‘The Dream Catcher’

19 47
Avatar for eommaZel
2 years ago

I am a person who always dreams, I dreamt of fantasies, unusual and strange dreams that creeps out in my head.

When I was a kid I had this strange dream where I saw myself and my friends wearing the typical attire of Filipinas before, we were wearing Filipiñana, and seems everything was real. But to tell you, I was thinking about it before I dreamed about it, which means, I, my mind, probably made that dream manifest in my head.

However, some dreams were so strange and unexplainable, some say they're just common and should be nothing to worry about, while others believe that dreams are trying to tell us something.

And for me, I honestly don't know. Some part of me is trying to believe that my dreams are natural, common, but some part of me is saying they're trying to say something to me and I should figure it out for myself.

Then, those dreams introduced me to be curious even more. I wanted to stop them but how could I? If only I could filter those bad dreams and accept only the good ones, I’ll do it. Then, here's what I discovered.

Way back in my teenage years, I became hooked with this stuff they call ‘dream catcher’. Are you familiar with it?

My phone was full of dream catcher wallpapers during those days. I was addicted to it because of its looks, however, something is interesting about dream catchers.

Image by @phuhunter142 from Unsplash


It is circle-shaped stuff that has webs in the center and is designed with feathers as its tail.

A dream catcher is believed to trap the unpleasant dreams by its webs and let only the good dreams enter. This should be placed and hung on the window for effectiveness. And me, I don't believe in such things, there is no way dreams could be trapped and filtered.

Then in the year 2015, I was working in a huge mall in the city. Monthly, there was always an expo, and I remember when there was a Korean fair held at the said mall. I am in my first week of duty, and my coworkers mistook me as a contestant in the Korean fair because of my petite body and hairstyle, with bangs. Lol. 🤣

Getting back to my main topic, there was a fair that I couldn't forget, my eyes were starstruck when I saw there was a dream catcher fair being held just a few stalls away from my workplace. I can't wait until break time at that moment. I was too excited to see dream catchers with my eyes. Since I only see them in pictures.

After the lunch break, I immediately went to the booths where dream catchers were exhibited. I was mesmerized by what I saw. The whole area was full of different dream catchers and I felt I was dreaming. From pink, purple, rainbow, I saw different designs of it with different shapes too, there were small, medium, large and extra-large sizes that were truly magnificent.

Since I have no money in my pocket, I can't afford to buy one. Yet, I asked one of the sellers if they'll be exhibiting for days, and luckily, he said they'll be staying there for 3 days.

I felt so lucky that moment since, after that day, it's my day off. I told my boyfriend (my husband currently) that I have to go to the mall during my off. He accompanied me and I showed him the fair which I talked about with him nonstop. 😅

I badly wanted to buy one for myself, because those days, I was obsessed with dream catchers. But when I asked the merchant about the prices, I was a bit shocked, they were too expensive!

Since I am only a common laborer who earns minimum wage, I can't afford the price. The price range before was 300 PHP to 500 PHP and up.

I was ready to go home with dismay when I saw a medium-sized dream catcher in one of the booths. It was brown as well as its tail feathers. I asked the seller and I got it for the price of 120 PHP. I was so happy that day, finally, I have a dream catcher of my own, it's not so elegant just like the other but it mattered to me a lot.

Sorry, the image is very blurry due to the low resolution of my old phone before. 😅

Those times I was still renting a room in a boarding house, I placed the dream catcher on the window, but I am not hoping for nightmares to be filtered. I just enjoyed how my room became lovely because of that dream catcher.

But I just don't know, if it was just a coincidence, my dreams were not as strange as before, though I still have bad dreams sometimes but I experienced them lesser.

Or maybe it's because of the power of the mind, I established in my head that I will be receiving good dreams because I believe the dream catcher will help me ease with the bad ones. May it be true or not, I just love my dream catcher.

And to tell you, because it means a lot to me, I still have that dream catcher with me. ☺

It just looked old and rugged unlike before. Due to oldness, some feathers were also torn down. And this is how it looks like as of today.

Until this very moment, I still love to see this dream catcher in our room, it may look old but what matters to me is the sentiment I experienced with it.

And for me, this dream catcher is just one of the instruments that could help you ease your unpleasant dreams. It doesn't totally and directly filter the bad ones, but it helps you by giving your mind a sense of comfort, just like in me, because I fulfilled my yearning for having one, until today, I still feel the feeling of satisfaction of my little happiness.

Yet, the one to help you the most in fighting those bad dreams is you, yourself, and no one else and nothing else more.

Pray, give yourself peace of mind before you sleep, and avoid making negative thoughts before you close your eyes. It all starts with you, by the way how you condition your body and mind.

Ps: It's my actual story and all photos are mine unless asserted. Thanks for reading. 💚

Written by: @eommaZel 🥀


15
$ 4.86
$ 4.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
+ 3
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
2 years ago

Comments

During high school days, fan din ako ni dream catchers eh. Pero necklace naman sa'ken, Ate. Ang mura kasi n'yan dati lalo na kapag sa baratilyo binili, hehe. Bet ko din maglagay ulit sa room namin kasi nasira na yung dati ko, pero pamahalan naman na now ay. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mind over matter momshie. And you believe in it kasi kaya siguro yun ang naset sa mind mo. Nalaman ko lang yan dream catcher na yan sa movie na Twilight, hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo momshie heheh isa din yang twilight eh, 😅 kaya naadik tlga ako sa dream catcher dati. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My best friend bought me one of these dream catcher because I happened to tell her that I always dreamed weird things haha, tinawanan ko na lang sya nag thank you ako concerned din pala yun hahaha pero kasi sabi ko sa kanya di namn true yan hahaha, binatukan na lang ako.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha oo, true yan di naman tlga totoo, tlagang dahil sa yan paniniwala ng iba, yan ang nangyayari, mind over matter lng hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was a kid I saw BFG movie from that time I used believe in dream catcher ,it was so fascinating back then but now all those excitement gor vanished.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, even me, since I got mine, I started to forget about it and lose interest, however, whenever I saw this old dream catcher of mine, it helps me in remembering those days when I was so hooked to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is truly a modern tool. Which depends on the belief of the person like you. The special advantage of this device is that it removes nightmares. If I tell the truth, even in my dreams, college homework comes and the morning before the bad dream comes

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's certainly the power of the mind that's letting in or not the bad dreams. Hahaha I could feel the pressure on that bad dreams that you're referring to. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is natural but it depends on our mind how we think. Nightmares enter because of our thinking. What kind of nightmares are you pointing to?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I heard about dream catchers for the first time, that they can catch the bad dreams and will let only good ones enter the room. But good to see that you still have that dream catcher which you bought a long time ago.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, that's what other people believed in, I guess it's just truly their perspective that's filtering the bad dreams hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love dream catcher too sis. I always saw a YouTube videos of dream catcher and I was really amazed and there are some tutorials how we can make it.

I love to buy also a dream catcher sis. It's really attractive. I saw some houses have their dream catcher hanging there also.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I also tried to see the tutorials before, and I find it hard to do sis. 😅 Kaya napabili ako, mura na sa 120 heheh ang iba tlga super mahal di ko keri. Kaso lasog lasog na itsura ng dream catcher ko, pero pwede pa naman idisplay hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis mura na sobra. Nagulat ako sa una sis ang mahal, 300-500. Sobrang mahal nun sis buti may nakita kang mura sis tas maganda pa yung dream catcher.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis napanganga ako sa prices nila dati ewan ko lng now kung magkano na hehehe. Panu kasi di kagandahan ang kulay kaya sguro mura pero okay ndin, cute nman hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda naman sis. Nagandahan nga ako sa color sis.❤️🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's because you believe in it that it puts you to the state in believing what it does. minsan ganyan din ako eh hihihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo mommy, heheh mind over matter talaga eh. Kahit punuin pa ng dream catchers ang bintana mo kung halos puro negativity pinapapasok ntin sa isip natin, bad dreams would enter parin. ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago