Different Ways To Enjoy Bananas (Filipino Style)

36 63
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago

This topic was my entry for the Ladies Of Hive's 95th Community Contest. Since I can't think of anything to write about, I have decided to reuse that article and share it here. No worries, I know the rules, which means I'm not going to copy the entire content that I posted on Hive here. I'm just going to use the same topic but will rewrite everything to look as good as new. Besides, I'm sure some of you haven't read my entry yet, so it's good to also share that topic here.

So last week, LOH announced their community contest #95. To participate, you must be a member of their community first and a lady, of course. There were 2 options you could choose from. You either answer about thatΒ "one thing that makes you angry", or anything about"your favorite snack or snacks"?

Obviously, as you can see in my title, I chose the latter. And today, I'm going to share with you my favorite snack or snacks that our non-Filipino friends here might want to try one day. Are you ready?

Bananacues

Banana cues are basically bananas on a stick. They are deep-fried and coated in caramelized brown sugar. They are the perfect afternoon snack or merienda when paired with either cold juice or coke.

Turon

Turon is a famous Filipino street food made of banana and jackfruit. They are wrapped in an eggroll wrapper and deep-fried in caramelized brown sugar. Sometimes, we replaced jackfruit with cheese for a different flavor.

Minatamis or sweetened bananas

Sweetened bananas are made with chopped saba bananas cooked in a sweet mixture of water and brown sugar. Some people would add salt and vanilla extract or pandan leaf, but I prefer it with a lime peel or extract.

Fried bananas

Fried bananas are made from ripe saba bananas sliced either crosswise or lengthwise and fried in oil. You may or may not add brown sugar to it.

Ginanggang or grilled bananas

Ginanggang is basically grilled bananas brushed with margarine and coated with white sugar. They, too, are sold on a stick.

Nilagang saba

Nilagang saba is the simplest recipe among the ones I have mentioned here. They are simply cooked in water with the peel on.

These are my favorite snacks made from bananas. You may also want to try other famous recipes, such as:

Nilupak na saging or pounded cooked unripe banana

This recipe uses cooked unripe bananas with a mixture of brown sugar, grated coconut, vanilla extract, and margarine, and pounded in a wooden mortar. This recipe is mostly found in the province.

Banana chips

Banana chips are thin-sliced bananas coated in caramelized brown sugar.

Closing thoughts

Bananas are my favorite because, aside from being naturally sweet and healthy, they also reminded me of my dad who used to grow them in our backyard. We used to have a lot of them when he was still alive.


Feel free to follow me on:

noise.cashΒ |Β Publish0xΒ |Β EcencyΒ |Β LeoFinanceΒ |Β TorumΒ |Β Twitter


18
$ 2.34
$ 1.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
+ 5
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Parang di ko pa yata nata-try 'yung grilled bananas, Ate. Or baka sa tagal is nakalimutan ko na? Hihi. Pero 'dun tayo sa fried and minatamisan. All-time fave kooo! 😍

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sarap niyan. Try mo. Mabango pa. Pero yes, iba talaga ang fried and minatamis. Sarap na sarap ako jan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Para sa akoa bmjc, ang pinakalami nga pagkaluto sa saging kay kanang banana cue nga naay latik. Dili ka magmahay!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oo. Lami jud na. Pero na miss naku ang turon kay mao nay pagkaon na panagsaon ra.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaning tanan sis arang pagkalami.a nalaman gajud. Kaylang tungod sa gibagyo ang mga kasagingan ron, wa pa kaayo nagabunga. Lami pud nang saging hilaw nga butangan ug gata sis tas parisan ug ginamos.. Hehe

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Di man ko fan ug hilaw sis. Pero ganahan ko anang padung siya hinog ba. Kanang hinog hinog pero di pa kaayo. Mao nay lami ituslo sa ginamos. Kalami uroy!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bananacues... That's the one I would try out. It looks so appealing and nice. I've tried fried banana before... Not plantain but banana especially that specie of banana you showed up there.

You can also cut bananas, add milk, groundnut and honey... It's heavenly πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Do you have too cook that? For your recipe. Yeah, try the banana cue. It's really good, especially the turon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No, you don't have to cook it at all. Just cut the banana and add the rest to it...ready to eat.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Btw, be aware that cross posting from read to hive and vice versa isn't allowed anymore πŸ˜”.. Maybe you can, but just revise the content

$ 0.02
1 year ago

All articles sa hive ko are mostly revised or new talaga, except for the 1 post I posted sa LF. I don't copy articles from read to hive, madam, and vise-versa. Pero question, pati ba pictures bawal ulitin?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seriously I never saw any snack made with banana except the Banana cues. I would love to taste the other recipes too.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Try the turon, sis. You will love it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Turon and bananacue is the best for me!πŸ˜‹

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yay! True! Kanina nag pabili talaga ako ng bananacues kasi nagutom ako. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yesterday I crave for bananacue sis, but sad to say I didn't find any so this morning I just bought 1 kilo of saba. Nilaga ko nalang, hahahaha saging pa din naman yun. Masarap talaga ang saging na meryenda, pwede mo na din siyang agahan, or tanghalian. I don't prefer eating it for dinner kasi hindi ako natutunawan pag gabi πŸ˜‚.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ako sis, kahit anong oras or araw, pag me saging, happy na ako at kakain talaga ako. Buti wala akong issue na ganyan na di natutunawan. Baby boy namin, mahilig din sa saging.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am a monkey(joke) because I love all kinds of bananas. Even just the nilagang saba solve na ako kasi madali lang lutuin at wala ng needed na iba gaya ng mantika kasi mahal na sa panahon ngayon. Kaya nilagang banana saves my day.😊

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Cheers sis! Same tayo. They used to call me unggoy for being such a banana lover. Sarap naman kasi e.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Banana is one my most favorites, I like eating banana or its shake so much. But haven't eaten as smack, I wish and hopefully I will try Bananacues & Fried Banana.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Or the turon too if you jackfruit there. They are heaven!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh you need to send me a sample plate of all those bananas to me!!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Buy some and cook the bananacues first. No need for the stick tho.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pinaka favorite ko talaga sis is yung Ginanggang. Sobrang nasarapa talaga ako niyan sis. Meron din pinaypay sis. Parang yan ang tawag sobrang sarap din.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ai oo. Pinaypay pala. Nakalimutan ko yan. Masarap din yan kaso di ko lang siya bet sa sobrang dami ng sugar na nilalagay nila. Ginanggang masarap din. Mabango pa pero usually bananacue tinda nila dito.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis. Sa Cebu pinaypay snacks namin sis. Hehe dami ngang sugar sis. 😁 Masarap talaga din yung banana cue sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Or ... as it is! πŸ˜†

$ 0.02
1 year ago

But it's good to try new recipes. Lol. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grilled bananas the best!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Cheers! The best talaga! Actually bet ko silang lahat.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Banana cue and Nilagang saba were my favourites 😁

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Aww. You don't like fried bananas?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gusto din kita I mean gusto ko naman din yun 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

HAHAHA. Smooth. Akala ko pa naman babae ka.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yun din akala nila nung una haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜…πŸ€­

$ 0.00
1 year ago