Practice What You Preach

27 45
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago

To those who didn't know, I am one of the many who are really against spamming here. In fact, I even wrote 2 articles about the spammers, which helped me gain tons of views, likes, comments, as well as subscribers.

If you haven't read them yet, then you might want to check them first and let me know your opinion about them:

So, in my posts, I did say that we should "report" spammers once we see one. Whether it's in your comment section or someone else's, we should really hit that report button, so it's easy for the Read.Cash team to evaluate these users and make this community a better place for the writers.

I did report many of these users who were asking me to subs back on their page. I also did use the "move to spam" but only tried that twice because there was one incident when I hit the move to spam to the wrong person. So after that, I decided not to use it again and just the other option instead.

But I am not that "super strict". Some users here would comment "nice article", and though, that's quite a spam for others, sometimes, I just reconsider their posts. I am only stricter to those who really write "subs back" etc. But comments like "nice article" or "nice", I just skip them.

Then, there were also a few users here who wrote genuine comments, and then end the message with "subs back, please". I know there's the magic word "subs back", but since they took the effort to write such a long comment related to my content, I just made some considerations, but never would I subs back them. Sometimes, I even replied to them with, "I prefer people who don't ask to be subscribed".

But here's the thing, someone commented and told me to PRACTICE WHAT I PREACH. She's right. I should probably practice what I preached here. I should really report all of them who have used the "subs back" comment. But, as I've mentioned earlier, I am not really that strict at all. I make exceptions.

But I don't know. Should I make exceptions? Or, should I report or block all these users, regardless if they wrote an entire paragraph related to my content? Coz if I were to asked I'd make exceptions unless if they only wrote the "subs back" comment alone.

But, please, let me know your opinion about this. Maybe I become too soft and should really report these people or block them for good. If that would be the case, then I might clean all my comment section and block everyone who deserves to be blocked.

UPDATE: Moving forward, any comment that contains "SUBS BACK" will be reported and blocked for good.

**Lead photo is a free image from Unsplash.

25
$ 0.23
$ 0.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I think, you should have some considerations ate. Specially when someone really gave an effort commenting their thought or suggestion to your article. Maybe it's their way to catch other user's attention.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. And instead of blocking those who wrote long comments, I informed them to stop asking to subs back coz it's not healthy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, ate. Ganun nalang po ang gagawin natin.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think that they will always be there, they will never go , maybe you will report someone today but tomorrow someone else will come. Just let them say what they want. 💜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. They are everywhere, and they can create multiple accounts too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

sometimes, I just ignore the comment but if the person made a very good comment and ends it with that note, sometimes I do, but not always and even before I do I must have read some of your articles

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh well, I'll just block them then.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

that is left to you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just haven't learned something yet because I sometimes subs back to people that wrote 'sub back, pls'. I should stop subscribe to people that wrote something similar like that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Don't subscribe back. Subs only when they really interact genuinely.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Personally, I just shrugged it off when I receive good comments ending with subs back, because they put effort in writing about my article. I haven't tried reporting comments but I am sure I will try in the future. And although it is a bit time consuming marking these comments as spam, I try my best to mark them because I have no space in my page for spammers. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Will do the "report" this user first then block them after. And since I have tons of articles already, it's gonna take a long while to finally clean my entire comment sections with these spammers. I already blocked 2 users and will do the rest later.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You must have a lot of users to get rid off on your page po. Hehe So take your time cleaning it up po. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo, mejo madami dami din.. but need to work first.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well I think you have the right to handle spammers on your posts in any manner you deem appropriate. However I suggest that if after you've decided to be lenient with any of the sub to sub culprits and they persist, you should do the needful else others might be encouraged to flock your posts for subscription.

$ 0.00
User's avatar M3i
3 years ago

Make sense... anyway, thanks for this.. will do the cleaning later on after work.. best to report and block, so I won't have to deal with them anymore.. Thank you for this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's funny to encounter such spammer to say "practice what you preach" to someone else. 😅

Anyways, spammers will always gonna do what they want. I just hope, spamming here will be eradicated.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

She's not really a spammer.. I think she's just a concerned citizen..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh I see. But, if ever I will encounter a spammer telling such things. I don't really know what will I react.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Time to really "report" and "block" na lang.

$ 0.00
3 years ago