Topics I Write VS Topics I Avoid Writing

31 90
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Personal

One of the cool things about being a writer is that you can portray whoever you want to be. For instance, you can be a fashion blogger, someone who writes about the latest trend in fashion even if you're not even a fashionista; a travel guru, who shares anything related to travel even if you don't travel at all; a crypto enthusiast, who talks about the ins and outs of the cryptoverse even if you're not a pro; or basically anything you want to be for as long as you know how to construct those words with the help of a little research, of course. I know these things because I used to be a content writer myself for several clients before; however, for this platform, I chose to be me.

I may have worked for several clients, but I would still consider myself a noob when it comes to writing. You can easily tell by the way I write my articles or construct my sentences here. Hence, I'm not confident with my writing skills but as they say, practice makes perfect, so here I am, trying my best to improve every single time. So I choose to be me because I want to write something personal, something people can relate to, something that I am confident to write about, something light that even ordinary readers can easily digest, and something that doesn't require paraphrasing.

Now, in this article, I want to share with you the usual topics that I enjoy writing about and the topics I try to avoid.

The topics I write

  • Something personal. You'd probably know this already but for the new readers (if there are any), just so you know, I tend to share my personal life on this platform. I know it's not even necessary to share and only a few are interested to know, but I believe that by sharing a piece of myself with my readers, they will somehow understand who I am as a writer, a crypto enthusiast, as well as a person, in general. Because of my approach, I have made a lot of friends here who have been so kind enough to still support me despite me being inactive here for the past few weeks.

  • Something people can relate to. When I first came here, I had a hard time adjusting. I had no one to talk to, except that only friend who invited me here. Thankfully, there were articles that I could relate to so interacting with the other writers wasn't so hard after all. Imagine being a new user who never heard about crypto and joining in. Imagine reading all these crypto-related articles by yourself for the first time. For me, that would be a disaster. This is why I prefer to write something that people can relate to because I know how it feels to be in an environment where everything seems new to you.

  • Something that I am confident to write about. Why bother to write something you are not even confident about when you can actually create something you are 100% sure of? Of course, you can if you really want to. As I've said earlier, you can be whoever you want to portray yourself but for me, I want to be myself. As you have noticed, I barely write crypto-related articles but when I do, it's mostly about my personal experience and my investments.

  • Something light that even ordinary readers can easily digest. When I say light, these are the articles that even those who are having problems constructing their English can still participate in, such as writing prompts, random challenges, and the like. These topics are perfect for everyone, especially if they run out of topics to write.

  • Something that doesn't require paraphrasing. I can rewrite anything and make it look like mine. However, that would take some time as you have to make sure you did it perfectly well. Since I don't have the time to do the research, paraphrase, and check for plagiarism, I prefer to write something that doesn't require any of these. This is why writing about my childhood experience, my first breakup, how fun it is to become part of a guild, or how I messed up with my first ever investment in an NFT game is fun to write.

The topics I avoid writing

  • Politics. I know we can write anything on this platform and people should respect our differences, but we all know that it's hard to keep our opinion to ourselves, especially when it comes to politics. So I prefer not to write to avoid this topic as I don't want to offend my friends who have different opinions than mine. I don't want to cause problems when I can actually avoid them.

  • Religion. What I like about this platform is that people are not judgmental when it comes to religion. I know one whose religion is pretty unusual from most of us and no one's even judging him for his religious belief. My reason for not writing this topic is that I'm not a religious person. I just didn't want to sound like a hypocrite just to look good in the eyes of others.

  • Crypto. Although I publish crypto-related articles sometimes, I just tend to avoid writing them as I feel like I'm not the right person to write about them. As I've said, when I do, it's mostly about my investments and anything in between.

  • About other users. If I'm not mistaken, the only time I tagged someone was during my early weeks here. That was the time when someone actually copied my entire article and published it as his. So I wrote about it, tagged that user, and sent that article to the admin when I had to report the guy. I respect the platform's rule and when it says no name-calling, no name-shaming, whatever you call it, I just try to avoid it. So whenever I see someone violating any of the rules given by the admin, I simply report or block them to avoid stress. Sometimes, it's hard to control yourself but I love my account more than the drama itself.

Closing thoughts

Some people think writing personal stuff is as easy as ABC, and that it can be done effortlessly but trust me, it's not. Keep in mind that we have different brain cells here. What's easy for you may be hard for some. Don't judge their articles just because yours are well-written coz you have no idea how they feel when they are writing about their losses, heartbreaks, and sad experiences in life. Remember, some people didn't just publish articles to earn BCH, others tend to share to help them release their burdens. So don't make others feel like they don't deserve what they get just because they only published something personal, something they enjoyed doing, or something they are only capable of writing.

No offense but there is no such rule that writers/authors should only publish researched articles and personal stuff is a no-no. I believe that as long as it is NOT against the rule, then that's fine. As I've said before and will still say again, you guys have the option to unfollow a person if you feel like they are not worthy of your time.

You do your thing. Let them do theirs. As long as they published an entire article, whether it's written in English, mixed, or native language, there's no need to react. Only say something when you see them earning a lot with only 1 sentence in it, or simply report them and let the admins do their work.

Lastly, Rusty is random. If you earn more, good. If you don't, still be grateful. I don't earn much here anymore but I totally understand why and I don't have the right to complain. I have earned more than I could anticipate, so not earning well in the past few months won't hurt. I just need to be active again and back to my old self.

Spread love. Avoid the hatred.


28
$ 9.20
$ 8.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
+ 15
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Personal

Comments

Two things I cannot write about are politics and crypto stuff. Though I love hearing or reading about them, but I just can't write as I am not skilled in those areas, but all other areas, I can easily write without getting tired or confused.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are a great writer. I'm sure once you get the ins and outs of crypto, you can easily write them without any problem. And since you are a great writer, any readers won't find your article hard to understand.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What I like about this platform is that people are not judgmental when it comes to religion.

Di mo sure Ate. Naalaa ko yung article rito tinawag niya religion namin kulto haha nakakawalang respeto haha.

Parehas lang tayo ate ng mga topics na gustong isulat at iniiwasan haha. Hindi rin ako ate nagsusulat ng mga articles sa politics or religion pero minsan nasisingit haha, Medyo madali lang magsulat ng articles about personal kapag di kinakalawang utak mo haha. But most of the time, mahirap rin hahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True. Minsan, akala ng iba madali mag share ng personal experience. Kung tutuusin, kahit anjan na ang topic sa utak mo at alam mo pano isulat, nawiwindang ka pa rin kasi di mo alam pano simulan at pano imake sure na di ka nawawala sa topic. And grabe naman yan, kulto talaga? Sorry for the late reply nga pala.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Religion ang hindi ko pa talaga natatry itopic hahaha. At ayaw ko din itry kasi wala rin akong masyadong alam. Sa crypto, maingat lang ako minsan kasi nagmumukha akong gumagawa ng kwento hhahahaahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

HAHAHAH. Ako when it comes to crypto puro lang experience pinagsasabi ko. At least, mejo di ako nagmumukhang nagmamarunong. LOL.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kala nla madali mag share ng personal stories 🤣.... It's the most difficult one I must say than researched based..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo, lalo na pag sobrang personal as it could bring you some bad memories. Madali lang ang research, especially kung alam mo pano ang pasikot sikot to avoid plagiarism. Anyway, belated happy 2nd anniversary, madam!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are the same on the topics that we don't write except crypto.. I have my own beliefs in religion but I never wrote coz I don't like to sound so correct with my beliefs as we have diverse religion. I also don't write about politics coz that topic is so complicated.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hi Eyb! Sorry for the very late reply. Alam mo na. And yes, politics is very complicated, and for me, if it's something that will only cause drama, why start it in the first place?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabi tagal mo nag inactive haha anyway kumusta ka? Ayos lang ba lahat?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When it comes to crypto sis I'm not that good to make one as I really need to explore and discover things

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel you and it's hard to make mistakes. There are so many experts lurking here and one mistake and they could summon you. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also have same taste like you. I avoid to write about Politics and subjects for which I didn't have complete knowledge. I love to write stories, personal life, movies and daily routine if something different happened. It is good to see, you are one of the users who don't complain to rusty for its randomness. Otherwise I have seen here many people make it criticize. We should be active and interactive to users make rusty more happy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have been on read for a while now and I already passed the stage where I complained about the earnings. I realized that if you are just focused on the earnings and you keep comparing yours with the other users, chances are, you'd end up very unhappy. So it's better to enjoy writing and expect less, and you'll be more grateful for the unexpected blessings. Sorry for the very late reply.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always try doon sa Politics ate. haha pero I'm careful naman sa mga pinagsasabi ko don and I am willing to accept their opinions and thoughts sa comment section. Pinipigilan ko din nga talaga eh, kaso ayaw ng kamay ko paawat HAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

HAHAHAHA. Natawa ako sayo. Uy relate ako jan pero dati lang yun nung active pa ako sa FB. Nakikipag away pa ako sa FB before pero syempre hindi sa mga real kakilala ko. Minsan talaga di mo ma control e lalo na pag feel na feel mo. Nga pala, sorry for the very late reply. HEHE

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Avoid ko din yun nasa list mo ate labi na ang relihiyon dili man sa ingon maulaw sadyang naa sa akong thought nga sign siya sa respect. Related kaayo ko ate sa pagsulod nako nangapa jud ko kay crypto topic ang daghan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same. Katong bag-o pa ko, di jud ko mubasa ug crypto kay ni try kog basa, mura jud kog nagbasa ug article na alien ray makasabot. Lol. ANyway, sorry for the late reply. HEHE

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like it when you a writer wrote from the heart. If there is one topic that I will not write about, it is about politics. I don't even post about it in my Facebook account. I can write about the other three you mentioned but not about politics.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was active in politics during PRRD's but after that, I chose to stay quiet. Although I did post something on noise about my thoughts pero hindi naman yung tipong tinitira ko yung ibang tumakbo. Alam mo naman sa Pinas, talagang seryoso ang ibang mga tao when it comes to politics.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One of the most understanding writer I met. You can understand and relate w/ others lalo na when they're writing something personal... And the best thing in this platform is walng nagjajudge sa sinulat ng isa o sino man..

Keep writing to inspire others sis. Rusty will get back to you soon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, sis. Sorry for the very delayed reply. Darn! It's been 3 months na talaga. ANyway, tama ka sis. Sa platform na to, mostly hindi judgmental ang mga tao. Although merong iba jan na di talaga makacontrol sa self na di mag react sa iba. HEHE. Kaya ko nga to naisulat e. Mejo na triggered ako. HEHE.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Weird that there seem to be complaints here and there about earning and articles. I people need to air their grievances before they explode. The platform itself is for ANY kind of article. Just write anything. Sometimes, good articles earn little, average articles earn good. It is never consistent, and that's what randomisation is about.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And that's why the bot is named as TheRandomRewarder coz it's very random. I guess if you have some complaints, better call the attention of the admin rather than calling out their names or whatsoever. Anyway, sorry for the very delayed reply.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayoko din kung tutuusin ng topic na isulat eh religion kasi alam ko may mga co users tayo dito from different countries and nakikita kong nagbabasa din sila minsan kaya ayoko namang di sila makarelate or worse ay di mamisinterpret nila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama! Tapos syempre, ayaw din natin silang ma offend kasi for sure, yung ibang mga bagay bagay e iba yung paniniwala nila. And there are so many things that we can write about aside from religion. Although there's nothing wrong to share something about your religion, as long as you are careful with your words, then I guess it's fine. Still, some people are very sensitive talaga so kahit wala ka namang intention na makasakit, yung iba naooffend pa rin. Anyways, sorry for the very late reply. Kakabalik ko lang. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed. Magkakaiba kasi tayo. For me I am writing mostly about personal experience in life and I'm happy that I received a good comment like I am too brave to share it because some people are not comfortable sharing thier experience. Sometimes user mentioned me because there's a lesson behind my experience. Maybe it's just my experience but you can actually learned something.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

True. I think isa din to sa reason why many have followed us because they can relate to our stories/experiences. At dahil we write real events in our life, parang mas nakikilala nila tayo more. Anyway, sorry for the very late reply. Ngayon lang ulit ako nakapag open ulit.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thumbs up for this, well written and really so informative. I so feel you about the topics I avoid to write too my dear friend, bmjc most especially about religion and politics although there are times I use "my God" when I use the article as personal but I do not elaborate more about it. I understand that we do have different perspectives when it comes to those topics. And with regards to the topics I write, I would love something that is personal and something that I am confident about.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Heck, I'm 3 months late! Sorry for the very much longer delay. I don't know if my reply is still relevant but as they say, better late than never.

Anyway, just want to thank you for your positive feedback and for sharing your opinion. I think it's okay to share something about your religion with your readers to give others insight into what your religion is all about. What's not okay if someone writes about their religion and tries to insist that their religion is the right one and the rest are not.

$ 0.01
1 year ago