Gardening helped our family to survive the Quarantine

60 72
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

The first month of quarantine has been a challenge for most people, specially for those who live in developing countries like the Philippines. Confinement at home, loss of job and many other challenges.

It is also hard when we run out of supplies but we can't go to the market because we only have a specific day that we are allowed to go out to buy primary supplies such as food and medicine.

Before the corona virus pandemic even started, our region was hit by a strong typhoon and this alone have already affected the lives of the people in our region. My dad anticipated that the price of vegetables and other food supplies will go higher so our family decided to have a small vegetable garden project. Some of the plants are ampalaya (bitter gourd), petchay, mustard greens, okra (gumbo), tomatoes, string beans, Red peppers and patola (sponge gourd).

Bitter gourd
Petchay
Mustard greens
Okra (Gumbo)
String beans
Tomatoes
Sponge gourd

Very timely, when the quarantine started some of our plants are ready for harvesting and some are blooming. Because of the economic situation in our country, most families are unable to buy supplies that will last for a week until the scheduled market day. But because we have these plants in our yard, we never worry about running out out foods.

It's not just our family who benefited from our vegetable garden. Even families from our neighborhood also asks us for free vegetables and we are happy to give it to them. Surprisingly, even though several households are getting vegetables from our garden those plants lasted for 2 more months.

Planting does not only enables us to save money, it also promotes a healthy living and healthy lifestyle and taking care of those plants is also a way to ease our boredom during the lockdown πŸ’š

How about you, have you ever tried planting or gardening?

Sponsors of esciisc
empty
empty
empty

Please like, comment and consider subscribing πŸ’•

31
$ 0.00
Sponsors of esciisc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

Comments

It's not just our family who benefited from our vegetable garden. Even families from our neighborhood also asks us for free vegetables and we are happy to give it to them.. a good deeds in the middle of pandemic..sharing is caring..share your blessing to make it double...we have garden and it helps a lot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think it would be helpful if you write in which country you live.

I always have food in stock for at least one month. I do not like shopping and before the winter starts, I start collecting, buy extra because it's unsure if I can leave my home. If no one would have told me I most likely would have been one of the last one's knowledge about a lockdown elsewhere in the world. I guess I was because only a few days later schools closed with us.

The shops never really had a lack of food or toilet paper. Since the lockdown is over (two months ago) the shops are back to normal which means badly provided.

Smart thing to start a garden. You must be lucky the plants were growing. We were weeks without water and no rain. A garden is not something we can count on here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the suggestion. I'll edit the article then and write in which country i live then.

I always have food in stock for at least one month.

Good for you that you are able to do this. Here in the Philippines many people are unable to do that since a lot of people are only able to buy food that can be consumed in just one day. And during the enhanced community quarantine the shops only allows people to buy a specific amount of food and groceries so that everyone will have the chance to buy what they need.

And we are really thankful that the plants grew healthy and produced a lot of vegetables. By the way, in which country do you live if you don't mind?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think that's helpful because in 5 or 10 years people might read this too. πŸ‘πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very interesting article. and btw i love green color πŸ˜€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's nice, so I guess you loved looking at the pictures because they are all green 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A wonderful garden and beautiful healthy vegetables!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. We're happy that it they grew healthy and produced a lot 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I started gardening when I lost my job. Suddenly I had too much free time. What now? I had the land and time. That's how it started. And gardening is now my hobby, my fitness, .... When I grew my first vegetables I was so happy. I've already written a few articles ... look, I'll be happy. Also look at my high beams. This way of gardening is also friendly to older people. I wish you much more joy with your garden.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seeing your plants grow healthily is one of the joys we get from planting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We do gardening also during ECQ. We planted eggplant, moringa, saluyot, sweet potato in our backyard and now we already harvested it. Even our neighborhoods were benefiting from it hehe. I have also an article about our gardening

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

That's nice. Looking at at the brighter side, ECQ helped us enjoy doing productive and rewarding activities that we are unable to do during normal days because we're all too busy with a lot of stuffs. Same with you, our neighbors also benefited from our garden. They come here everyday to ask for vegetable they can cook for lunch or dinner hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Good article.thaks for sharing us

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the valuable comment πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes! I'm planting spinach indoors! my first post was about my indoor spinach

https://read.cash/@Shitcoincharter/growing-spinach-indoors-from-stem-a58af07b

I will be posting new pictures of it soon they have grown so much and i'm planting more.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's wonderful. I checked your article. Thanks for including the libk of your article it gave me an idea to plant spinach indoors too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome, there's a gardening community, you can post your article there

https://read.cash/c/home-gardening-planting-farming-ff29

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No problem

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have some emos for gardening: πŸƒπŸŒΈπŸƒ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Beautiful photograph

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have tomato and watermelon in my garden.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's really nice. We don't have enough space to plant watermelons, I really hope we can plant some as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just wonderful thoughts and photography too sir....you are great....just keep it up....best of luck dear sirβ˜ΊπŸ’œπŸ’œ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much for the appreciation πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

always welcome my dearβ˜ΊπŸ˜ŠπŸ’œ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ€—

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ’œ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's advisable to have a little garden around the home. It saves you the stress and cost of getting every foodstuff from the store

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Right. We can save a lot if we have a little garden at home.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice keep sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That’s right dear.... Nice to see this types article dear thanks for sharing dear 😍😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much for the appreciation πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Most welcome dear ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As the quarantine starts, we also planted some vegetables in the back of our house. It was sometimes tiring but so fun and fulfilling when you see your plant grow and bear fruit of your hardwork.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's one positive effect of the quarantine, people learned the value of planting. And seeing your plants grow healthy and bear fruits is indeed very fulfilling and I must say it is one of the joys of planting 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

To love yourself means to accept yourself as you are and to come to terms with those aspects of yourself that you cannot change. It means to have self- respect, a positive self-image, and unconditional self-acceptance.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm quite confused here. Is loving oneself have anything to do with gardening? πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Gardening is really great hoby! You know that can have a lot of fun, and you are producing heathy food!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes it is! Before I always feel lazy about doing gardening but I came to love the hobby and it's fulfilling to see the plants grow healthily and bear fruits and produce 😊 Thanks for your comment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Before ECQ, many ricefield here in our place left unattended due to rat pest. But after the ECQ., every field was cultivated,! And people learned to produce and grow their own vegetable garden... But a loss to vegetable vendors😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

On the brighter side, the ECQ have encouraged people to plant and produce vegetables for their own consumption.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree... 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago