Cooking Shenanigans

35 68
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

My cooking shenanigans was mostly out of curiosity, my love for food and my passion for cooking.

I was five years old when I learned how to cook, what do you expect from a five-year-old? Of course, I can cook rice on the rice cooker lol. My mom taught me to do it at an early age because back then my parents usually take overtimes at work and when they arrive home, they are already too tired to cook our meals. I was in first grade when I learned to cook and prepare simple meals such as oatmeal, fried and boiled eggs and noodles. Since I was just a child that time, I felt like cooking is a burden. I don't really like doing it every day specially in the morning. But as I was growing up, I became used to being the cook at home. I'm always in charge of preparing meals except when I'm in school.

When my parents are not around, I used to experiment on foods and invent my own recipes, specially with vegetables. My siblings and I are certified picky eaters. We usually don't want to eat pure vegetables, it should always go along with meat, fish or processed foods.

My parents are usually away from home due to their jobs, and they would always leave the foods we should consume until they get back home. At times, it takes a few days before they could return and usually, what is left on the fridge are vegetables. And because we are picky, I had to come up with recipes for us to be able to eat those veggies. It usually turns out good and edible lol. I usually try to make something healthy out of processed and easy to cook foods. Our dad doesn't want us to usually eat noodles because it's unhealthy, so I usually cook it along with veggies.

As I grew older, I became a food lover too. I am no longer as picky as I was younger. And I became fond of trying out new recipes and give twist to simple home cooked meals.

When the quarantine started, I entertained myself by watching recipe vlogs on YouTube. But usually watch the easy recipes, those with ingredients that can be found on our kitchen or can be easily obtained at the grocery shop since I usually imitate it and try it out myself.

Yesterday, I watched a YouTube video about easy to prepare tuna carbonara. So this is what I'm going to show you today.

Ingredients:

6 cloves of garlic

2 medium sized onions

2 teaspoon black pepper

1/2 kg elbow macaroni

1 410 ml evaporated milk

1 250 ml all purpose cream

1 can (198 grams) mushrooms

salt

Oil

2 cans (175 grams) tuna flakes in oil (I used Fresca tuna but you can use other brands)

Steps:

  • Boil the elbow macaroni according to the packaging direction. Drain the water and set aside.

I put in a pinch of salt to make the pasta tasty and I also put 1/4 cup of oil to prevent the pasta from sticking to each other once the water is drained.

  • Mince the garlic and the onion.

On the YouTube vlog I watched, they only use minced garlic, but since I can't live without onions (lol) on my food, I added 2 medium sized onions on my recipe. Make sure to mince these properly specially if you have kids at home, they usually don't eat these two but if it is minced, they won't even notice it on their food.

  • Heat the pan and saute the garlic and the onion for about 3-4 minutes or until it gets aromatic.

Instead of a cooking oil, I used the oil I extracted from the two cans of tuna to saute the garlic and onion.

  • When the onion and garlic are already brown amd aromatic, pour the cans of tuna.

Just let the tuna boil for about a minute while constantly mixing it to avoid it from burning and sticking to the cooking pan.

  • After a minute, add the mushrooms.

For this recipe, I used the champignon mushroom so I only removed the water from the can before pouring the mushroom into the pan. But if you will use whole mushrooms, cut it in halves first before adding it on the mixture. Then cook it for about 2 minutes.

  • After two minutes, pour in the evaporated milk.

It's a bit dark because I only used the built in flash on my phone since we still don't have electricity supply due to the typhoon's damages 😅. Wait for 2 minutes and still, constantly stir it to prevent ot from scrambling.

  • After two minutes add the all purpose cream.

Don't add the cream all at once. Add it slowly while constantly stirring so that it would create a velvety and yummy sauce.

  • Turn off the heat on the stove and add the elbow macaroni.

Look at the pasta falling from the strainer! 😂

Tsadaaaaaaan! Our Tuna Carbonara is now ready to serve and eat! It can be perfectly paired with a glass of fruit juice or a soda.

I know, it's not as appetizing as the real carbonara but trust me, it taste great!

After four days, the internet connection seems to get better and now I'm finally able to write another article. Thank you so much for reading! - @esciisc 💕

12
$ 2.63
$ 2.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of esciisc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

Comments

It's amazing. You must be an awesome cook.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You seem like a good cook. This looks so yummy 🤤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

excellent recipe, it looks good, I think it needs minced cilantro or chives to give a touch of color to the dish, but just a little so as not to overshadow the flavor of the tuna.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But I don't know what cilantro is 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is an aromatic herb widely used for cooking, from your comment I assume that it is not known in your country

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Or it may be known but with a different name 😅 The problem is that, I always cook but I don't know the names of the ingredients aside from the basics

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think the translator played a trick on me, he put the word in Spanish hahahahaha, in English it is written "coriander" and in my country it is a basic cooking ingredient, maybe it is not there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I looked it up on google because I'm curious about how it looks. And we actually have that herb in front of the house. But I didn't know that it can be added to foods like pasta. We only use it as a herbal medicine 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, you have a gold mine at home, here we use it for salads, soups, sauces, it is a very versatile herb.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh wow! Really? I really didn't know that and never thought of using it on foods 😅 But thanks for the new information, I'll make some research and see if I can also use it for my recipes 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes amiga, try it and you will see, it gives a very good taste to food.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang sosi ng name. I'm not used into this. Wla bang carbonara na na meat? 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Actually meat po talaga ang mas magandang ilagay diyan, experiment lang yung tuna 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha.. I only tried carbonara kasi in packs... 🤣🤣🤣Instant once. Di naman lasang tuna kaya i'm curious kung yan ba rin yun. 😅 Ignorante😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yummy... Tataba siguro mapapangasawa mo nyan... Galing mong magluto. ❤️😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

haha ganun pala yun? 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tuna carbonara is weird to me but tuna pesto is always a great dish to try because it has a lot of greens in it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I haven't tried tuna pesto.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You should try it, it's really good pasta

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kala ko sharingan, Shenanigans pala, pero ang sosyal naman ng name na yan pwd namang spaghetting puti nalang 😂. Alam mo magaling ka talaga magluti, itsura palang ee, asawa nalang kulangggg hahaha. Hanap hanap na din ha. Diba malansa ang tuna, pwd pala yown 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha ang cute nga pakinggan nung word. 🤣 Over qualified kasi siguro ako bilang asawa kaya walang may gusto 😅

Di naman malansa, akala ko nga malansa pero nung tinry ko hindi. Baka dahil canned yung ginamit kong tuna.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mas masarap kapag may cheese tapos panggigisa mo e butter panalo yon hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Sa sunod try ko yan mommy Yen hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Picture pa lang mukhang masarap na! Haha I love it especially pag maraming tunaaa

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Masarap naman. I didn't know nga na pwede pala yung ganito 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

akala ko nga pasta lang pwede din pala macaroni hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Shenanigns pla tawag jan 😅 bay d ko alam haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Matagal ko nang gustong gamitin ang word na yan haha ang cute kasi pakinggan 😅🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Syp kp lng nalaman haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It looks yummy.. But never thought that its name is shinanigans 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's actually called carbonara 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think its the pasta that is called shenanigans.. Like bombshell

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like carbonara but I'd prefer pansit palabok and pansit bihon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And I prefer spaghetti over carbonara. Nakakasawa kasi ang lasa ng carbonara 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

true, nakakaumay sya,

$ 0.00
3 years ago