Random Food Stories and Recipes

62 115
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago
Topics: Food, Blog, Story

I've been contemplating the whole day what to write. Tried writing about several topics that came to my mind and even tried to continue the articles saved on my notepad which I started to write weeks and even months ago but are still unfinished up to this moment, but to no avail. So I browsed my gallery, found some photos and decided to make something out of those photos. Just like what @Jane previously said, if you can't think of something to write, just go to the kitchen and do some cooking!

But I'm too lazy to cook and I don't want to go outside my room as my head feels like spinning every time I see the light (πŸ§› lol).

So for now, I'll just share with you some foods I cooked in the past and maybe you'll like the recipes haha.

Fried hotdogs Manna Rice & Corn

Lousy name right? Just don't mind the name then. Have you ever heard of manna rice? They call it a meal supplement because it contains vitamins, minerals and soybeans. A rice meal which is made specifically for malnourished children. But if you are on a strict diet, I suggest eating this one. We had a bunch of manna rice pack at home which my dad's friend gave. We tried cooking it once, but my siblings didn't like the smell and the taste. And I don't like to just let it sit there and go bad so I decided to make something out of it that the people at home might like.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pack of manna rice (cooked like the regular rice)

  • Oil

  • Onion

  • Garlic

  • Oyster sauce

  • Salt

  • Monosodium glutamate

  • 5-10 pieces hotdogs cut into strips

  • 1 bowl of boiled sweet corn

Procedure:

It is like a regular fried rice with a twist.

β€’ Pre-heat the pan and add the oil.

β€’ Saute the onion and garlic until it becomes brown and aromatic

β€’ Add the sweet corn and fry for about 2 minutes then add the hotdogs.

β€’ Pour in the manna rice and add ouster sauce, salt and monosodium glutamate to taste.

β€’ Ready to serve!

Fried Sweet Anchovies

Are a fan of Korean dramas? Then you probably saw the characters drink soju (Korean Alcoholic beverage), beer or rice wine along with anchovies! I always wanted to try it so I searched on youtube for some recipes and found this! For Filipinos out there who's tired of eating fried salted dried fish (tuyo), why not try this? The blend of sweetness, spice and crispiness will surely satisfy your palate especially if you eat it along with some beer or mixed alcoholic drink!

Ingredients:

  • Dried anchovies

  • Ketchup

  • Paprika (optional)

  • Sugar

  • Oil

Procedure:

β€’ In a bowl mix the ketchup, paprika and sugar.

β€’ Add the anchovies and mix until the mixture have covered all the fishes.

β€’ Pre-heat the pan and add the oil.

β€’ Fry the anchovies and sprinkle a teaspoon of sugar and paprika

β€’ Serve the fried anchovy on a plate!

Homemade Fish balls

Fish ball is one of the most loved street foods (tusok-tusok) by Filipinos. Fish balls and kikiams are popular among students and even those who aren't because they are cheap yet tasty. I remember back in college, me and my friends used to buy these and a mere $0.25 will already make us full and we still have some cents left for fruit juice (palamig) to quench our thirst. But at this time of pandemic, I really don't like buying them outside as much as I would love to for the sake of being safe from the virus. One time, we had a lot of mackerel tuna as a left over and that time I was also craving for some street foods, so I thought "why not make fish balls at home?", it will be more safe and healthy.

Ingredients:

  • fish filletΒ cut to small pieces

  • garlic

  • onion

  • salt

  • sugar

  • cornstarch

  • all purpose flour

  • egg white

  • coking oil

β€’ In a bowl, mix all the ingredients until smooth and sticky. You can also use a blender or hand blender.

β€’ Using a spatula, gently roll the paste until you have a sausage like shape.

β€’ Scoop some of the fish paste on a spoon and shape it into a ball.

β€’ In a frying pan, heat the oil. Add the fish balls and cook until it becomes golden brown.

β€’ Serve with a fish ball sauce.

Fried Fish & Bitter Gourd w/ Tomato Sauce

I cooked this in the midst of the hard lockdown. Those were the days when I tried to do everything to ease my boredom during the quarantine. My dad planted different vegetables in the yard and one of those is the bitter gourd, I was tired of eating the same sauted bitter gourd with eggs so I decided to make my own recipe.

Ingredients:

  • Fried fish

  • Bitter gourd (Ampalaya) sliced into thin strips

  • Cooking oil

  • garlic

  • onion

  • salt

  • soy sauce

  • black pepper

  • spring onions

  • tomato sauce

Procedure:

β€’ Pre heat the pan and saute the garlic and onion until it becomes golden brown.

β€’ Add the bitter gourd and add 3 teaspoons of soy sauce and 1 cup of tomato sauce.

β€’ Add salt and pepper to taste

β€’ When the bitter gourd is cooked, add the fried fish.

β€’ Sprinkle with spring onions before serving.

This is just few of the easy recipes I could share with you. Maybe I'll share some more in the future. I hope you enjoyed and somehow learned something new from this article. - @esciiscπŸ’•

Other food- related articles:

Cooking Shenanigans

A Little More Healthy

26
$ 3.79
$ 3.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @bheng620
+ 2
Sponsors of esciisc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago
Topics: Food, Blog, Story

Comments

I love food and cooking is my best hobby I will try the fish ball

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yay, nkakagutom nman itey... sarap magkamay

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really liked the recipe.I would try this on my home.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow mukhang msarap yung anchovies. Tagal ko na hndi nakakakain nyan.. At yang fish with bittergourd. Sarap cguro kung my preserved black beans?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Di ko pa natry maglagay nung preserved black beans since nung quarantine pa to and that time wala masyadong supplies dahil di nga pinapalabas. But I'll try it with black beans next time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Masarap yan..lalo na my ampalaya at talong. Pwd rn magsteam spare ribs with blackbeans and oyster sauce 😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course you need a recipe to cry, but it's often random to make a recipe your own.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think the foods are delicious. You won't post it here if isn't right? I wish i have a chance to try this dishes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nakakagutom yung pictures pero overall parang gusto ko yung anchovies. Anong ingredient ba yun parang ngayon ko lang narinigπŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dilis lang po yun πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay hahahahaha hindi ko po alam ehπŸ˜† dilis lang pala mukang pangmayamanπŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang ganda lang pakinggan at basahin ano? Yun pala dilis lang haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha yes po. Masarap din yung dilis talagaπŸ˜† kapag mag-uulam kami ng dilis anchovies na sasabihin ko para mukang mayaman hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahahaha tama yan lalo na pag may nagtanong kung anong ulam mo πŸ˜‚ Anyways, new user ka pa lang ba? Parang ngayon lang kita na encounter sa comments section and never seen your articles before, well I might as well pay a visit.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha opo para sosyal pakingganπŸ˜†


Actually almost 2months user na po ako nitong platform but sadly my main account is banned so I need to create a new one so Laurenceuuu was born, lol hahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmmm that's probably why I feel like we already engaged in a conversation before, did we? πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes we actually had a conversation on my old account. Actually I'm one of your sponsorsπŸ˜† the one named Wanton haha lol. When you click my avatar on your sponsor block it says "404 not found".

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see. I wonder what happened πŸ€” But you don't have to tell me haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh okay haha, the important is Laurenceuuu was bornπŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. Nice to meet you Laurenceuuu 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My pleasure to meet you poπŸ˜„

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you can give an upvote if you find it nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Did the manna rice ever taste better? Idk we have a stock of that at home too but we've never eaten it cuz it doesn't look like good rice and all and it doesn't look that appealing to us

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know if it taste better because it's the first time I ever got a taste of it. But it doesn't smell and taste as good as the real rice. I even thought it's an animal food πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sammmeee, looks like bird food or something. We tried using it for butrito though and surprisingly, bagay naman since it already has beens so no need to cook the beans separately. Soak in water na lang then cook in the sauce

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I only heard Manna rice here, in your article. Haven't tried that, pero bat masmell sya? Sayang sagana pala sya sa ano, buti nalang nagawan ng paraan ni madam, pwd na talaga mag asawa kaso laang ay walang jowa πŸ˜‘. Yang Sweet fried dilis nakatikim na ako nyan, dami nagattinda dine, yon nga laang di talaga ako mahilig sa sweet pero pag lalaki ang pang uusapan, dapat sweet yieee 😊🀭 hahaha. Para kang si mami ding ee, lagimg nag eexperiment ng ulam kasi nga naman paulit ulit talaga ulam namin, naka boring ma daw kasi kaya nigawan nya ng paraan. Saka alam mo, mas gusto ko talaga yung home made fishball, ayaw ko nong nabibili sa palengke na balot balot, diko bet ang texture non ee 😫

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not familiar with manna rice din dati, not until umuwi si papa na may dalang mga ganyan. Iba ang smell niya, probably dahil dun sa soybeans? Or dun sa iba pang mga nilagay nila dun. Kasi nga according to my research ginawa taalga siya primarily for malnourished kids kaya may mga hinalo na kung ano ano, kahit nga di ka na mag ulam pag kumain ka nun.

Yan naman tayo sa jowa hahaha pag ako talaga di nagkajowa sayang 'tong talent ko πŸ˜‚

Natuto lang ako mag experiment kasi nga si mama hindi siya mahilig sa ganun, kung ano yung nakasanayan yun na, eh kaso maarte nga ako sa pagkain, kaya nag eexperiment na lang ng magugustuhan ng aking palate 😁

Thank you ulit sa pa sats hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Malamang ibayaong pagluluti ng iba sa manna rice lalo na mga bata kakain ano. Pero ano ing nasa tabi? Cheese stick ba yon or lumpia? Mekheng mesherep telege 🀀.

Hahahaha, kasi nga wala ka non. Need ko ipa ulit ulit baka nakakalimot ka madam, kalendaryo ha pakitingin hahaha charr.

Ay baligtad, dapat si mader ang ma experiment diba, bat kasi picky eater ka. Ako kasi kahit anong nakahain kakainin ko. Yun nga lang dadating talaga ang time na magsasawa din tayo, kagaya ng paghihintay sa kanya. Pagsasawaan din natin yon kasi pagod kana... .

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lumpia yan haha innovated lang din. Pork and mustasa nilagay ko dyan kasi nakakasawa na din ang pure na mustasa πŸ˜…

Di naman kailangan ulit ulitin madam at pag inulit ulit ay baka matempt na talaga ako niyan pumatol sa mga nagpapalipad hangin πŸ˜‚ Tsaka mas mauuna ka lumampas sa kalendaryo uy! baka nakakalimutan mo hahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Diba mapait ang mustasa? Samin puro gulay talaga tapos kunting pork, tapos kamote hahaha. Bawal masyadong porky, high bloodin si mami ee. Masarap sana pag purong pork, kaso ang mahal na din ng pork dito, malapit na mag 300 πŸ˜‘

Ahahahaha, masarap kasing mang asar madam, ao okay lang lumapas sa kalendaryo edad ko, malakas pa din naman siguro ako kahit 32 na ako, kaya ko pa siguro sumampa πŸ€­πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Madami bang nagpapalipad hangin madam, baka pwd pa share nalang hahaha

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yun ngang bitterness ngnmuatasa ang nagbibigay ng twist dun.

Kaya pa naman yata ng kamay mo kahit 35 pa πŸ˜‚ Oo madaming nagpapalipad hangin pero yung gusto ko hindi naman ako gusto, sad life πŸ˜‚ Pwede naman akong magshare kaso pumapatol ka ba sa mga bata? Yung tipong senior high pa lang? hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dami mo naeexperiment madam, baling esuggest yan kina mader. Para maoba naman, hindi yung puro cabbage, carrot at kung anopa haha. Yakang yaka pa yan, sisiw ahahahaha. Aray, saklap non haha, sakin walang nagpapalipad hangin, natatakot kasi lagi akong naka simangot, kung maka tingin daw ako ay parang papatay πŸ˜… ahahaha. Bata? Naku wag na, turuan pa yang ganyan ee so pass hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. Ansarap naman. Ta-try ko mga yan minsan. Ginutom ako sa ganitong oras. 🀀🀀

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Damay damay na to haha. Ginutom din kasi ako habang nagsusulat πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I really like food. Tears come to your eyes when you see these foods. How to make your wonderful food and food ingredients and how to make food....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Anchovies? Dilis ba yon? Hahahaha. Nakakacrave man din. Mahilig ka pala magluto.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Yes mommy, pinasosyal lang para magandang pakinggan πŸ˜‚ English name ang nagdala haha pero masarap yan.

Yes, hobby ko din talaga ang magluto pero mga eme eme lang πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes masarap talaga Yan. Matamis, maalat tapos medyo maanghang hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Hy dear, thes food look strange but am wondering to salivate the taste.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They taste great hehe. I suppose you haven't tasted any of this then.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I sincerely haven't tasted and this look is really appealing to my stomach.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like the rice, fishball n fried fish without the ampalaya po, lol, n the rice looks like a sinangag po eh, thank u po for sharing here the recipe for the first one po, might try to cook that one po 'coz i like to eat rice n somehow made sinangag na my mga hlong hotdog o itlog o kng ano mn po ung naiwan nming ulm d2 kpag cnipag, un, ngluluto po ng sinangag ksma ung ntirang ulm po

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sinangag lang po talaga yan na nilevel up tsaka instead na malamig na kanin gamitin, eh yung manna pack ang ginamit koπŸ˜… pero masarap talaga specially with the sweet corn. You can also add carrot and green peas if available. Wag kakalimutan yung oyster sauce πŸ˜‰

Thanks po for the tip 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah, my oyster sauce n sweet corn po dapat? Cge po, mtry nga po yan, ntry q po na po ung my carrots n green peas with hotdog n egg po though ung my oyster sauce eh ndi pa po, itatry q po yan sa sunod n u r welcome po πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yung sweet corn po optional lang. Yung oyster naman yun ang mag eenhance ng lasa ng sinangag 😊 And kung may patis ka po, pwedeng yun na lang ang ipangtimpla mo instead na salt.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah, gnun po ba, ung gngmit q po na pntimpla eh magic sarap po though nilalagyan q po ng konti asin ung kaning lamig o bahaw po kapag nilamas po

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yun po ay kung gusto mo lang naman maging mas healthy. Madami kasing preservatives ang magic sarap πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Gnun po ba, cge po, itry q po yan sa sunod po

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yummy..........Can you imagine that you are doing an amazing for us? When I read your recipes, my mouth was filled with water.πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹ Especially I like the most is fried fish with tomatoes sauce. I wanna try your recipe procedures. Thanks for sharing πŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ooh haha that's what I also feel every time I watch youtube vlogs recipes. It always leaves me amazed and salivating like a dog πŸ˜‚ So in the end, I try to do it in my kitchen to get a taste too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nagawa ko na din yun sweet dilis, hehehe.. Itatry ko gawin yun hotdog kasi fave ng anak ko yan. Minsan nagluto sya ng hotdog, na may ketchup at madameng sibuyas, in fairness masarap sya..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Masarap yan mommy lalo kapag maraming hotdog and pwede din haluan ng longganisa. Ang nagdadala talaga ng flavor is yung oyster. If possible, instead na asin patis na lang ipangtimpla mo. Parehas pala kami ng anak mo ng fave 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Masarap din sa adobo yun oyster sauce, saka sa pancit.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. Lagi ko din ginagamit yan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

All the recipes look tempting, wanting to eat just by looking at the pictures,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can try it yourself 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah delicious you really made me hungry in no time πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

go and try the recipes πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes and I know it's delicious πŸ˜‹

$ 0.00
3 years ago

An impressive article, keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. In fact you can give an upvote or a tip to show your appreciation πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago