The Power of Thoughts

8 40
Avatar for cherrynwine
2 years ago

What are you thinking right now? What are the thoughts running in your mind? Is it a happy or sad thought? Whatever it is, the important thing is that you can control them.

Yes, being in control of your thoughts. It looks like an easy task to make but the truth is, we always have been slaves of our thoughts and that is how powerful it can be.

The Inevitable

I believe that we have thousands of thoughts every day. Half of it or should I say the majority is negative. I do not want to be a pessimistic person but let's be real. With the ongoing global pandemic, incompetent government, distrustful and judgemental people, and the uncertainties of life, having this kind of thinking is inevitable.

I have said all of it not just because of what I have noticed but also of what I have experienced. Last January, the month where we should have a new start, a sudden outburst of emotions enveloped my mind. Fear and panic surrounded my whole existence. The notion of being stuck, not able to move forward, and questioning my purpose come together forming these emotions. That time I let myself be overpowered by those thoughts that made me a gloomy and hopeless person. During that phase, I hardly talk and move my body. I just wanted to sleep all day because I feel so tired even though I didn't do much. It also affected my mood which leads to letting out words I didn't mean and the worst is, my relationship with my friends and family became distant.

It lasted for one month and by the slow process of finding myself, I have recovered from it. I cannot deny that those unwanted thoughts didn't visit me again. However, I have learned that my greatest weapon to withstand this thought is none other than myself because it is a battle of me versus my very own self.

The Manipulator

I have read somewhere that our thoughts shaped our life. Our thoughts can manipulate us. And who we are right now is produced by our thoughts. Yes, the thoughts that we have, build our personality and indicate our growth. I am the proof of it.

As I told my story, I realized if those times continued, I will miss many things that life can offer. Nonetheless, the entire experience made me cherish my life more. The people that surround me become my support system. The failure I have encountered has become my inspiration. Lastly, the unwanted thoughts that keep on clouding my mind turned me closer to God. See, I become manipulated by my thoughts but in exchange, a myriad of great things came.

The Toxic

We are now in a period where we can only think of negativity. Doubting yourself, feeling the world is against you, and degrading your worth, are not just bad thoughts but toxic ones. We all know if we hear the word "toxic", we need to unload it in our life. To obliterate it, I have developed this habit of mine to talk to myself when I am alone. And I always think of these three words — true, value, and wonderful. The three magic words that always brought me back to my senses and this is how it works.

THE THREE MAGIC WORDS

TRUE- I ask myself if all my thoughts are true. It made me rethink my thoughts.

VALUE - I ask myself if that's how low my worth is. It made me reevaluate my life and think how far I have come.

WONDERFUL- I ask myself to pause and think wonderful thoughts. Remembering my wonderful family, wonderful friends, and wonderful life that awaits me.

These words have been a big part of who I am right now. And I am sharing this to help others who are in his or her darkness time. I am no in place to give any advice but I am a survivor that was once experienced the power of thoughts.

Note:
Thank you for reading this far, I appreciate your effort. If you love this article, try to read my others too. Just click the link below.

https://read.cash/@cherrynwine/the-pressure-of-being-the-eldest-231a86f2

https://read.cash/@cherrynwine/a-glimpse-of-cherishs-life-0f26419c

Sponsors of cherrynwine
empty
empty
empty

7
$ 6.70
$ 6.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @WanderingMedStudent
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 1
Sponsors of cherrynwine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for cherrynwine
2 years ago

Comments

This is very powerful indeed. I will always keep this in mind. Thank you 🙂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you also for reading my article. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really worth it to read 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll will try those 3 words, it really makes me want to try especially these past few days, I'm getting angry without knowing what reason is, I think I have anger issues, simple things makes me mad and annoyed, I think if that happens again I should stop and think wonderful thoughts, I should think what tha value of doing this. Anyway thanks for this advice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll try to remember those words: true, value and wonderful. That's a great way to assess our thoughts.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for your comment. It means a lot to me that I spread some learnings in my life. I really hope it will help you in the future when you encounter some hardship. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our thoughts have a significant impact to our lives. Handling thoughts is not an easy path but when achieve, it leads to greater things--- having control and mental stability.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, what we thought is what we act. That's why it is important to be in control so we cannot regret things later.

$ 0.00
2 years ago