Allotment No 14A update

42 209
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Thursday, 19th of August 2021

Today I decided to go and water my allotment. This reminded me that I haven't posted an update about it for months! Let me make it up to those of you who asked for these (especially @MarSou ) . It will be a few months worth bumper update. Here is the first article I wrote about my allotment.

I tried to be a smart ass and add all the pictures first, then write the article in between, but that backfired, as I don't seem to be add text in between the pictures. Anyone else experienced the same? Let me know in the comments if you found the way around it.

Anyway, so I deleted the pictures and starting yet again. Let me start with a picture of slow worm. We found a few of those as well as frogs underneath of plastic sheets.

Slow worm found on my allotment

Back in April or May we used the sheets we found on the plot to cover up the land, so the grass and weeds below would dry out, saving us some work.

1st of June - lots of work ahead of us!

First day of digging the allotment was at the beginning of June and was not as bad as we expected. Nunzia and I came prepared with tools, beers and snacks. We spend as much time digging, as chatting to other owners of allotments. We met many lovely people and got some useful tips too.

3rd of June - digging begins!

Plastic sheets did a great job! Grass underneath was dry and below it we found more fabric sheets, so with a help of fork and a neighbour, the first part of our land was ready uncovered in no time.

Working the land is weirdly satisfying.

Then some more digging. I won't lie that this part was easy. I developed a few blisters after this session. Once we dug up a big square for future planting, we applied some bags of manure and mixed it with prepared soil. Then we put the plastic sheets back on top, so the weeds don’t sprout before we plant anything there.

19th of June - we're ready to plant!

After couple of weeks we came back with a few more bottles of beer and some plants to put into prepared soil. We uncovered only some part of the soil and left the remaining part under the sheets for now.

Next we planted the first veggies - tomatoes and broccoli. Sadly tomatoes were wiped out by tomato blight before even first flowers set in, so I removed them to avoid further infection. Broccoli was mainly eaten by slugs and snails. There are a few leafless stalks left and I’m unsure if anything will still grow out of them, but I left them be for now.

My neighbours rose to bring some colour!

My closest neighbours - Vanessa and Barry found that they don't do too well with growing their food, but Vanessa loves flowers, so she planted many of them around their plot. This beautiful rose is one of them.

3rd of July - courgettes are in!

During the next visit we did some more digging. Soil under the plastic was nice and rich and worms had a feast with the manure we applied. We found many of them while digging.

We planted many round courgettes, a row of carrots and a few squash plants. These came as seeds all the way from Argentina, where Nunzia visited earlier this year. She grew the little plantlets at home and then we transplanted them into the ground.

After all work was done, we sat on the grass, drank our beers and talked till it was completely dark and our bums were wet from the dump grass.

22nd of July - courgettes are growing well.

A little while later the courgettes grew quite a bit, but I also had some weeding to do! Nunzia went away to Italy, so I had to motivate myself to come on my own.

Weeding needed!

As you can see above, tomatoes are no longer here and broccoli is barely visible through the weeds that already set in! At that time I was visiting my allotment every other day, as we had a short sunny spell and no rain, so I had to water the plants often. Last visit I spent removing all those tiny pesky weeds, but every gardener knows that weeding is an never ending job. When I arrived to my allotment today, this is what I saw!

Courgettes became monsters!

Yes, those courgettes are looking lush, but what’s with the weeds? Seems like only yesterday I removed the lot and today I had to spend over an hour to remove most of them again. It's probably been good few weeks since my last visit to be honest.

More flowers from neighbouring plots. Aren’t these lovely? Maybe next season I will plant some flowers too. The help with attracting pollinators, as well as bring lots of colour in between rows of fruit and veg.

After over an hour of weeding.

Finally I could see a few carrots and even broccoli gained some leaves again. Who knows - maybe there is still hope for it.

Long bath needed after all this weeding!

Once the work was done, my nails weren’t too happy looking, but there is something magical about working with soil. It just makes me happy. It also reminds me of what I wrote in this article - green thumb is a dirty thumb πŸ˜‰

I took a longer path to walk back home and after a shower I felt so much better than before I went to allotment. I need to make sure to go there more often, because it’s as good for my soul as it is for my body and my plate!

Let me end this article with a few flowers I captured from neighbours plots. I love that many of them grow flowers as well as edibles.

My neighbours artichoke flower.
Gorgeous variety of dahlia.
Beautiful orange cosmos.

Until next time πŸ’™

19
$ 10.58
$ 9.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.20 from @ARTicLEE
+ 14
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Comments

Loved it!!! You didn't knew you're the weeds bitch??? 🀣🀣 Tending a garden is a 24/7 job, as soon as you turn your back, the weeds sprout, the aphids apetite is voracious, no resting for a gardener But I'm still have high hopes for those courgettes 😍

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Courgettes are quite big by now! Yeah, never ending work in the garden πŸ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow that's great article about plants i love's plants

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks ❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Working as a team is great, I like the way you are working together. The roses are lovely, they fascinate me. The zucchini is growing beautifully. The project you are undertaking is arduous, your hands say so and I will you the best.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah, it’s great to have company while working on this huge project. Courgettes are pretty big now, we’ll be harvesting them soon πŸ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

re : uploading pictures first - try putting a few spaces before uploading another picture.

Weeds are really a pest, they grow and spread faster than what we planted.

Soon you will be harvesting courgettes, and hopefully some carrots and broccoli. there's nothing more fresh than what is harvested from your own garden.

Maybe you can add some flowers too to make your allotment colorful. 🌺🌻🌹

Great job Monika! πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.07
2 years ago

Thank you for the tip - I'll try is next time :)

Yes, next year I'll add some flowers, but first we have so much clearing to do before next season!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Judith and coqui answered your question about the space in between photos :D

That slow worm doesn't look like worm at all :D

You really did a good job here and your nails agree :D

$ 0.07
2 years ago

Yes, first time I saw it was when my neighbour shouted that there is a snake :D It does look a bit like a snake, but it's not ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think the only plant that I plant in my place that survive was cucumber,chili and cassava

$ 0.07
2 years ago

Ohh, cassava! I absolutely love cassava. I'd be happy if I could grow only cassava on my allotment, but our climate is no good for it :/

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yeah. I'm in a tropical country so it's easy for us to plant root crops.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are doing great with the allotment Monika. It's only a matter of time when your space is filled with crops and beauties!

$ 0.07
2 years ago

Thanks Bryan. Lots more clearing of brambles before that ;)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow you did a good job in weeding and preparing the soil for planting, hardwork pays off.. Beautiful flowers πŸ’

$ 0.07
2 years ago

Thank you. Still a lot more to do, but we didn't think we will be able to plant anything, so a few crops is already a success :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought the worm was a snake.πŸ˜‚ You work really hard. Hope the green stains leaves entirely after washing.

$ 0.07
2 years ago

Yes, first time I saw one, I also thought it was a snake. No worries, my hands and nails are back to their beautiful selves now :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

cheers for the green hands ! and the aftereffect to your nails of weeding tho hahaha. we sometimes do that in the backyard. and mama would tell us to cut our nails first so it would not be hard for us to clean them afterwards.

$ 0.07
2 years ago

Hahaha, not to worry. After a bath you wouldn't guess I was ever working with the soil ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh I feel your joy in doing those ☺ and can relate with the weeds growing even more quickly than the plants.πŸ˜‚

$ 0.07
2 years ago

It is good for the soul. I need to go a do some more weeding tomorrow!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe so, and I am now awaiting for the sun to shine then I'll go out to do some weeding too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Apparently we have a week of sunshine ahead of us... we'll see if that's true ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That would be really awesome if it's true!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Weldone. You are really doing well.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. Gardening is fun and therapeutic indeed

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It sure is :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello. I loved the flowers, how beautiful. I am a plant fanatic too. I have a lot of them in my yard. Someday I will do an article about them. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm happy you enjoyed them. None of the flowers are mine :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seeing your photos, your allotment, the zucchini. It makes any want to work with the land. And of course, also read about after-work beers as well. I love the photo of the Dahlia.

About adding the photos first to the articles. I did it once and had the same problem. But then I solved the issue by entering a line space between each picture after uploading each one.

$ 0.07
2 years ago

I'm happy you enjoyed it Eliana. Thank you so much for the tip. I'll try it next time πŸ’™

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The flowers bloom because of hard working green thumbπŸ’›

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Let me be your allotment, cultivate me, weed me, work me πŸ˜‚πŸ€£. Work your fingers on me too 😭😭😭

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Blimey Ola! I hope you won’t make my fingers so dirty πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha it should be creamy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You definitely have a green thumb, Monika!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If there is such a thing then I do πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

and that's a gift, dearest :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago