Allotment clean-up came early

38 129
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Thursday, 9th of September 2021

As many of you know from my last article, my weekend was full of amazing vibes. Staying up till crazy 5am on Friday night (or Saturday morning rather) paid off big time already, as my 0.25BCH investment is already worth approximately 0.7BCH! I earned almost 0.5BCH in mere 4 days. It took me around 2 months to earn this amount here, even with higher tips. As they say - money makes money and these past few days I got to experience it too.

As I come back to write this article, I realise I started it on Tuesday and it’s Thursday already! Not sure where the last 2 days went, but I’ve been mainly observing the movement of green Ben and doing some baby steps trading. As the APR on farms is slowly dropping, I’m doing a little extra to increase the amount of EBEN, while watching some helpful videos about crypto in general on YouTube. September back to school feeling continues…

Allotment update

Back of my allotment overgrown by blackberry bushes

Those of you who have been reading my allotment updates know that we only cleared a small part of it for cultivation this year. The bushes at the back were looking a bit too gloomy to battle them in growing season.

Last week Nunzia joined me and together we came up with a plan to slowly remove more and more of the brambles every time we visit the allotment. To our surprise when she got home with round courgettes, her partner was so happy to see them, he decided to join us in the clearing session the following day.

To be honest, I wasn’t planning any work for Sunday. I was blissed out after salsa party the night before and was planning a cosy day with movies and drifting out to dreamland every now and again. When Nunzia messaged me, I was very happy though, cause she reminded me I was going to pick up the manual mower for the allotment at 3 pm. I totally forgot 🙈 I also wasn’t going to say No to the offer of help, especially from well needed male’s muscles!

So I got myself together, drank a cup of strong coffee and went to pick up the mower first. Of course it was a very nice gentleman and we had a chat about my car (he loves it) and I had a little play with his dog too. On my way home I picked up some beers and put them in the freezer, ready for out little allotment ‘party’.

Nico assessing the situation.

It was already gone 5pm when we arrived at the allotment and to be honest, I didn’t hope for much. I was just happy and grateful for any help really. Hour by hour there was less and less bushes and piles of cut brambles were growing. Nico’s petrol hedge trimmer was super helpful and I was super happy to see progress!

Cutting bits and bobs by myself barely scratched the surface and in a few weeks the bushes were back. The joined effort of the 3 of us however, made the work fast and the effects visible. Nunzia and I barely managed to rake all the brambles Nico was cutting.

Team at work
We can see the ground!

Nunzia and I were happy to discover that underneath the huge bushes there were layers of fabric covering the ground. That’s good news, as these stop the annual weeds from coming up and make the clearing so much easier. We left them in tact for now and will work around them to dig up the roots of those pesky blackberry bushes.

We can see the light!

I know, this looks like a mess! It sure is. There is still more raking to be done and then digging up the roots, but 95% of brambles are gone and I was over the moon with the effect of just 3 hours of team work!

So much work was done!

The sun was already setting, when we finally sat on the grass and enjoyed our second batch of beers and assessed the effects. All 3 of us were sweaty and smiling, even with many burns from stunning nettles. I was beyond happy to see almost all the bushes gone. Without Nico’s help, this would take us some weeks of work.

Yes, there is a lot more work to do before we are ready to plant some more yummy veggies here, but this was such an unexpected gift to finish up the perfect weekend.

That’s me for today.

Until next time 💙

16
$ 7.59
$ 7.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.12 from @stevea68
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 8
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Comments

Good progress in cleaning your allotment. Help is always welcome. ;) So happy for your gains in BCH ;) And I'm glad that your weekend was great.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you Elaina. It was so great to see such a huge progress 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad that you still managed to get lots of EBEN before today's dip! I decided to move some from my pool to the farm haha, it made it a bit better. These tasks also remind me of the times we did a lot of cleaning in the garden, it was satisfying. More green stuff to come(eben and plants💚)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I had majority of my eben in the farm from the beginning. I’ll keep some for as long as % is high, but it’s slowly dropping. Yes, more green for us all 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great to have some help with that. It does look messy now but I'm sure you'll do your magic with that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I´ve seen that you guys did amazing work congrats on it! PD: I don´t know why I haven´t invested in EBEN yet. I need to hurry

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The price crashed today, so I bought some more eben and a few cats 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad you have Nico who help you cleaning the area. It's a job well done for the 3 of you. Cheers 🍻

$ 0.06
2 years ago

Yes, I’m happy too. Nico is my friend’s partner and he was encouraged by the courgettes I gave them. The seeds of them my friend brought from Argentina, where Nico is from 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is wonderful. It will be nice to look at soon when the area would be filled with courgettes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Today I spent the day cleaning the weeds in my backyard where my plants and aromatic herbs are. I spent some time on that activity. Then I took a nice bath and then I set out to review articles. And the first one I opened was yours, I was glad because we were practically doing the same thing. How small is the world of those who love plants ... hahaha ... greetings friend.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Such a great ‘coincident’ 🤩 I often have that too. I’m doing something and then as I open my social media accounts I see other people posting about the same thing. Love it 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You wont feel the tiredness when you have accompany. Hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That is very true. Everything is more pleasant and time flies when there is more of us working together 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice Nico.. So helpful. You'll have more veggies if you plant more seeds. 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

These seeds came from Nico’s country - Argentina. We collected some for next year planting 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Two is always better than one. That's a job well-done sis. I love the photo at the end, it emphasizes paid-off hard work. 💚

$ 0.08
2 years ago

Yes, team work is the best. There were 3 of us this time 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those people who stake their BCH with Eben has really found favor form the labor market , and this putting a smile in the face of all HOdL bch...

Nico has really helped you with the allotment today, the burden of clearing it was is no more I can see that you're happy that you get it done today, there's nothing as easy as team work.

Weldone 👌

$ 0.08
2 years ago

Ohh, I love my EBEN and thanks to it I am also learning more about smartBCH.

Yes, it was a very productive Sunday for us. Muscle’s help was well needed 😅

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah, me to I want to learn about smartBCH but time is not on my sight.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations on your efforts paying off ... wishing us all success :)

Hope you have a great day.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you Steve. It was an amazing day and weekend. Before I blinked, new weekend is coming! 💙

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I stopped working a regular job a couple years ago and have noticed the weekdays tend to blur together a bit. If it wasn't for street sweeping and trash days, I'd hardly know what day of the week it was! hehe

Great to see / hear so many things are growing for you. I had some luck too with investments and it's nice to feel less pressured about finances though I'd prefer to be living a style closer to yours. There's some room to garden / grow things here but not quite enough elbow room to really get things g(r)oing, but yes, hope our investments work out well.

Enjoy your weekend, Fanta.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I recently became self-employed, so I feel similar about the days passing by and me not knowing which is it. I need to know when Tuesday is, as I'm practicing salsa with a friend and weekend, in case there is a salsa party ;)

I have little space in my garden, that's why I applied for this allotment. It's a lot of work, but so much more room to grow.

EBEN currently crashing, so I'm getting some more :D What did you invest in?

PS. Thank you so much for your sponsorship. I don't usually post short posts with thanks, but I appreciate it 💙

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Nice that you have room to grow more easily. I've grown small amounts of things and even had some luck with fruit and nut tress but the sad part is realistically they're not going to be able to grow much and will nee to be trimmed a lot. Still fun and good experience though :)

Thank you for the tips and when I saw your article and later noticed that Emily had sponsored you too, I had to park myself right behind her hehe :) That's why I picked 34c / mo.

Actually, on the investing I've been rather actually watching prices and trading for some years and it's practically become a new occupation now. Emily even pooled a little with me to invest for her ... fingers crossed.

BCH was a nice discovery from here and noise to add to the portfolio but I don't have much of any specific long term suggestions except that I primarily work with Stellar Lumens (XLM is the symbol). It's very similar to Ripple (XRP).

Etherium seems to keep on doing well but it's hard to know if it's currently overpriced or not, though I would say it probably has better longer term potential than Bitcoin.

I've been beating out pretty much everything though but in terms of actual earnings / time and energy invested, honestly I was earning a lot more per hour at my work :), but probably a bit like you, it's enjoyable not feeling like there's a rigid schedule with specific hours etc.

Ok, as you (and I both) know it's easy for me to type a lot hehe, so I'll put a period here ->.

Hope your weekend goes well too. Laters

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations on the increase on your BCH thru farming in BenSwap and of course, that job well done on your allotment space. ❤

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yes, I’m super happy too. Now trying to trade a little and looking out for airdrops 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Teamwork really makes the thing easier. Looking forward to see the final result of your allotment :)

$ 0.08
2 years ago

I don’t think there will be a final result. Allotment is always a work in progress, just like garden, but I’m happy that it’s taking more shape thanks to my helpers 💙

$ 0.05
2 years ago

hard work is paying off

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That’s true Ed. It was also lots of fun 🤩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it looks it Monika

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well needed male muscles...hmm... You even played with Nico's dog? Alright... We will chat in private regarding this... Something is brewing...🤣😂. I'm still naughty.

$ 0.08
2 years ago

It was a dog of the guy I was buying second hand manual mower for my allotment 😅 Of course you're naughty! Let's not forget that my friends partners/husbands/boyfriends are out the question no matter how desperate I get 😅

$ 0.06
2 years ago

Hahahaha I trust you on that. I know you don't cross certain lines. You see? It's easier to fall in love with you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Not so easy to fall out of love looking at your example 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Silly girl 😂😂😂🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago