just over 10 mins walk from my house.

Walking here always makes me feel good. Not only the greenery all around me, but also the smell of pine trees. Itโ€™s like a free aromatherapy session, coupled with endorphins from exercise and great childhood memories. Before I knew it, 2 hours have passed and I came back home happier than I was before I left. I am hoping that writing this article will serve me a reminded to visit this beautiful place more often.

Until next time ๐Ÿ’™

18
$ 5.16
$ 4.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @LucyStephanie
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
+ 8
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Comments

it's really therapeutic to walk in the forests. i love to do it alone, with my dog. it's important that governments work to preserve forests and woodlands for the future of our planet and our children.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love it too. Tomorrow morning I will go again. Sadly the greed often wins over the preservation ๐Ÿ˜•

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gosh! By reading your post I canยดt help feel in touch with nature! Itยดs like if I were there sharing your experiences! So bad all those trees were cut down but, letยดs try to see the beautiful face of that wonderful view you have!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for stopping by and enjoying it with me. The forest is still there, just a little skimmed ๐ŸŒณ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a refreshing forest virtual tour. ๐Ÿ’š I just hope they maintain it despite constructing parks and not just cut down trees and leave a mess. I also hope you find some mushrooms the next time you go there. I'm also curious how the Jarzebina berries taste like.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, me too, Iโ€™d love to see them preserved as much as possible and even grow more. Iโ€™m not sure Jarzebina is edible raw, but I know you can use it to make some stuff. I never tried though ๐Ÿ’™

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Having a forest nearby is a great blessing already. However I am furious about those people who destroy it for the sake of greed.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Me too Bry. I had a total meltdown when I saw it in April. Luckily I can still enjoy my walks there, just need to choose different paths, as some were damaged.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe someone got all the mushrooms there? Hehe. Better luck next time at least you were able to walk and exercise.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exercise was the main objective this time anyway, so itโ€™s a success. I will go look for the mushrooms after the rain ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can't beat a walk in the trees, I try to do at least twice a week.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Twice a week is a good start. Iโ€™m also walking to allotment, but itโ€™s a short walk. When I top it up with allotment work itโ€™s a good all round exercise ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The allotment work is great exercise, I ditched the car to go greener last year, and now walk everywhere, a great feeling.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love my car too much to ditch it, but I only use it for longer trips. I also walk to the local supermarket for smaller shopping. Working from home sure makes it easier to use it less ๐Ÿ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope to be able to find some forests too! Btw, walking there in the evening with not light should be a little bit scary, overall with that strange tree :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It wasnโ€™t to start with, but I was walking for too long and it was dusk already when I was walking back. The only person I met was another women walking alone too. Witches gathering ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm...this is cool. It's a nice place to behold.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, itโ€™s a lovely forest, true blessing ๐Ÿ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I will describe your experience it will be, a walk to remember. The scenery s so pleasing ang peaceful.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It sure is. I really need to go there more often ๐Ÿ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The forest is awesome. What a wonderful walk there Monika..โค๏ธ

I'm sad too if the people in our country cutting trees since trees is one of our protection from disaster like landslide.๐Ÿ’”

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thatโ€™s true, plus they serve as the lungs of Earth. It always saddens me to see them cut ๐ŸŒณ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you're right Monika. I hope it will stop and think before doing an actions too.๐Ÿ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Are there wolves there? ๐Ÿ˜… like in the movies ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha ๐Ÿ˜‚ No, I havenโ€™t seen any yet. Only deers and squirrels, but there must be other animals, cause there are tunnels dug up in some areas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mo... I would like to take this walk with you while I hold your hand as you laugh heartily at my stupid jokes and tickles. ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That would be awesome! You would love that forest, especially after living in that concrete jungle of yours. A breath of fresh air ๐Ÿ’š๐ŸŒณ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ you know how to have a dig at me every time ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚. Just wait till we meet...I will dish out my punishment to you in person. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sure, sure, Iโ€™m looking forward to that punishment which never comes ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You'd be shocked and well...it is the kind of punishment you'd love so much... ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hence why Iโ€™m looking forward to it and meanwhile earning more punishment whenever I can ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ earn more punishment please...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Donโ€™t get me started Ola! Youโ€™ll be crying in 5 mins if I tried ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The more the punishment... ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐโค

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This forest look quite and beautiful as well I wish to have a quiet place like this to visit when I want to be alone

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, I get many great ideas when walking there ๐Ÿ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm that's cool

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed this forest is so beautiful calm and am sure it will be cool with fresh breeze as well

This place must be your relaxation place to think and focus

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Itโ€™s a blessing to have it so close. I do need to go there more often ๐Ÿ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok that's true anyways

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Having such a place so close to your home is wonderful. And yes, you should go more frequently. And those cut trees are a sad thing. I remember having seen them a while ago in one of your posts. It's a shame.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, it still triggers me when I see those logs and many damaged paths, but I just donโ€™t wanna get upset again. Itโ€™s a blessing to still be able to walk there ๐Ÿ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our place is like this. There are many trees. I could only hear the sound of the birds while walking through the footpaths. Very calming and soothing!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Then you are also very lucky, like me. Many places have no more forests.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿงก๐Ÿงก

$ 0.00
2 years ago