Allotment and fruits of my labour

51 86
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago
Topics: Gardening, Nature, Growth, Gaia, GaiaLove, ...

Friday, 3rd of September 2021

I’ve been planning to go to the forest for a while, but instead I just get busy with other things (not always productive) and postpone it to another day. Yesterday I had a weird headache. I very rarely have headaches, but this one just wouldn’t go away. I’m not a fan of pills, so I decided to go get some fresh air instead and check out on my allotment.

Going to the allotment is a second best thing after the forest. One thing is that it’s much closer, but also one of the routes (the shortest one) leads through a little forest too. It’s not as huge and beautiful as the other one, but it was enough to send my headache where it came from.

Cute footpath on the way to allotment

There is a little stream running along the path and I find the sound of running water very soothing. It makes my walk to the allotment very pleasant.

Stream along the path.

There are of course people who don’t respect the forest for the peaceful oasis it is and see it as a dumping place for their unwanted stuff, but it’s a minority. Places like these fallen trees below are sometimes occupied by youngsters, serving as their hiding place for smoking or drinking. At times the smell of weed is prominent in this area.

One of the gathering places.

After a short walk through this cute little forest, my headache was gone and I arrived at the gate of allotments:

Allotment gate

As I usually go to the allotment quite late in a day, I rarely meet any other people there. This gives me an opportunity to take a few sneaky shots of flowers on neighbouring plots.

Beautiful Anemone flower from my neighbours

Like this beautiful blue Anemone flower. I grew a few types of Anemone myself in the past years, but I never grew this showy, big variety. I might ask my neighbour Vanessa where she got this one from. I love it.

As I approached these cute Zinnia’s for another stolen shot, the was busy collecting a nectar for it and she was happy to pose for some pictures too.

Zinna flowers visited by the bee

Next up, I couldn’t miss an opportunity to capture a beautiful, bright nasturtium flower, which made me think of @szbarnaus and his ‘Escaping plants’ series on noise.cash. Nasturtium is a climbing plant, loved by White Cabbage Butterflies and seeing it escaping through the fence like this is not an unusual sight.

Escaping Nasturtium plant

Let’s move to my plot now!

If you have been reading about my allotment, including the update you will know that I managed to prepare only part of my plot for cultivating. The remaining part I am planning to clear during colder months, when growth is not so rapid. The part that we prepared is currently taken over by courgettes and squash plants.

My huge courgette plants.

Especially the front row of courgettes have grown beautifully. Next year I will need to plant these further down the plot, so they don’t take all the sun from other plants I might want to grow.
I think I let some of the fruits to grow a little too big and they grow super fast now, so I’ll need to visit and pick them more often in the coming weeks.

This one looks like a green pumpkin. It’s big!

The squash plants behind them are a messy sight. They climb allover the ground and attach themselves to the blackberry bushes that try to creep into the growing space. If I grow these next year, I might consider making climbing structures for them.

Fruits of my labour.

Considering that this is the first year I took on the allotment and quite late in the season, I am very happy with the results.

My first harvest!

I picked up a few of the biggest round courgettes, which I’ll probably be eating for a week, while the new ones are growing ever so fast.

Don’t laugh at my carrots please! They are of a mini round variety that my friend picked up on sale. This is the biggest they get. It’s a nice variety to grow if you have a very limited space and not much depth, but I probably wouldn’t pick them at full price for allotment purposes.

I can say with confidence that I am very happy with the fruits of my labour this first year. Apart from actual fruits I have learned a lot along the way and will apply this knowledge in the next season.

Until next time 💙

This article fits perfectly into one of Jonica's older prompts that I haven't written about yet. If you would like to join it to, please follow the steps below:

The rules to the prompt are simple.

  1. Write anything about The Fruits of Labor

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words so Rusty will come to reward you

  4. Submit your story to PromptlyJonica here

  5. Tag  @JonicaBradley

  6. Have fun!

24
$ 8.61
$ 7.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Judith1969
$ 0.10 from @ChristinaMadart
+ 13
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago
Topics: Gardening, Nature, Growth, Gaia, GaiaLove, ...

Comments

Amazing harvest! Those are big pumpkins you have. I should ask my husband if we can have pumpkins in our greenhouse. We haven't tried it yet. But we also see some from our neighbors, big orange pumpkins in the garden.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't think these require a greenhouse to grow, they're pretty easy going just in the ground. Definitely a crop worth considering as it just keeps on giving, I harvest a few more every time I visit my allotment 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow that's nice

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lovely story! And your havest is amazing... Being honest I laughed when I saw your carrots ahahah the shape is not really common

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, everyone laughs at my round carrots. It’s a quirky variety. Great to see you here finally 💙

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww, this was one good read again.. and the pics of beautiful flowers and veggie fruits, awesome! I might consider having a headache and go out for a walk and write a beautiful story! ;-)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha 🤣 Yeah, try it. Or just write a story without a headache 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Thats great ! A beautiful girl like you is planting veggies🥰❤

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh I love gardening, growing flowers and edibles 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Were thesame ,i also love gardening but i can't do that now coz i have a baby ,soon if he's big enough ,i plant some veggies😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No worries, there will always be time for gardening more 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I cannot help be proud about this harvest, and it´s not mine! congrats for it! A big effort to make this a real thing, Felt in love with flowers around and the green Pumpkin just wow! Keep goin!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much Simon. I am very happy with the harvest too and courgettes made it already into the soup. Today I will also bake the remaining ones stuffed with minced meat 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So beautiful the blue Anemone! And congrats, my dear Monika for your first harvest. And I couldn't help but laugh a little of your carrots. They are really funny ;)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

They’re adorable little things. Super happy with the harvest too. Courgette soup was simply delicious 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Simply beautiful pictures and beautiful products of your harvest. That zucchini is immense. I laughed at your carrots, oops!!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Not too worry, they are funny looking 😉 I made a delicious courgette soup from them yesterday and gave some to my friend who helps me with the allotment. Many more to come 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a eye soothing experience 😍 That really looks like green pumpkin 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Everything that I see makes me feel refreshed and I congratulate you for these harvest! I always believe that nature is the best investment first as it gives the most rewards in terms of how much effort you put in it. 💚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Totally Bry. Plus it’s great for mind, body and soul to work with momma Earth 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aww you got beautiful captures with you, but aren't you afraid of any wild animals there?? forests scare me 😭😭

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nah, wild animals are more scared of us. They run away when they see/hear us. I love forest walks 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Finally, fruits of labor from the allotment. Those are huge courgettes. 👍 I am sorry for laughing at your carrots. First time I saw this variety. 😁

Great job Monika. Great job of your neighbors too, so nice are their flowers. 🧡😍

$ 0.03
2 years ago

So many gorgeous flowers to capture from neighbours. I love that many of them grow flowers there too.

These carrots are funny looking, I know, especially in comparison with the usual type.

I’m super happy with the result. We did some clearing yesterday and more today. Weather is lovely, so we make the most of it 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is really fulfilling to finally reap the produce of the plants that you personally grow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow . you got many fruits of labor there.. I woukd love to make pumpkin soup 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow you had agood harvest dear, and its the first harvest, how much the coming days and months:) the fruits of your labor is worth to share.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! 😲 You are so blessed Monika. It's indeed a fruit of labours from yours. It's so nice when the time you've harvest on it. It's a great feeling. I remember also my mom if she harvesting also. God bless Monika..🙏😇

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you Ramona. It is a great satisfaction to be able to eat the fruits we cared for with our own hands. Thank you for visiting 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That allotment is so refreshing for a walk. The carrots are so cute too haha. What an amazing fruit of labor you have there 💚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I am very pleased with the effects 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Walking through nature did wonders to your headache❤ and look at those courgettes, they're shiny and plenty! The carrots are cute too :) I can feel your excitement harvesting them for the first time :) Awesome!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, that’s very exciting. They’re now on my kitchen table, ready to be cooked 😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great! Have fun cooking them :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woww what a fruit of labor👏 You can get what u want if u really give it an effort and work hard for it✨💛

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That is very true. Plenty more to harvest 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The carrots are totally cute haha! So nice to have a plot for planting veggies, that's one of my dream hihi. Congratulations on your fruit of labor :))

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It was one of my dreams too. Luckily here in England we can apply to rent an allotment plot from the council. I waited over 2 years for this, but it was sure worth the wait 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, that's nice. I didn't hear that in our country renting plot. Maybe there is any but for big farms only.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey your post is wonderful - the photos are lovely and those dinky carrots are totally cute! LOL I don't mind unruly looking plots - as long as the food grows, thats what matters most. I only have 5 cents her but its all for you my dear! LOL Hugs from sallybeth23

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ahh bless you and thank you. Write some more for Rusty to notice you. You are right - food is food and I’m very chuffed with all I managed to grow 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been waiting for you allotment to your article fort his prompt. Your courgettes will he delicious, well done Monika!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh you know what it’s like Ed. Ernesto takes over 😅 I did post one update before this one, a while ago. Hoping to write more this month 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I saw your update before, but thought fruits of my labour, would be right up your street, tsk that Ernesto hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you know me too well Ed. I have a lot of prompts to catch up on. Hopefully Ernesto will allow me 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You need put Ernesto in his place this month !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I like that Anemone flower. Oh, I suddenly miss our garden before, we have squash and carrots planted on it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It’s gorgeous, isn’t it? What happened to your garden?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah It is. Our garden was flooded and so the plants died

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, that's sad to hear. I hope you can rebuild it in the next season 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I hope so too. :-) have a nice day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago