A Little More Healthy

22 76
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

One of my most loved food is hotdog. I can even live everyday having hotdog as my viand that's why some people usually laughs at me whenever they find out what my favorite foods are. They say I have the preferences of a kid. But I know that I'm getting older, so I have to live a healthier life lol.

So last night, I tried to make a healthy food for the family. I made a fern salad.

Ferns don't bear flowers. They grow almost anywhere. I remember that when I was a child, my family sometimes goes to the mountain where my granny's land is located. A lot of ferns are growing anywhere and I thought that they are just weeds. But now I know that it is actually edible.

Yesterday, a young boy was selling veggies for a cheap price, so I asked my dad to buy a bunch of ferns.

They thought that I'm going to cook something I already tasted or eaten before. But they didn't know it's also my first time to make the dish lol. One of the good things about being the family 'chef' (Oh yes, I consider myself the chef at home!) is that they trust you with all the kitchen activities. They eat whatever you cook for them without questioning it 🤣

I had a lot of kitchen shenanigans and today I'm going to show you how to make a fern salad, the esciisc way.

First, prepare the fern.

Just get the young stems because it is still soft and cut it with your desired size. I prefer to cut it into shorter pieces for easy mixing.

Next, wash the fern with cold running water. Make sure to remove all the dirt, and remove any worms lurking there. Sometimes it's hard to see the worms because it looks like the ferns.

After washing the fern, cook it in a boiling water for about 5 minutes only. You can also steam it if that's what you prefer but it will take longer, probably 10 minutes. The purpose of doing this is to remove and bacteria in the veggie.

After five minutes, or when the fern reached your desired softness, transfer it into a clean bowl, as you can see from above photo.

Next is to prepare all the needed ingredients to make the salad. I used the following ingredients:

  • 10 small ripe tomatoes

  • 1 medium sized onion

  • 2 teaspoon black pepper

  • 1 teaspoon rock salt

  • 1 small calamansi (green lemon)

Wash the tomatoes in a cold water then cut it into your desired size. For me, I prefer cutting it round shaped for the sake of food presentation.

Next, prepare the onion. Remove the roots and trim the ends. Then cut it into half and chop it finely into small pieces. Chopping it into small pieces is just optional. You can also cut it into your desired size. Well, there are two kids in the house so whenever I cook, I always cut the onions and garlic into tiny pieces so that they won't notice it when they eat. Kids tend to leave those veggies when they're eating so it's best to make it smaller that they won't even notice it's there lol.

Combine all the tomatoes and onions and mix it with the boiled fern. As you can see in the photo, I also added the black pepper and the rock salt (sorry the salt is not visible on this photo).

Add the green lemon. One small piece of calamansi is enough. Don't make it too sour. But then, if you prefer it sour, then you can always add more calamansi.

This is just optional, you can also add shreds of meat on the fern salad. I used pork meat here. It is a pork adobo which I shreded into small bits. I also added the garlic from the adobo to add a distinct flavor.

Tsadaaaan! My dinner is ready. As I've said in this article's title, I'm trying to live a little more healthier so 3/4 cup of rice is already enough to pair with this yummy and appetizing fern salad. But the pork adobo makes it hard for me to strictly follow the diet, ugh.

Good Health.

Good health is one of the keys to having a happier life.

Here are some steps to be a little more healthier.

  • Eat right. When I was younger, I thought that being healthy is when you follow a strict diet. And whenever I heard the words "I'm on a diet", I understand that it also means not eating a lot or not eating at all during a specific meal time. But I was wrong. Being on a diet is eating the right foods. Eating the right foods will make a person look better. Years ago, it is so hard for me to control myself to eat carbs and it seems like I'm always hungry. I was always scolded by my dad every meal time because he says that I don't look like a lady whenever I'm eating. So every mealtime, I prefer to eat alone so that they won't notice the way I eat. But I learned the importance of self-control. Whenever I feel like I'm already full, I stop eating no matter how much I still want to eat. I also try to eat less unhealthy foods. Before, I can consume more than a liter of soda in just a day, but now, I prefer to drink more water than soda. A year ago, I have a bigger waistline and bigger arms and shoulders. But it is smaller now after I tried so hard to avoid my bad eating habits.

  • Exercise more. Exercising has always been my most dreaded activity. I don't want to exercise because it makes me feel tired and after every exercise, my body hurts so much. So instead of doing vigorous and heavy workouts, I resorted to dancing Zumba and other simple exercises for kids that makes my body sweat a lot. Dancing is a fun way of removing those excess fats without undergoing any workout. I've been doing it for more than six months now. And aside from dancing, doing strenuous works also helps me. As I already mentioned in my previous blog or article, I even help my dad in the construction project at home. And since we're living in the province, we also seldom cook using firewood, I also chop firewood at times which makes me sweat a lot. It's my own form of exercise and it makes my body feel great!

  • Get Enough Sleep. Getting enough sleep helps for our body to perform better. Whenever I lack sleep, I also lack the motivation to do things. It makes me feel lazy and it's even hard to focus on things. Even if you didn't do any vigorous activity, if I lack sleep, I feel tired most of the time too. But sometimes, it is just so hard to sleep on time because of the many distractions such as the internet and using of gadgets. But do your best to get at least eight hours of sleep every night and it would make a difference in you.

Let's all try to live a little more healthier and we'll surely be happier!

Thank you for reaching this point reading this article. You deserve a commendation! - @esciisc💕

10
$ 9.22
$ 9.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Yen
$ 0.05 from @Jane
Sponsors of esciisc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

Comments

Very nice. I didn't know that ferns could actually be eaten. Based from the photos i can say that you are an awesome cook. This fern salad also looks appetizing 🤤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Fern can be eaten-- i never knew that was edible ;;-;; what does that even taste like? Oof i guess I'll have to try when i go home to tagaytay

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Grabe! When i opened my account and this welcomed me, i suddenly felt hungry.. Urg. There are seasons where pako is abundant alongside our rivers. But this very moment i think there were few and no one is selling in here unlike when its time for watering of ricefields. The riprap supports are full of it. Maybe if i really intend to find some in the other side of our mountain, perhaps i can find bunches of it. 😋.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, namiss ka ng read.cash population hahaha. Good for you that you can look for it yourself. I'm sure nakakaenjoy gawin un hehe. It's my first time making this recipe, this is actually just an experiment but the people at home liked it and they we're even asking me to make it again 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So sad I can't see and find any fern today. When I was a child andami naming fern pero ngayon wla na baka nasa certified plantita at plantito na haha. Hotdogs din favorite ng mga kids ko. Hotdogs and eggs perfect combination 😆✌️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pako samin yan, peborit yan ni mader salad nga, tapos tuyo , mejo diko yan trip, mas gusto ko pa din talbos mg kamote, haha. Tapos same tayo mg favorite, mabubuhay ako kahit haysog lang ulam ko, tender juicy hatsog lang sapat mna 🤤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pako din naman sa amin haha. Para tunog sosyalin, fern 😆

Yeah, hotdog is life 🤣 parang bata

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kaso la akong nakikita nyan na nagtitinda ngayon sa palengke. Pero hatdog is life talaga

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Minsan nga lang din may magtinda niyan dito.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nagkakaubusan na siguro, or1walang magdedeliver

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pakoooo! Miss ko na to kainin hehe. Dito sa Nueva hindi nila alam kainin ang fern pero since Ilocano Papa ko madami ako naadidiscover ng food from him. Maasraap din to ginataan no?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Karamihan talaga di nila alam na kinakain yan. Kahit nga ako dati haha. Opo, masarap din gataan tapos may tinapa 🤤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Meom na.. Late lng ata nagkakaroon ng exc.. At minsan nawawala.. Btw, i like ferns.. Just like that recipe of yours

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Buti nga mayroon na ulit. Pero di naman siguro big issue yung wala ang exc kapag well known ka naman for not plagiarizing lol.

Actually experiment lang talaga yan haha for the sake na may maisulat sa blog. But it turned out good, the kids even loved it. Thanks for the tip 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Big issue kay bot.. Hndi yun magbibigay ng tip sa walang exc 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay oo nga pala 😅 Kahit gaano pa kahaba at kaganda ng article kung walang exc, walang tip kay bot 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tumpak..haha..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang dami mo ng skills. Haha hindi kasi ako masyadong kumakain ng gulay pero mukha namang masarap. 😉

Btw, may EXC 'tong article mo

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahaha pwede na nga akong mag asawa dahil madami ng skills kaso walang may gusto 🤣

After nung short post ko, meron na ulit exc 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Install ka na ng dating app😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yay! hahahaha Pag 29 na ko at waley pa rin jowa baka gawin ko na talaga yan 🤣 Foreigner kasi talaga ang gusto ko para kapag lasing kunwari si papa, di maiintindihan ang mga sasabihin niya 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago